19 Reviews

I have made this for many parties and it is always gone in 10 minutes. My office begs me to bring this to gatherings. I know I am rating my own recipe but y''all have to try it - it is yum yum yummy!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babs in Toyland December 07, 2001

Wow........this is good stuff!!!! I couln't wait for the flavors to meld, and tried some a soon as I made it. I followed Betty's suggestion and used 1/2 lime juice for the vinegar. Also used 1/2 chili oil for the olive oil (omiting the hot sauce)and since I didn't have any white corn, used 1/2 can of yellow corn. Thanks Babs for posting this wonderful recipe, I could make a meal just out of this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy December 09, 2006

Yep...this lasted about 10 min. and my friends fought over the last of it. Some don't like food really hot, so I reduced the hot sauce to 1 tsp. I chose this recipe last-minute, and I didn't have an avocado, but next time I'll add it. (My neighbor brought this to a party recently, but hers was bland by comparison) Really good stuff!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess August 23, 2002

Was good and used as a salad but needs something more, possibly jalapeno or more hot sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound April 07, 2013

Really yummy - one of my husband's faves so we have it often. I use some red onion in place of the green onion as it lasts a bit better in the left overs. I like to top up any leftovers with more of whatever there is to keep it going over a few days. I prefer black beans and I use Tabasco liberally, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SolightlyUK March 10, 2013

I keep meaning to rate this recipe. We absolute devour this stuff. I can't keep this around because we all love it so much. I have had different variations of Texas Caviar, but this one is the very best one by far. We prefer to use black beans over the black eyed peas. I rinse and drain the beans and corn. For the hot sauce, I use Cholula Brand. Watch out...it's addicting to eat with Tostito Scoops!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXHomemaker April 27, 2011

I loved it! I made it with black-eyed peas, yellow corn and some unnamed (but ripe) tomatoes. I also had to use Tabasco instead of the preferred hot sauce. I also added some thinly sliced cucumber, just because I wanted to use it up. This is really really good. I look forward to making it many times. Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao April 20, 2011

This is my favorite Texas Caviar recipe. It is very versatile - if you want a little more of something or want to add something extra, go right ahead! The first time I made it I felt it needed more tomatoes, but I didn't have any more; so, in a rush, I added a can of Ro-Tel. Now I always do. Also, I prefer frozen corn, straight from the bag, to canned. The cilantro and avocado are musts!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robs415 March 20, 2010

Delicious! I took another reviewer's suggestion and added lime juice. I also doubled the recipe and used one can of black beans and one can of black-eyed peas. I had bought an avocado to use, but because the party we were at was going on for such a long time I didn't end up using it. It was still delicious though! I also added 1/2 a jalapeno, minced. Very good! Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominick & Amanda November 22, 2009

I made this without the avocado (the one I had was under-ripe) and it was still great. When (not if!) I make it again, I will take the advice of the poster who substituted lime juice for half the vinegar, just to brighten it up a bit more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3Beans September 10, 2007
Texas Caviar