Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Texas Hash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Texas Hash

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 24, 2002

      I just love Rice and Hamburger...This is a very good Recipe..I added a teaspoon more of the Chili Powder...Made it spicey...I just laughed so hard at myself..Thinking that Hubby and I could eat all of this...It makes alot..I also cooked it in the crockpot..I got it started on the stove and then added it to the hot crockpot..It was done in a hour..Oh the smell was wonderful and the taste was better..We also had Pea Salad with it. Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      This is a really easy and wonderful recipe. I remembered my mother serving something similar when I was a kid and thanks to Gayle's recipe I was able to find it again! I used a 400g can of diced tomatoes and also threw in some fresh spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2014

      I have been making this for years and the only thing different I do is after the 45 minutes cooking and rice is done, I put grated sharp cheddar cheese on top and put it bake in over for 10-15 minutes until the cheese is melted. My family just loves it that was!!! ENJOY!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      I used ground turkey and added corn to the recipe. Very easy to do and it is always a favorite with my husband!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      We enjoyed this! I made it exactly as stated and it was a little too spicy for us. My 3yo couldn't eat it and my nose was running and tongue was burning a bit (though I admit I am a wimp). I will cut the chili powder in half next time I think. The only other issue I had was with the rice. When I removed the cover after 45 minutes, the rice that was near the top was totally uncooked. So I stirred it all up and put the cover back on and cooked an additional 20 minutes, then let stand for 10 after removing from the oven. It was perfect after this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      We made it and loved it. I have been searching for this recipe for nearly 40 years. I first made it from a Better Homes and Gardens cookbook in 1969, but long ago lost the book and couldn't remember the exact ingredients. This one is very similar. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      I just love stuff like this! I added a 15 ounce can of corn (drained), and a 3.8 ounce can of slice ripe olives(drained). This filled a 13x9 inch pan completely. The rotel and chili powder made this perfectly spiced for our tastes; not overly spicy. This makes a lot, but the leftovers are just as good if not better. This would be the perfect casserole for a potluck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      Thank you, I used to eat something like this as a child and I was very happy with this recipe. Just like my Momma made!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      This was really good, the only thing I did different was using brown rice instead of long grain and I used 1lb 93% lean ground turkey. It was also very easy which is a plus! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      I was totally prepared to review this by saying "too spicy for us" (it does have a bit of a bite). Imagine my surprise when everyone ate! This was very economical and easy to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      I have a recipe for this that I got out of my 1973 Betty Crocker cookbook. The only difference in my recipe is it doesn't call for garlic and only calls for 1 can tomatoes (1 pound). The other ingredients are exact. My family and I loved this recipe! It is very quick and easy too, which is a plus, when pressed for time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Meat Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Texas Hash

    Serving Size: 1 (358 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 474.6
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    23%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 73.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1407.7 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.3 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 29.2 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes