Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Texas Caviar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Texas Caviar

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2001

      I have made this for many parties and it is always gone in 10 minutes. My office begs me to bring this to gatherings. I know I am rating my own recipe but y''all have to try it - it is yum yum yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      Wow........this is good stuff!!!! I couln't wait for the flavors to meld, and tried some a soon as I made it. I followed Betty's suggestion and used 1/2 lime juice for the vinegar. Also used 1/2 chili oil for the olive oil (omiting the hot sauce)and since I didn't have any white corn, used 1/2 can of yellow corn. Thanks Babs for posting this wonderful recipe, I could make a meal just out of this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      Yep...this lasted about 10 min. and my friends fought over the last of it. Some don't like food really hot, so I reduced the hot sauce to 1 tsp. I chose this recipe last-minute, and I didn't have an avocado, but next time I'll add it. (My neighbor brought this to a party recently, but hers was bland by comparison) Really good stuff!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      Was good and used as a salad but needs something more, possibly jalapeno or more hot sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      Really yummy - one of my husband's faves so we have it often. I use some red onion in place of the green onion as it lasts a bit better in the left overs. I like to top up any leftovers with more of whatever there is to keep it going over a few days. I prefer black beans and I use Tabasco liberally, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      I keep meaning to rate this recipe. We absolute devour this stuff. I can't keep this around because we all love it so much. I have had different variations of Texas Caviar, but this one is the very best one by far. We prefer to use black beans over the black eyed peas. I rinse and drain the beans and corn. For the hot sauce, I use Cholula Brand. Watch out...it's addicting to eat with Tostito Scoops!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      I loved it! I made it with black-eyed peas, yellow corn and some unnamed (but ripe) tomatoes. I also had to use Tabasco instead of the preferred hot sauce. I also added some thinly sliced cucumber, just because I wanted to use it up. This is really really good. I look forward to making it many times. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      This is my favorite Texas Caviar recipe. It is very versatile - if you want a little more of something or want to add something extra, go right ahead! The first time I made it I felt it needed more tomatoes, but I didn't have any more; so, in a rush, I added a can of Ro-Tel. Now I always do. Also, I prefer frozen corn, straight from the bag, to canned. The cilantro and avocado are musts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Delicious! I took another reviewer's suggestion and added lime juice. I also doubled the recipe and used one can of black beans and one can of black-eyed peas. I had bought an avocado to use, but because the party we were at was going on for such a long time I didn't end up using it. It was still delicious though! I also added 1/2 a jalapeno, minced. Very good! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      I made this without the avocado (the one I had was under-ripe) and it was still great. When (not if!) I make it again, I will take the advice of the poster who substituted lime juice for half the vinegar, just to brighten it up a bit more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      This is better than good. I just posted it as our #1 most favorite recipe on the zaar forum; someone asked for our most favorite of favorites.. You win Girl. Babs... this is such a keeper. Everytime I serve it, I had better have my computer hooked up to a printer, cause... everyone wants a copy. We use yellow corn instead of white and use black-eyed instead of black. Thanks. Maryanne in Az

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      Great recipe! I made this to accompany Texas Spaghetti (Texas Spaghetti)I used black beans, even though I think a true Texan (I am a transplant) would probably say that black-eyed peas should be used). The only change I made was to add a bit more vinegar and a bit more hot sauce, but that strictly for personal taste. Can't wait to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      I had to come to Zaar in the MIDDLE of a party and print recipes out for 10 friends. I thought they were going to go nuts over this dish! I love it as it is a refreshing change from the typical "chip and dip" usually offered at a party. I've used the recipe SEVERAL times now and each time, I get requests for this recipe. THANKS BABS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      delicious and refreshing! I did take the suggestion to replace half of the vinegar with lime juice. Also added a little red onion and reduced the hot sauce a tad to suit my taste. Got lots of compliments on it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2004

      This is the best of the Texas Caviar recipes here and is good but being an old Texas gal I did have to make a few changes which I think makes a great recipe a little better. I double the recipe and use a can of each bean and two cans of shoe peg corn. Add a fresh chili pepper minced with the garlic and oil. Substitute fresh lime juice for 1/2 the vinegar. If you like smoky hot flavors add chioplte chili powder. Add about a cup of chopped red onion with the other vegetables. I make this a day ahead if I have a busy party prep day and add the avocado right before I serve it. Babs I have used a few of your recipes and your are a great cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      Loved this recipe! We had it for New Years day and it was fantastic. Followed the recipe exactly with one exception. I added 2 tsp of cumin to the mix. We all loved this and will be making this OFTEN!! Yummmm!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      A hit at my dinner party last night. I didn't have an avocado, so I omitted it, and everything still tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2002

      I have made this several times for parties-people eat it up in about five minutes!! It's easy to make and really yummy!! Great with any meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Texas Caviar

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 340.2
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    37%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 90.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 14.2 g
    56%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites