Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Texas Pinto Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Texas Pinto Beans

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2002

      These were fantastic Nurse Di. I made these for Labor Day because I have some real heat-seekers in my family. Very spicy and full of flavor. A keeper in our book Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2002

      Made this last night for supper. We love pinto beans and hot/spicy food. So this was perfect for us. Just the right amount of heat. The bacon and onion are a big plus. Probably next time, I will try it in the crockpot like the other reviewer. Just to see what happens. Thanks for a terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2002

      WE love pinto beans (and live in Texas!) so we actually make them ALL the time. We used a can of rotel tomatoes for this, normally when we make our own we do not use any tomatoes but this was fun. Also, we did use a crockpot on low and let it cook all day stirring when we head home for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      If ya don't want them too hot, put in one jalapeno pepper whole, instead of cut and let it cook the entire time. when the beans are done, discard the whole jalapeno.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      I added a little cumin to mine and cooked for about 5 hours in the crockpot. Fried the bacon and then tossed it in. So good and gone in a flash!! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      DH really liked these, I didn't care for them. Made as directed. It's always fun to try new recipes whether they are hits or not. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Great Beans! I started them early just in case the beans I soaked "didn't work", they did. The only change I made was to use a jar of my canned tomatoes with habaneros rather than the medium tomato and jalapenos-serious heat lovers here! The beans are soft but whole, excellent flavor and great "juice". This recipe is easy to make and comes together like a dream. We should be loads of fun to be around by 9! Thanks for Posting! Di;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      HOLY COW these are some yummy beans. They have an awesome flavor and I will be making these all the time. I cooked them for almost an hour and a half in my pressure cooker. It made them very soft and almost like refried beans. I did add some bround cumin and chilli powder. Also added 2 TBSP molasses. Turned out awesomely!!! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This is great! I soaked the beans overnight, rinsed and drained. I used about 8 oz of Pace picante instead of the tomatoes and added a pound of sliced sausage. I wish I had ham hocks to add - next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      had a bag of pinto's laying around and saw your recipe . wow glad i found it . i had to try early (before dinner) so grabbed a bowl with some cheese and sour cream . i left out the bacon,but plan on chopping some fresh tom.,gr pepper,and onion and topping it for some crunch. anyway thankyou for a great recipe .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      This was yummy! I did change things up a bit. I placed a whole jalapeno pepper in the beans from the beginning. I also used a can of medium picante sauce, a few dashes of garlic powder, more salt, and black pepper. Thank you for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      My husband and I both love Tex-Mex,I made this the other day,mostly I followed the recipe,but I didn't use bacon slice,or water,instead,I used leftover cooking juice from making carnitas days ago.I soaked my beans overnight and cooked it in a slow cooker on the highest temprature for 3 hours,just threw in salt,tomatoes and jalapenos the last 30 minutes of cooking time,it tasted so good,we ate this with some Texas chili and baguette.I love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      I wanted a quick pinto bean recipe and this foot the bill perfectly. I too used about 3/4 of a can of Rotel, drained, in place of the fresh tomato and 2 BIG fresh jalepenos. The rest was just as written. Had to simmer mine about 2 hours till tender. Came out just as expected. Cant wait for leftovers. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      This was very good, but it seemed like it was missing just a little something. I think the amount of seasoning was good, but but it seemed like there was too much water. I used bottle of Bohemia beer and water to make up the 4 1 cups. I think next time I'll use the whole bottle of beer, but 1/2 to 1 cup less water. There was more than enough liquid, so I think that would help intensify the flavors. I cut back on the jalapenos. I put them in for the whole simmering time, and only used 1 chopped and 1 cut in half which I removed at the end of the cooking and I used a can of rotel instead of the fresh tomato, but the fresh tomato may have added a zing that the rotel couldn't. I took this to a father's day gathering and everyone liked them. Thanks for the recipe! **UPDATE** I used the leftovers to make refried beans, and they were so good! Just drizzled a bit of olive oil in a pan and added the beans. I mashed them with a fork and let most of the liquid cook out. I added just a little bit of fresh salsa. I think this may be my "go to" refried bean recipe - I don't care much for the canned kind. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Very tasty! Used ingredients as directed but cooked in my crock pot. Came out great! They didn't last long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      This recipe was so close to my Southern roots! I used pork neck bones instead of the bacon. I used two jalapeno peppers because I forgot to put the number needed on my shopping list. My guest thought it spicy enough but I'm gonna go for four jalapenos next time I cook this. And believe me, there will be a next time. My hubby has already requested more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Fantastic. I soaked the beans overnight and then cooked in the crockpot all day. We don't eat pork so used beef stock and were happy with the flavor. Only additions were three extra cloves of garlic (5 total), a full onion, ground cumin, black pepper and sea salt. Served with a little sour cream and salsa. Big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      These beans were great! Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2004

      Really good, filling and flavorful. DH & I both agreed it's a solid 4 stars. I used 1 can of Rotel instead of the tomato (fresh ones looked awful here!), and I added a little more spice as the beans cooked -- a couple dashes of crushed red pepper, a little garlic powder, & a dash or two of seasoned salt. The cooking time on the beans was PERFECT -- this was only my 2nd attempt ever at cooking dried beans! ;) Thanks, NurseDi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2004

      Following another reviewers suggestion, I added some liquid smoke to the beans. I was very satisfied with the results. They are spicy and flavorful. Definitely serve with cornbread!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Texas Pinto Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (220 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.8
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    96%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 1.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 425.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 12.4 g
    49%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes