Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Texas Sheet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Texas Sheet Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2013

      I'd say this recipe was a hit. Moist and not too sweet, but I made it w/o the suggested buttermilk frosting. I also made it gluten free by using my flour blend and adding xanthan gum. Thanks for the great starter recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Made this for an early Thanksgiving dinner last week to go with pecan pie bars and pumpkin pie squares. I can't believe my parents have never had these before, but now it will be a go-to recipe for them to take to potlucks. Texas Sheet Cake is such a crowd-pleaser because your brownie lover's love it and your cake lovers love it too! Easy and stays moist and gets better the next day. I tweaked the icing and used 6 T buttermilk, 5 T cocoa, 1/2 c. real butter and 4 c. powdered sugar and vanilla. Would be great with pecans, but left out for those who are not nut-lovers. I am making again today to take to Thanksgiving! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Good! Texas Sheet Cake is a thin layer of moist cake topped with fudgy frosting, kind of a cross between a brownie and cake. Quick and easy to fix. Best with pecans in the frosting, but I made one without nuts for my picky children. Most versions I've tried are very sweet, seems like this one may have had less frosting. In any event it was very good. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      I made three of these for a church function and I got loads of compliments. The only thing I did differenly was that I added 1 tablespoon of cinnamon to each batch. Thanks for a great recipe! I'll probably be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      Mmm!! scrumptious and unbelievably moist. i had some chocolate fudge laying around that probably wouldn't have gotten eaten (a 1-inch cube) so i melted it in with the butter and cocoa. i didn't make the frosting, but used a store-bought white frosting instead. thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      Oh my gosh! I can't believe I found this recipe on here!! I've been making this cake for years. I got the recipe from my mom, written on an old dirty, stained, & faded piece of paper. The frosting is like fudge and we load ours up with pecans. we also put a dash of cinnamon in the cake batter, it really makes a big difference. MMMMmmmm! wish i had some pecans on hand... :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Yes ma'am. Great one, LeAnnC. Made this yesterday morning, it was a snap to prepare and was absolutely wonderful. Chocolate lovers take note - run, don't walk, to your kitchen and make this now. I made a mistake when doing the frosting and added the cocoa to the powdered sugar instead of boiling it in the pan. No matter, still wonderful. Can't say enough about this one, it will be a regular at our house. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      i love this recipe.i found this recipe in a magazine 5yrs ago and i was going to make it last night for a party at work the next day but i could not fing the magazine. this is the only recipe where it does not called for shortening,and u mix the buttermilk with the cocoa and bring to a boil. this cake is soo moist,make sure u make the icing about 5mins before the cake is done and pour the hot icing over the hot cake. i think this is best when eaten warm. is recipe is soo easy to mix up, i think it only take maybe 6mins to put together.i always have people that want the recipe after i make it. good luck, once u make this one time you will always make it..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      This is a wonderfully textured, moist cake that people took seconds on. My only goof was that I was busy multi-tasking and didn't frost the cake when warm and so the frosting crystalized a bit. So I would say, take that part of the instruction seriously. I ended up having it in a bit of a warm spot and the frosting texture worked itself out. So it's all that and forgiving, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      I wanted to make a Texas Sheet Cake for a party tonight. I realized I didnt have any sour cream on hand and no time to run to the store! So I used this recipe. I'm so glad I did! This yields a delicious, moist, chocolatey cake! Thankyou for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      This cake is so easy, moist, and delicious! If I'm really in the chocolate mood I'll add about three ounces of semisweet chocolate and I always use coffee instead of water. You should try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      This cake is so chocolately and delicious! I have made this twice now and it always gets raves reviews. The last time I made it was for a wedding. Before the icing had set I topped each piece with a chocolate chip, then I cut it into bite sized pieces. I placed each into a muffin liner and it looked great. It made alot of servings with minimal work--my kind of recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2004

      Excellent, very moist. I needed to double the frosting though (only increasing the sugar to 4 cups). When you are looking for a Texas sheet cake, and when you particularly don't want to use sour cream, pick this one! I tried many!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      I made this recipe exactly as written and it was perfect! I would say that it did not take long at all to make the frosting, so I probably prepared mine a bit earlier than I should have as I had to reheat it to make it fully pourable by the time the 25 minutes of baking time for the cake was up. I would wait until there was only 10-15 minutes left (or less) of baking time before starting the frosting next time, but the results were wonderful as is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      This is a very good cake, much like a recipe I have for chocolate sheet cake, just a different name. It is easy to make and leftovers at our house would be rare after 2 days! I baked it a couple of minutes less as I believe my oven is a little off and this cake must be moist. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Texas Sheet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (63 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 245.1
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    38%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 43.3 mg
    14%
    Sodium 158.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 28.1 g
    112%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes