Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Texas Sheet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Texas Sheet Cake

    Average Rating:

    96 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 96

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2009

      This was like chocolate heaven! Very, very good and easy to make. I used a 9x13 in glass pan and it took 32 min for the cake to be completely done. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Great recipe! Have made this one several times and it always turns out moist and delicious. The only change I make is to add 1 teaspoonful of cinnamon to the cake batter and I add 1 teaspoonful of instant coffee or espresso powder to the icing. It's also a quick, easy cake to stir up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      This is an absolutely wonderful cake. I received the recipe from my co-worker as it is a favorite at work. We bake it in a 9X13" pan but that is the only difference. It is so easy and the cake is moist and stays moist for days. I highly recommend this one for all you chocolate fiends like me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      Very similar to the recipe my family has used for years! Instead of sour cream in the cake, I use buttermilk. I also like to add 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon to the cake batter. Cinnamon will do nothing but enhace the chocolate flavor. Try it one time and you'll be a believer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2006

      This was great -- very easy. I tripled the recipe and baked it in 2 15x20x1 pans for a church dinner. Turned out perfect when baked for the specified 20 minutes. I like the idea of using coffee in place of the water, also the cinnamon and cayenne. This recipe will be subject to much experimentation. About as easy as they come, especially the way you do the frosting. And I think it was better the morning after. Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      I'm still drooling over this one! The moistest cake I have ever made! I did end up adding 1 tsp of cinnamon and did not use the nuts. Next time I may even try 2 tsp. of cinnamon. It was a huge hit at the going away party for our friends who are moving to Texas!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Mrs. Hatfield I have a beef with you. That's the MOST amazing, addicting cake I have ever made. And w/ 4 kids...I've made a LOT. It was so moist and delicious....even with the nuts. (I used pecans, didn't have walnuts) wow. wow....wow. I am mad though, 'cause this is going to make me gain 5 lbs! (all in jest....thank you very much.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Wonderful...exactly what I remembered! Super-easy to make! My husband said I can't make it any more because he couldn't stay out of it. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      We cut back on the sugar a bit on both the cake and the frosting, and it was still very good. Easy to prepare, great for big crowds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      A winner of a recipe! Made this for a potluck gathering, didn't last ten minutes on the table. Wouldn't change a thing in the recipe, delicious as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      So delicious! I'll know that I'll be making this again and again over the years. It was so moist and flavorful! I made these changes based on suggestions that I'd read: I added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the batter and 1 cup chopped pecans to frosting. It was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      A frequent request from the neghborhood kids. It is so easy to make and soo good. I make it without the nuts due to allergies and no one misses them. Just an fyi for those who do not know the 1lb of powdered sugrar is roughly equivalent to 3 1/2 c. I also bake the cake for 10 minutes and then turn it 180 and bake it for an additional 10 minutes. Comes out perfect every time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      I made this for my sisters birthday. This was super easy and so yummy (she let me have a piece)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      Super moist and rich

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      I changed it up a little, by using Greek Yoghurt in place of the sour cream. I also added some cinnamon and I have to say this is awesome! Moist and I can taste a hint of the cinnamon. The frosting was just right. Reminds me of the church potlucks when I was a kid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      Soooooo good!!!!! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      My 7 yro grandtr and I made this cake and it was good but it remained soggy in the middle and was much to sweet. Not sure what we did wrong

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      This is the best! My family has been making it for years. We only use 3T cocoa in the cake and in the frosting, but otherwise identical. The only chocolate cake I like and I LOVE it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      Good cake thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      This is soooo addicting. No one can stay out of it. I made it for my dad's birthday cake (his request) and we all loved it. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Texas Sheet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 669.0
     
    Calories from Fat 293
    43%
    Total Fat 32.5 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 37.0 mg
    12%
    Sodium 493.2 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.3 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 71.0 g
    284%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites