Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Texas Beef Skillet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Texas Beef Skillet

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2002

      This is a quick recipe to fix and above all very tastey. Everyone in the family liked it. I like the green chilis in this recipe. My daughter wanted more rice in it. You should be able to add another 1/2 cup rice and some water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2014

      This was great! I wasn't sure if quick cooking rice meant Minute Rice, so I cooked 1/2 cup rice separately and added it in. Also, I used pinto beans for kidney; which was just personal preference. I carried a portion to my 94 year old Canadian born neighbor and she thought it was super! Just a simple, homey meal. Karen, thank you again for another winning recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      I made with rotel tomatoes, was a bit spicy for the hubby. Had to add sour cream to tone it down. Must say it is my kind of dish, especially with the addition of corn and another 1/2 cup of rice. Makes quite a lot, will freeze for later use. Wish I had bought tortillas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      This is a great one-dish meal that came together quickly and pleased the entire family. I made some changes based on what I had in the kitchen at the time: 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef and a little extra chili powder, but no cumin or green chiles. It wasn't very spicy that way, but it was still tasty and definitely a dish I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      YUM! I made this with a can of Rotel tomatoes & green chilies instead of separate cans, and didn't have the bell peppers so skipped that. Also used shredded cheddar instead of American cheese. And doubled the rice when I saw other comments. VERY GOOD meal and really satisfied our craving for Tex-Mex, as well as only using one pan (cast iron skillet for us). Great recipe, Thanks! ~TJ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      This was not as good as I thought it would be. I used ground turkey, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. I felt it needed more rice to be a real one-dish meal; instead, DH & I wrapped the mixture in tortillas & topped with cheese & lettuce -- it was tasty, but it wasn't what I had expected. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      This was really good. My husband loved it. He's not a big eater and he went back for seconds. That almost never happens even when he really loves something. I added my water with the meat, garlic and onions because my meat was already cooked. I didn't have any beans to add but I would be willing to try them the next time I make it. I didn't have quick cooking rice and added 3 cups of hot cooked rice. I forgot the peppers and cut the cumin and chili powder to 1t. each because my kids don't do spicy. My daughter thought it was still to spicy. I added sour cream on top. My husband thinks that this would be good in a tortilla but he'll eat it anyway he can get it. Thanks Karen for a fast, easy, last minute dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      whatever you do...Do not use anything other than ground beef for this!!! i like the flavor a lot but i used a nice cut of beef and cut it into chunks and it came out very tough, even though i tried to let it cook to get soft. oh well...i will try again with ground beef. other wise...good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      This was really good and easy! I loved being able to cook the rice in the same pan instead of having to cook it separately. I did have to cook it a bit longer than 20 minutes because I used regular rice, but it turned out just fine. I was hesitant about adding the can of chili peppers because I'm an absolute wuss about spicy food, but I closed my eyes and dumped 'em in anyways. Guess what!! It wasn't too hot at all! I used a heaping 3/4 cup of shredded mild cheddar that I needed to use and we both added more cheese at the table, because, well, you can never have too much cheese! Also used more garlic for the same reason! Quick, easy, only uses one pan and tastes yummy. What's not to like? Thank you Karen for a recipe that puts dinner on the table on the nights when I don't really feel like cooking. Served it with some white corn tortillas I heated up in the oven then buttered.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2006

      Absolutely wonderful! Full of flavor, easy to fix, and EVERYONE will eat it, my 8 and 3 yr old nieces and my 18 month old daughter. I added the frozen corn, a bit more bell pepper, a little extra rice and had to separate it to add jalapenos for the adults, thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      This is very easy and tastey meal. It is heavy and satisfying! I used black beans instead of kidney beans, because I prefer their lighter flavor! Both my kids loved it. Good stuff, thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      I love this recipe! My dad used to make it for us when I was a kid. He has since passed and I was whishing I could make it for my kids but couldn't fine it anywhere, until now! Thanks Karen for giving me a piece of my childhood back!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      This is a really tasey meal. We like our food spicey, so I also added 4 oz. can of chopped jalapenos. It made enough for two meals, so I didn't put the cheese on until it was on the plates and put in the microwave to melt the cheese before topping with the corn chips. Reheated it for lunch the next day and it was even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Texas Beef Skillet

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.0
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    34%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 264.7 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 22.4 g
    44%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    American cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes