Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Texas Caviar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Texas Caviar

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2002

      WOW!This is just YUMMY!I did not think I would like this recipe but,boy was I wrong!!!Wonderful Stuff,I think the cilantro makes it great!!!Just the right amount of heat from the tomatos too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      OUTSTANDING--I do believe this is the best recipe I have ever made. Everyone raves about it. The recipe is certainly easy to make, but does require a lot of vegetable chopping. All my family and guests raved about it. My daughter-in-law likes things extremely hot, so she added red pepper flakes to hers. You might want to consider red or yellow peppers which have far more nutrition and taste better. Green peppers are simply unripe pepppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      A BIG hit at the Oyster Roast last night! I substituted Rotel tomatoes with Cilantro, as I didn't have any fresh cilantro (don't really like it either). I used Kraft House Italian dressing (more emulsified than Zesty Italian), and added about 1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese. So easy and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2004

      This was great! The blend of flavors are wonderful! My 12 year old son loved it-all those chopped vegetables and he ate it-and loved it! Wow!!!! I did add some crushed red pepper flaked to spice it up-wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2004

      Sheesh, how easy is this?!?! What a great "fun" recipe. From the other reviews I too used 1 red, 1 yellow and 1 green bell pepper (they were small) more for looks then to change the taste and as I also adore hot & spicy, I diced up some jalapenos and oh my gosh...totaly awesome! From a Texan, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2003

      Texas Caviar is one of my new favorite recipes, so I'm going to give this version a try! I love adding diced avacado to the mix, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2003

      Fantastic! I loved this recipe. I like really spicy food so I added fresh jalapenos and I substituted one of the green peppers for a red pepper! The cliantro gave it such a nice flavor. Thanks Geema!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Really great for pot-lucks. I substituted olive oil, red wine vinegar, and salt to taste for the Italian dressing. Also I served just after mixing and it was all eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      Fantastic! I made this for a family function once and now it is requested for all of them, and the recipe, too. I like it with green peppers, but even better with red or yellow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      Made this for a New Year's Day Party and everyone loved it! Thanks for helping us start off the year right! (I added some feta cheese and it really blended well!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      I made this for a pot luck at work. It was a big hit. I added a small can of white peg corn for color. I had to copy the recipe for everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      I used black beans instead of the black eyed peas = more southwestern. I also added a little salt too. This was a hit at our Bunco night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      This was just "ok" in my book. My mom LOVED it, but I still had half a bowl left when I served it. Maybe just not for my tastes, although I love all the ingredients. The only thing I can think of that might have made it better for me is some garlic. Might consider trying again with that addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

      I feel so bad only giving this three stars but we didn't even finish the half batch I made. We thought it needed some salt but even after that addition we weren't a fan of the mixture. Not sure why we didn't enjoy this as we like every ingredient but I guess not in this combination. Obviously a lot of other people love this recipe so I think it's still worth trying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2004

      Can I give this a 10. This is so good and easy. My DH ate half the bowl before I got it in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      Very good recipe. I was asked for the recipe by my guests. There isn't any higher compliment than that! This is the first 'Texas Caviar' recipe I've tried, and it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      I like most versions of Texas Caviar but this is by far the best in my opinion. I used fat free dressing and it tasted just as good as the "real" thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      This is soooooo good! I made it for a family get-together and they ate it right up. My sister got the recipe from me and took it to a dinner with her in-laws and they raved about it too. Made it just like the recipe only used red peppers instead of green. YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Beans Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Texas Caviar

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.1
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    59%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 895.9 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    black-eyed peas

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites