28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

made this yesterday, and served it last night. at first everyone was like "what's that?"..and then they gobbled it up. really good flavors. very simple ingredients, and easy to prepare. a change from the typical dip for a chip. very good, i will definately make this one again.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty June 10, 2002

Super - served with Crab cakes - easy to make - new flavor combinations - all guests loved it -

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melinda Tillitski July 06, 2003

Delicious! I used a mixture of black-eyed peas, chick peas, whole kernel corn, and black beans. It was a perfect dip with tortilla chips.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BtNugget March 03, 2010

Being from the south I feel the need to eat Black-eyed peas on New Year's Day the only problem is I don't like them. So I found this recipe and it helped me out. I made the dip Dec 30 and had some for New Year's Eve as well as filling my requirements to eat black eyed peas for new years day. Be forwarned this recipe does make alot. I used 1 lb of dryed beans that I cooked up a day or two in advanced, and made a basic vinegarette with olive oil mustard and balsamic vinegar. This stuff helped me start of my year with Good Luck and Good Taste. Thanks for the great recipe this will be part of my New Year celebrations from now on

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinksmartypants January 12, 2006

I made this in the morning for an evening dinner party, and instead of black-eyed peas (didn't have any on hand) I used black beans and an extra can of garbanzos. Very good mesh of flavors in this. It was served as a side to tortilla wrapped chorizos, and seconds were had by everyone. I'll bet its even better today!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s'kat January 05, 2003

We really liked it the second day, the flavors really seemed to blend better. thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 08, 2014

Delicious! I made it as an appetizer for Thanksgiving and it got rave reviews. The only thing I changed was that I didn't have oregano so I used different fresh herbs from my garden - Mexican mint marigold and a finely chopped fresh bay leaf. I used an easy homemade red wine vinaigrette. Before serving I did drain it a bit. Will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helvella November 28, 2009

This was a delicious appetizer that everyone thought was terrific. I passed the recipe on to several of my guests. I used Wishbone Italian Robusto salad dressing and a combinated of diced orange and yellow peppers. Because the recipe makes such a large batch, I had leftovers. I made a pasta salad with the leftovers that was terrific. I added some of the "caviar" to cooked, cooled pasta along with marinated diced artichoke hearts, black olives, and parmesan cheese. It was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynne989 August 30, 2009

Very tasty. I didn't use worcestershire because my friend is allergic to wheat, I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of a fresh one (its December), and mixed up about 1 cup oil & vinegar. Also I used dried black eyed peas instead of canned. Everyone enjoyed it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steph S December 02, 2008

Made this for a 4th of July picnic/potluck. Served it with "scoops", but most people just ate it as a salad. I stuck pretty close to the recipe, except I used a diced orange bell pepper instead of the pimento and used far less dressing (about 1/2 a bottle of Annie's roasted red pepper vinaigrette). It really does improve with time, so don't be afraid to make it one or even two days in advance. Also, I liked the fact that it did not contain cilantro (I like cilantro, but must it be in everything?). The combination of fresh oregano and parsley suited this recipe perfectly. This will become a standby. PS. For those folks who could not find black eyed peas in the market... be sure to look in the canned vegie section, not the canned bean section.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slaintz July 07, 2008
Texas Caviar from the Cowgirl Hall of Fame Restaurant