Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Texas-Style Smoked Brisket Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Texas-Style Smoked Brisket

    Average Rating:

    6 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-6 of 6

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2009

      WOW was this FABULOUS!!! The rub is absolutely amazing; I marinated the bristket for about a day and a half prior to cooking. After reading a multitude of brisket recipes and finding that the cooking times range from 5 to 24 hours, I got nervous because I knew I had to serve it at 5pm. That being said, I placed my 5.5 lb brisket, covered, in the oven at 250 degrees for 4 hours (fat side up). I then removed it from the oven, and placed it directly on the smoking rack and smoked it in my electric smoker with hickory wood for 2 hours at 170 degrees (again with the fat side up). It was perfect for us. . .still a little moist, tender, and starting to fall apart (although I could cut thicker slices which would stay together). I did make the BBQ sauce (and the Essence), cutting the recipe in half and using 2 T of the Essence (the recipe didn't say how much to add, so I guessed). The sauce was SO TASTY as well. I loved it. . .has a bit of a kick, so you may want to decrease the hot sauce (or eliminate it completely) if you don't like yours spicy. The sauce is a little vinegary, a little sweet and a little spicy. It would also be great on seafood, hot dogs, pork or chicken. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      I was trying to decide if I should rate this 4 or 5 stars, and I came to the conclusion that I was going to rate it 5. The brisket and the sauce had a WONDERFUL flavor! I loved it... The only problem was, it was very tough. I smoked it for almost 6 hours. Next time I make this I will smoke it about 8-10. Thanks for posting!! Edited on July 11 2007 to say: I made again and smoked it about 10 hours! It was falling apart! I am so glad you posted this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      Tried this recipe on 18 Jan 2014. I just used the brisket rub with slight modification. I did not make up the sauce or the essence. I am used to smoking a brisket for about 45 minutes to an hour per pound at low temp, between 200 and 225 degrees... low and slow. I smoked 6 pounds of beef brisket for 9 hours by placing it in my Grill Dome Smoker uncovered on the grill rack for the first 5 hours to develop the bark and embue the cherry wood chips that I used in the water pan into the meat. I then removed the brisket and crutched it by double wraping the brisket in aluminum foil. I placed the foil wrapped brisket back in the Grill Dome Smoker for another 4 hours and then pulled out the brisket to serve. My modifications on the recipe: I used only 1 tablespoon of salt instead of the 2 tablespoons called for in the recipe and I cut the ground Cumin down from 2 teaspoons to only 1 teaspoon. Those changes turned out well, but in the future I will limit the Cumin to only 1/2 teaspoon or, like suggested by another poster, eliminate it entirely. I would also probably increase the amount of ground Black Pepper by at least 50% as a personal preference (I like to be able to taste the Black Pepper and this was missing for me in this recipe). I divided the required amount of Cayenne Pepper so that 1/2 of it was straight Cayenne Pepper and 1/2 of it was Chipotle Cayenne Pepper. In addition I used a Yellow Mustard/Honey/Juice from Manzetta Tamed Sliced Jalapenos mixture to coat the brisket prior to applying the rub, some call this procedure as applying a "Glue" before coating with the rub. The "Glue" application allows the rub to stick better to the brisket. I love Manzetta Tamed Sliced Jalapenos and the spice and vinegar solution they are packed in is something I save for just this type of use after I have devoured all the Jalapenos... it is a great seasoning solution. The honey and the Yellow Mustard provide a thickener against the "Juice" from the Manzettaa Tamed Sliced Jalapenos so that the mix is not too thin. I vary the amounts to obtain what I consider to be a desired thickness... more like a paste. Comments: The result was an extremely tender brisket with good flavor and I would smoke it again, however on repeat I would make some additional modifications: I would marinade the brisket in a 1:1:1 mixture of Apple Cider Vinegar, Pineapple (or Orange Juice) and Apple Juice to which I would add 2 or even 3 tablespoons of a good quality Liquid Smoke and remove it from this marinade after 24 to 48 hours, apply the Honey/Yellow Mustard and "Juice" from Manzetta Tamed Jalapenos as a "Glue" following up with the application liberally of the rub to both sides. Next I would cut down my time to Smoke the brisket. I normally do not trim vigorously the fat off a brisket before smoking it in order to comply with what I have read in most recipes, however this time I did trim vigorously the fat prior to smoking the brisket. The meat was very tender, but I believe that next time I would be more in line with the recommended cooking time and smoke the brisket for a total of 6 or 7 hours at the most, particularly if I have trimmed the fat. I would stick to 4 to 5 hours of open exposure to the smoke and then pull out the meat to double wrap in foil and replace in the smoker for the balance of the time. Next time I would also probably stick with the designated Mesquite wood chips in the water bath instead of Cherry wood chips. I just did not have the Mesquite or I would have used it. Again, this was a very tender brisket result and extremely easy to pull apart and shred for sandwiches or serve sliced. I recommend this recipe, but I will modify it as noted above.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      Awesome recipe! Used it for DH's BD party instead of the usual pork shoulder & WOWY ZOWIE was it DELICIOUS! Made the Essence but did not see how much to add to BBQ sauce so winged it with a heaping Tablespoon - worked great. Only substitution made was sorghum syrup for cane syrup - worked fine too. Keeper recipe - my brisket was 9# - Plenty of rub! Keeper recipe 4 a crowd - served 10 w/2 quart freezer bags for fast sandwiches. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      One of, if not, the very best briskets I've ever had. I cooked a brisket for about 5-6 people, and it was engulfed in about 5 minutes. I smoked a 5.2 lb.s brisket for 6 hours, followed by 2 hours in an ice chest. I didn't make the sauce, because it was too good without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      Oh my goodness, this was just so wonderful. I smoked a small brisket for 9 hours and it was falling apart tender. The flavor was so perfect I didn't even bother to add the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Texas-Style Smoked Brisket

    Serving Size: 1 (459 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1341.8
     
    Calories from Fat 790
    58%
    Total Fat 87.8 g
    135%
    Saturated Fat 33.3 g
    166%
    Cholesterol 220.7 mg
    73%
    Sodium 7051.6 mg
    293%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.3 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 68.2 g
    273%
    Protein 57.7 g
    115%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes