Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Texas Trash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Texas Trash

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2003

      Great stuff - it just won't last long - I recommend making two batches. One for your guests and one for yourself :-) I added goldfish crackers like you suggested and the cereal, pretzels and peanuts. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2003

      This party mix was some mighty spicy stuff. I made it for New Year's and my family went through it like nobody's business. I did get a bowl full to taste. Very salty and zesty. We had lots of cold beer and iced tea to cool us off. Thanks Junebug. This is something I would definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      Great snack mix. I served it at Christmas and my family killed it. Perfectly seasoned. The burn comes on slowly and after a few bites, you are looking for something to drink. Loved it, Junebug. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      I've been making this every Christmas for the past 25 years and sending some out with my Christmas packages. It is always a BIG HIT. However, the recipe I have calls uses 1/4 butter and a 1/4 cup of bacon grease/fat, and no celery salt. It is awesome, and I would recommend that you bacon lovers replace half the butter with bacon fat - YUMMMMMY! I also use 1 lb of assorted nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      Classic! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      This was my first time making an sort of Chex Mix-like thing, and I enjoyed the process. And WOW, the flavor really puts the bagged stuff to shame! I wasn't expecting these to be as spicy as they were, but that's a good thing as I like things very spicy. This mix is definitely not for everyone for that reason though. For some reason, the wheat Chex I used burned, but the other pieces were fine. Next time I might just replace the wheat Chex with something else to avoid that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      This is the exact recipe I got from my mom years ago. It is always a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I added a tablespoon of sugar to the mix to make it sweet as well as salty/spicy. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      This was great! I made it for my brother who is absolutely obsessed with spicy and crunchy foods. The only differences I had was less chex mix, more nuts, no pretzels, and I added air popped popcorn (taste preferences). I used pecans and coconut to offset the spiciness a bit and added extra tabasco sauce. My eyes literally watered a bit every time I opened the oven but it was JUST the way he likes it. Great for guys!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Wonderful...so many recipes like this and this one has the right everything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Eqsy to adjust the heat to suit your palette. I've had this with the addition of Bugle chips and Funyuns. Be creative!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      this was a very good recipe and did have e good bold taste. i did change the garlic salt to garlic powder and made my own seasoned salt using Copycat Lawry's Seasoned Salt as I didn't have any in the pantry when I went to make this recipe. It was very easy to make and made 3 batches to give as Xmas gifts. Will be making again and hopefully soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

    • on November 19, 2007

      I like this better than the 'Chex' mix variety, since this has a subtle bite to it. I doubled this and used green pepper sauce instead of Tabasco since I wanted this to be child friendly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      This snack is a Texas Tradition in all parts of the state!! Like many recipes, I've seen this made with most of the same basic ingredients listed here, but with some variation. My favorite thing to do is cut back on the salt (use only seasoning salt)and then replace the butter with an equivalent amount of fried bacon drippings. That REALLY adds something special to the mix!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      I made this a couple of days ago, and will be making it again today since my husband has eaten all of the first batch! We absolutely love this, and the spice was just right to us (we're pepper heads--I may even kick it up!). I made another Texas Trash recipe first, but this one was by far the best. This one is definitely going in my permanent cookbook. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2005

      I loved this. My husband just did not like the spice. Those who liked it, thought it was wonderfully addictive...and it made PLENTY for the party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2004

      You can add me to the long list of people who liked this little mixture! Definitely a Texas-size yield, and plenty of zing and flavor! Easy to put together and take along to a party ... I didn't come home with any leftovers! Thanks, J ... Tis a keeper, for sure! Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      THIS MIX GOT MY ATTENTON! I changed nothing! It was fantastic and my staff loved it. This will definately go with me to Texas when I go visit my parents. Thanks for the wonderful "twist" on an old favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      Oh my goodness. This is delicious. I made 2 batches one for us that included the cayenne pepper and one for the kids omitting the cayenne pepper. This is a wonderful snack. All the ingredients taste so well together. Thanks for sharing. This is a definite "5 star" with our family and very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Texas Trash

    Serving Size: 1 (737 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 371.5
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    46%
    Total Fat 19.3 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 27.1 mg
    9%
    Sodium 743.2 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites