11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just love Rice and Hamburger...This is a very good Recipe..I added a teaspoon more of the Chili Powder...Made it spicey...I just laughed so hard at myself..Thinking that Hubby and I could eat all of this...It makes alot..I also cooked it in the crockpot..I got it started on the stove and then added it to the hot crockpot..It was done in a hour..Oh the smell was wonderful and the taste was better..We also had Pea Salad with it. Thank You

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda July 24, 2002

This is a really easy and wonderful recipe. I remembered my mother serving something similar when I was a kid and thanks to Gayle's recipe I was able to find it again! I used a 400g can of diced tomatoes and also threw in some fresh spinach.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville January 04, 2003

I have been making this for years and the only thing different I do is after the 45 minutes cooking and rice is done, I put grated sharp cheddar cheese on top and put it bake in over for 10-15 minutes until the cheese is melted. My family just loves it that was!!! ENJOY!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gazelle R. October 26, 2014

I used ground turkey and added corn to the recipe. Very easy to do and it is always a favorite with my husband!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NutriMom May 09, 2008

We enjoyed this! I made it exactly as stated and it was a little too spicy for us. My 3yo couldn't eat it and my nose was running and tongue was burning a bit (though I admit I am a wimp). I will cut the chili powder in half next time I think. The only other issue I had was with the rice. When I removed the cover after 45 minutes, the rice that was near the top was totally uncooked. So I stirred it all up and put the cover back on and cooked an additional 20 minutes, then let stand for 10 after removing from the oven. It was perfect after this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferK2 September 25, 2007

We made it and loved it. I have been searching for this recipe for nearly 40 years. I first made it from a Better Homes and Gardens cookbook in 1969, but long ago lost the book and couldn't remember the exact ingredients. This one is very similar. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lily Harvey July 25, 2007

I just love stuff like this! I added a 15 ounce can of corn (drained), and a 3.8 ounce can of slice ripe olives(drained). This filled a 13x9 inch pan completely. The rotel and chili powder made this perfectly spiced for our tastes; not overly spicy. This makes a lot, but the leftovers are just as good if not better. This would be the perfect casserole for a potluck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue July 14, 2007

Thank you, I used to eat something like this as a child and I was very happy with this recipe. Just like my Momma made!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thymestudio October 24, 2006

This was really good, the only thing I did different was using brown rice instead of long grain and I used 1lb 93% lean ground turkey. It was also very easy which is a plus! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emeri&JonahsMommy August 30, 2006

I was totally prepared to review this by saying "too spicy for us" (it does have a bit of a bite). Imagine my surprise when everyone ate! This was very economical and easy to put together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch July 08, 2006
Texas Hash