Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Texas Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Texas Red Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    236 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 236

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2003

      This was delicious.. I added some extra chili powder and added a bit of chicken stock for the water.. I also added some cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit more .. but excellent..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2003

      This is great! I made it with clarified butter and used almost 3 cups of water so I could let it simmer/warm for a couple of hours, but I tried it as soon as it was done (before the extra water) and it was more flavorful than what you get from, say Taco Bell or something. It does need more salt than you would think, but I do tend to use more salt than most people. It took less than 10 minutes to make. We used it as a sauce for bean burritos, enchiladas and pintos and cheese. Can't wait to share this recipe with my sister.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      Great enchilada sauce, Mark! It's easy, quick, uses ingredients right out of my pantry and best of all it tastes wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2003

    • on March 13, 2003

      Good stuff! I was lucky enough to find Texas Red Chile Powder at my local "speciality" shop up here in Yankee Land. Started out with 3 tsps. of the chile powder until I could determine what the heat level would be for my kid's delicate palate, but ended it up using all 5. I used it for cheese enchiladas w/ Muenster,diced chilies,and chopped green onion. Absolutely delicious and easy. I'll be using this often in the future. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      The sauce tastes bitter but I think it could be from bulk chili powder. To balance out the bitter flavor I added 1 tsp. cocoa powder, 1 tsp. sugar, 1 chicken bouillion cube, and replaced 1/3 of the water with chicken stock ( I only added a little water at a time to make sure it wasn't too runny but I ended up adding all the liquid, I just used chicken broth at the end.) I realized at the end that I used tomato sauce instead of tomato paste but I loved it so I wouldn't change it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

      We have enchiladas about once a month, I made the mistake of making this sauce once as I had extra time. I then used a canned version the following month and my hubby "spit it out" and said What is this? I told him enchilada sauce, Why...He said it's crap. Where is the stuff you made last time?

      He will eat no other enchilada sauce EVER!! So now, I keep all the ingredients for this wonderful sauce on hand as he also like it as a "dip" for chips. He just can't get enough of this wonderful sauce. BUT, that means I have to make it and when I'm short on time and It's a hassle. But...he loves it and I love him so I will make it for him. Fresh every time...I may try to can it if I ever get the time. Serioulsly, we all love this sauce and I usually make it and keep it in the freezer and thaw in the fridge the day we need it. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      I was very easy to bring together, but the flavor is not what we expected. I don't want to put a star rating, as I don't want to mar an otherwise popular recipe, just because it is not our tastes (darn yankees!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      This is excellent. For some reason, I had no tomato paste in my cupboards, so I used a can of condensed tomato soup and only used 2 cups of water. I also added extra chili powder as well as a bit more cumin. This recipe doubles easily, and everyone who ate it couldn't stop talking about how good the enchilada sauce was!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      I was definately concerned about using 5 teaspoons of chili powder but I followed the recipe and I'm glad I did. Very tasty and just the right amount for my 9X13 dish of enchiladas. I may never buy enchilada sauce again. The next time I make it though I will add some cayenne pepper as we like a little more heat. Also I think steps 3 & 4 should be switched because when I added the spices and tomato paste to the browned flour it formed a big tomato paste ball. I believe it would be easier to stir in the water first to make a smooth roux then add in the spices and tomato paste. This is only a suggestion but one that would be useful especially to novice cook, be sure and have all your ingredients measured out and ready to put into the roux. You have to work quickly with this recipe once the flour has browned. Thanks for posting this wonderfully tasty recipe Mark.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      Absolutely delicious! I encountered no probems scaling the recipe to 1 cup, used fresh garlic and the only chili powder they sell in our stores - but it was red. This was the perfect sauce for Laudee's Anasazi Enchiladas (Anasazi Enchiladas). Thanx Mark!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      This is a delicious versatile sauce that I've used with enchiladas, wet burritos, huevos rancheros, and chilaquiles. Although the flavors vary slightly, it works great with tomato paste or tomatillos. My husband usually refuses enchiladas in restaurants because he doesn't care for the usual oily chili-powder gravy that passes for sauce, but he really liked this - especially with sweet potato-black bean burritos. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      I made this last night and I can't believe how wonderful it is. I could eat it with a spoon like soup! The only thing I did differently was to use low sodium beef broth in place of some of the water as I had a can of it in the fridge I had opened that morning and needed to use it up. This was so easy and quick, I will never buy canned sauce again!! My enchilada casserole turned out delicious. I can't wait to use this sauce on many more recipes. I'd give it more stars if I could!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      Very good! Made as written and glad I did.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      This was SO good! I used this on top of my burritos and it was great. My dinner guest tonight doesnt like her food too spicy so I didnt put as much chilli powder in as the recipe called for and I also had a cup of chicken stock on hand so I used that with the water..... other than that I made this recipe to the letter. I will definately use this again! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      Well done. This is an awesome recipe, and I'm sure I will use it many times. I did everything as directed, except I used a 15oz can of chicken stock instead of the water. Thanks for the keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I made this tonight when I realized that I forgot to buy enchilada sauce - I will never buy it in a can again! This was easy AND delicious. I always have these ingrediants on hand and I can't believe I've been wasting my money on canned sauce when I could make this! Thanks for the recipe - I will be making this over and over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      Terrific and easy sauce! I will never buy canned enchilada sauce again! I made ground beef and cheese enchiladas and the sauce made them nearly perfect! Next time I will add onion sauteed in butter along with the beef, but this sauce would work well on chicken, beef, cheese, or cheese and onion enchilada. A must have for Mexican food lovers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      This is very good! The flavor and consistency is much better than the stuff you buy in the store. I like the fact that it is made with ingredients I always have on hand, and the seasonings can be adjusted to suit my personal taste. This is the only enchilada sauce I will use from now on. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      This was the best enchilada sauce that I have tasted yet. I will never buy another enchilada sauce mix again. The only change I made was to add some chicken bouillon granules to the water. Yummy! Thanks for the fantastic recipe. My new favorite! Try it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Texas Red Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (771 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.7
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    50%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 901.8 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 11.0 g
    44%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites