Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Texas Country Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Texas Country Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2011

      This was a really great potato salad. I thought it could have used some more mustard as it seemed a little bit lacking in flavor when we got to the end. Also I think that I should have cut the potatoes down even more as it was a very rich potato salad. All in all though it went well and was very well loved as it got eaten up. I think in the future I will always add bacon and bacon grease to my potato salad as it was such a nice element especially since it added a little more protein to the salad. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      This recipe was amazing. The bacon and eggs were the perfect addictions and the mayo and mustard were flavorful but light. The only flaw was that I didn't make enough since everyone devoured it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      awesome and delish! everyone loved it, I used the ingredients as a guide and just made the whole thing to taste. forgot to add the bacon greese to the potatoes and it was still fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      Easy to make and very tasty salad. Got rave review from my party guests. The first time I fried the bacon, it was burnt very quickly in a pre-heated pan and it was not crispy. I subsequently learned that the bacon should be placed in a cold saucepan and get heated up together. That way, there is less oil coming out from the bacon (which causes the burnt) and the bacon will come out crispy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      WOW!! This was excellent. I made to 8 servings and added radishes and celery to it. Thanks for an excellent salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      Wonderful! Followed the recipe as stated and loved the results. Very pretty with the red potatoes, green onion, and bacon. Not overly saucy and just a hint of mustard. Unlike most potato salad recipes, this makes a small amount. One pound is not a lot of red potatoes. For a cookout or potluck I'd suggest tripling the recipe. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      Wow! So simple, so fresh, and so delicious! I only had some of that handy microwave bacon (which worked out just great). I left just a bit of the peel on each potato, doubled up on the egg, and used half mayo and half miracle whip (my secret way of making everyone in the house happy). After draining the potatoes I put them into a glass bowl and let them sit in the fridge for a while, then ran a knife through them randomly several times leaving some very large chunks while also producing some smaller pieces. Loved the texture that it produced! It complimented the large pieces of cumbled bacon, green onion, and sliced egg that made this such a wonderful dish. It looked so good we ate some while it was still a little warm...chilled the rest and finished it off that same day! Super recipe and now our favorite! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      My mother-in-law makes a potato salad that is very close to this one. She calls it Red Potato Salad. This tasted so great--loved the mustard and smoky bacon flavor. I threw in an extra boiled egg because I needed to use up the carton. Thanks so much, Marie, for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      First of all I must say,that I've never had a potato salad with bacon in it.And second I've never found a potato salad with mustard in it that I liked,until now.:)This is the way that I made this wonderful potato salad.I made this recipe for six people.Instead of of boiling the potatoes whole,I cut them into medium bite-sized pieces,then boiled them until almost fork tender.I continued with the rest of the recipe as written,except I added no onions(just don't like them in potato salad)My family and I felt that this needed just a little bit more pepper.This was so good,it will be made again,Thank you for posting."Keep Smiling:)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      Very yummy potato salad! I've never added bacon to my potato salad before but from now on I'll definitely be doing that! Thankyou for posting such a great recipe! I'll be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      This is a great salad, will definately be making it again. I cheated and used the pre cooked bacon, nuked it until crispy and then crumbled it in. Peeled the potatoes after cooking them...great flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      Very good salad! Loved the flavor imparted by the bacon grease. I added some Vidalia onion rather than using a green onion, because that's what I had. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

      This was a great potato salad...easy and yummy! I left out the onion as I don't like onions, and peeled the potatoes, as DH doesn't like potatoes with the peel. Thanks for posting such a super recipe...it will be made again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2004

      Great recipe! This reminds me so much of the "baked potato salad" sold at the market deli. The portion is great- perfect for a single meal, but easy enough to double or triple for potlucks. I used new white potates in mine (farmer's market was right out of red ones) and it turned out wonderfully. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2004

      I am not a Potato Salad lover at all but this recipe caught my eye so I tried it. The one thing I did different was to add a whole small red onion instead of one green onion (we love onion) and I added a little dill pickle juice. It was great. I took it to a ladies lunch at work and everyone loved it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Texas Country Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.7
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    44%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 55.8 mg
    18%
    Sodium 208.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites