237 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious.. I added some extra chili powder and added a bit of chicken stock for the water.. I also added some cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit more .. but excellent..

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladybug II January 26, 2003

This is great! I made it with clarified butter and used almost 3 cups of water so I could let it simmer/warm for a couple of hours, but I tried it as soon as it was done (before the extra water) and it was more flavorful than what you get from, say Taco Bell or something. It does need more salt than you would think, but I do tend to use more salt than most people. It took less than 10 minutes to make. We used it as a sauce for bean burritos, enchiladas and pintos and cheese. Can't wait to share this recipe with my sister.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SwoR~ January 27, 2003

Great enchilada sauce, Mark! It's easy, quick, uses ingredients right out of my pantry and best of all it tastes wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug February 24, 2003

Good stuff! I was lucky enough to find Texas Red Chile Powder at my local "speciality" shop up here in Yankee Land. Started out with 3 tsps. of the chile powder until I could determine what the heat level would be for my kid's delicate palate, but ended it up using all 5. I used it for cheese enchiladas w/ Muenster,diced chilies,and chopped green onion. Absolutely delicious and easy. I'll be using this often in the future. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP March 13, 2003

The sauce tastes bitter but I think it could be from bulk chili powder. To balance out the bitter flavor I added 1 tsp. cocoa powder, 1 tsp. sugar, 1 chicken bouillion cube, and replaced 1/3 of the water with chicken stock ( I only added a little water at a time to make sure it wasn't too runny but I ended up adding all the liquid, I just used chicken broth at the end.) I realized at the end that I used tomato sauce instead of tomato paste but I loved it so I wouldn't change it.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissMia October 31, 2011

We have enchiladas about once a month, I made the mistake of making this sauce once as I had extra time. I then used a canned version the following month and my hubby "spit it out" and said What is this? I told him enchilada sauce, Why...He said it's crap. Where is the stuff you made last time?

He will eat no other enchilada sauce EVER!! So now, I keep all the ingredients for this wonderful sauce on hand as he also like it as a "dip" for chips. He just can't get enough of this wonderful sauce. BUT, that means I have to make it and when I'm short on time and It's a hassle. But...he loves it and I love him so I will make it for him. Fresh every time...I may try to can it if I ever get the time. Serioulsly, we all love this sauce and I usually make it and keep it in the freezer and thaw in the fridge the day we need it. Thanks for a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RebelQueen February 18, 2012

I was very easy to bring together, but the flavor is not what we expected. I don't want to put a star rating, as I don't want to mar an otherwise popular recipe, just because it is not our tastes (darn yankees!)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie K May 04, 2011

This is excellent. For some reason, I had no tomato paste in my cupboards, so I used a can of condensed tomato soup and only used 2 cups of water. I also added extra chili powder as well as a bit more cumin. This recipe doubles easily, and everyone who ate it couldn't stop talking about how good the enchilada sauce was!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaneeme March 29, 2011

I was definately concerned about using 5 teaspoons of chili powder but I followed the recipe and I'm glad I did. Very tasty and just the right amount for my 9X13 dish of enchiladas. I may never buy enchilada sauce again. The next time I make it though I will add some cayenne pepper as we like a little more heat. Also I think steps 3 & 4 should be switched because when I added the spices and tomato paste to the browned flour it formed a big tomato paste ball. I believe it would be easier to stir in the water first to make a smooth roux then add in the spices and tomato paste. This is only a suggestion but one that would be useful especially to novice cook, be sure and have all your ingredients measured out and ready to put into the roux. You have to work quickly with this recipe once the flour has browned. Thanks for posting this wonderfully tasty recipe Mark.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy May 19, 2007
Texas Red Enchilada Sauce