Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Texas Two Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Texas Two Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2002

      This was so very good. The only thing that I will change is double the recipe. This went over so well we are ready to have it tonight. Wonderful and fun to make. Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      Great Soup! The instructions are written clearly and the ingredients are all things I usually have on hand. I added some yellow peppers and some frozen corn kernels. And I used Ancho Chili Pepper rather that a fresh chili pepper. I topped each bowl with a small dollop of sour cream and a few crushed torilla chips as suggested. I served it with cheesy corn muffins. And my whole family enjoyed it. I do not think it would serve 6 as 3 adults and 2 children (6 and 3) ate every drop! It was that good! Thanks for sharing this recipe Tish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      Excellent soup - my husband didn't even whine about the lack of meat!! I followed the recipe exactly but I must confess that I "forgot" the BBQ sauce AND I added all 3 kinds of beans. Thanx Tish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      Wow! Was this ever good!! I forgot to serve it with the sour cream until we were almost done but then tried it and like it even more. It tamed the pepper a bit. Made a great meal with cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      A friend of mine tweeted me this recipe & it is delish! I had some jalapeno to use up so used that but didn't measure anything. Used it all by taste. It's definitely going on my must make again list!

      The flavors came together beautifully!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      I was worried this soup would be too sweet for our taste, so I halved the barbeque sauce and added 1 TBL. red wine vinegar. The canned black beans I had were prepared with jalapenos, so I deleted the chili pepper. I also substituted yellow for the red pepper. I debated using the kidney bean can juice but decided to try it. The result was VERY GOOD, with just enough heat (although we had yogurt nearby to cut it if needed). As my husband and I were enjoying it, we both looked up and said simultaneously, "RICE". The next time I served it over boiled rice and we REALLY enjoyed it. This also made it much more digestible (as we are not big bean eaters). Plus, it's a beautiful soup, especially with the yellow pepper adding to the color scheme. Thank you, Tish. It's a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      I made this soup exactly, except for substituting a yellow bell ppr for the green one. THIS SOUP WAS EXCELLENT. It was beautiful to look at and magnificent to eat. I agree with doubling the recipe - as is, it really only would serve 4 as a main dish - even with bread on the side. It is so good a second bowl-full is a MUST. We aren't vegans or vegetarians - and my husband is finicky about food. He agreed that this soup is exceptional in the blend of flavors. Thanks Tish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      This is a great recipe...I barely followed the directions (I just dumped everything in the pot w/out sauteing) and it still turned out really well. Will keep this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      This is comfort food at its finest. I made this soup for my weekly "soup night" and was lucky to get the last quarter cup. I always make two pots of soup to accomodate a large number of people with different tastes. I try to have a vegetarian soup during Lent and last night I made this. It was a huge hit--even with the big meat eaters. I think this soup lends itself to alot of variations by changing the type of beans and/or broth and adding other veggies and pasta. I would keep the onions, celery, bell peppers, spices and barbeque sauce as is--its a winner! Thanks for a great soup Tish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      Fabulous soup! Could the BBQ sauce be the secret? Whatever it is, all the ingredients together make for a very flavourful combination. Soup is a 'must-have' around here as soon as fall is in the air.....thanks Tish for adding another one to my already bulging soup cookbook....it will be made often. M.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      This was soooo good! I would give it 10 stars if I could! I've been trying to incorporate more vegetarian meals in our diet and I must say that with this soup I did not miss the meat. I used Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce and kidney beans. Thanks for a new favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      A perfect pantry meal as I always have beans and tomatoes in the cupboard and peppers and celery in the fridge. I added some extra liquid as I loved slurping up the flavorful broth. Had to add a little orange pepper to the red to get the right quantity. Also skipped the tortilla chips to make it fit the WW Core program. Just delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      Excellent soup. I used veg broth and left out the barbecue sauce but it still hit the spot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2005

      Yumm!!! We were snowbound today and I was out of peppers, added a jar of vlasic roasted red pepper stackers instead. Delicious! Even my fussy teenager loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      This soup is absolutely outstanding. I truly think it deserves 10 stars. My mom makes the best soup and she tried this and loved it (she usually says it would taste better if you added....). Ha!! she was speechless (that was a first lol!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2014

      This was pretty good - I really only made it because I had a bunch of barbecue sauce to use up, and this was something NOT grilled! I was skeptical but it really just gave the soup a smoky, richer flavor. It was more like a soup/chili hybrid. I enjoyed it, but don't think I'd make it again. Just not our personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2014

    • on February 07, 2013

      Very tasty and an easy vegetarian weeknight supper. I omitted the celery, used fire roasted dice tomatoes, and included 1/8 cup of BBQ sauce and added some vinegar. It probably doesn't serve 6, or maybe only as a side dish. Healthful and low fat. I'd make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      Delicious and easy. I started with dried red beans and adjusted the seasoning to personal taste. Didn't have any tomatoes, so I used a can of roasted garlic spaghetti sauce. Great southwestern flavor and would easily be made into chili with the addition of browned ground meat. Thanks for the recipe, Tish. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      This is one of those recipes.that makes you wonder,what did I do wrong? I followed recipe exactly..No one liked this soup. Too sweet.I used famous daves rich and sassy BBQ sauce..I had to throw out the pot of soup, which I have never done before. We love soup but it was just something about it that I cant put my finger on..Personal taste...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Texas Two Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (440 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.9
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    19%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 527.5 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 12.3 g
    49%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes