16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good- exactly what I was looking for. Turned out delicious, though I would cut back on the sugar next time as they were a bit sweet.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stonecoldcrazy August 08, 2009

Excellent recipe! I didn't have buttermilk, vinegar or shortening but wanted to try these and didn't want to wait to go to the grocery store. I used "I can't believe it's not butter" instead of shortening and I used 1/2 c sour cream and added the remaining milk to make 1 cup. then added the last 1 cup of milk. As far as the dough being sticky, just keep adding flour a bit at a time until it's not sticky anymore(depending on the weather ie...humidity, rain etc...) The dough is very light and airy and I just pat it out and didn't roll it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cdnnrth July 23, 2009

These are perfect when you are craving homemade yeast rolls but don't have time to let them raise. A cross between a biscuit and a roll. My mom made these for years and when I got married I carried on the tradition. I also use this dough to make fried apple turnovers! Just pinch it off,roll it out, add the filling and fry the turnovers!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom November 16, 2008

I loved these!!! I made one batch in the morning and I the evening I baked 10 biscuits. After they cooled I split them and filled them with ham and cheese, wrapped them and placed them in the freezer. The ones I made for dinner were awesome, and I still have dough left for a few more dinners! Thanks for posting Mama

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J September 20, 2008

I made these this evening. I was alittle confused as to where to put the shortening. But, I did mix it in the biscuits along with extra flour because they were so sticky. I cooked them in an iron skillet in the oven. Turned out very fluffy. I did have to cook them alittle longer and the tops didn't brown as I had hoped. Next time I will cut back on the sugar. Still a very good biscuit and I will be making them again. Just to mention I used the milk and vinegar as I had no buttermilk. Thanks for sharing. ~ barefoot

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv December 28, 2011

These were some of the best biscuits I've ever made. So light and fluffy with a perfect texture. Other than using butter for the shortening, I made this recipe as written. I cut the butter into the flour mixture before adding the liquid. I love the concept of having fresh dough in the fridge so whenever I want a couple of biscuits for dinner, they are right there. Much better than the canned or frozen. I'm sure to keep this around for good. Thanks so much for sharing Mama. Made for I Recommend Tag Game

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ November 15, 2008

This was a cinch to make. DH asked how I got my biscuits to rise (as I usually have a problem with it in high altitude). I added just slightly more baking powder and a smidge more milk to adjust for the high altitude. Although it looked bad in a ziplock bag in the bottom of the fridge, it was easy, less clean up, and delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mulligan February 24, 2008

I read the review so I cut back on the sugar.
So here is a true confession review... I forgot the shortening. I remembered it after I was at work. when I got home I set the dough on the counter and let it come to room temp. Then I worked the shortening in with my hands. It was a mess! It was sticky and I thought this is never going to work. I put the dough in the garage because its that cold here and the next day I took out half, rolled it out, cut into circles and baked. EVERYONE and I mean
EVERYONE! loved them. They came out just fine. In fact they wanted more. I had a huge crowd of 15. This recipe is a new go to!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassyfras October 29, 2012

As others have stated...sticky dough...had to add 1 1/2 c. more flour, more for rolling out. Mine did not rise like the pic either. The flavor is good and I like the idea of having dough ready in the fridge so I will make again but maybe cut the amount of milk rather than adding so much more flour.
Ok, after the dough chilled overnight, baking at 425 in a hot iron skillet they looked more like the pic and actually tasted better. Great for left over ham.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marym758 December 30, 2010

The end result was good, but the dough was WAY too sticky and I had to add 2 extra cups of flour. Great taste when you cook them in a cast iron skillet in the oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beavers1000 November 14, 2010
Texas Angel Biscuits - OAMC - Drop or Roll Out