Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tex-mex Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tex-mex Rice

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2010

      I have been making this for a while. I changed it up a bit, and I love it.
      For the salsa, I use 1/2 cup Medium Pace Picante Sauce. I omit the carrots, use 1/2 cup of frozen corn, about 1/3 cup black beans (its gives the rice GREAT color! otherwise I think it looks quite boring) I add about a tablespoon or so of lime juice. I also add about 1 - 2 teaspoons of minced garlic.
      About it not being done after 20 min... I bring it up to a boil once I add the broth, salsa, corn and beans. Then I turn it down to a simmer. It is usually done after 15 min, sometimes 20 (depending on the stove I'm using)

      I either use it as a side dish for Garlic Lime Fajitas, or Pace 2 Step Chicken, its great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      Just had to add some comments as we've been making this for awhile now - I leave the garlic in (adds mor flavor), using a GOOD salsa is key (we prefer homemade) AND this is the most important part- USE BROWN RICE - it makes it sooooooo good! My hubby is not a brown rice sort of guy (neither is his family) they all raved about this rice - Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      I used brown rice and precooked 1 cup before frying. I also added 1/2 cup salsa. It was excellent but a little salty. You might want to try sodium reduced broth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      Very good! A new go-to side dish! I minced the garlic and kept it in the pot. Also browned the rice before adding liquids. I was going to add my thawed home-frozen corn at the very end, but I decided to serve it separately. Hubby really likes this! Oh, I did cut the recipe in half to serve 2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      Quick and easy -- pairs great with a Mexican casserole dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      I made this exactly to recipe and it was fantastic. I'll be making this one often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      Made this for dinner tonight as a quick side. I had all the ingredients on hand and it worked in a jiffy when our dinner plans to grill out were ruined by the heavy rains. It was easy enough to make, but a little bland. Next time I won't discard the garlic and may add some chopped peppers or rotel tomatoes. Everyone ate it, however DD only gave it 3 stars and said she would rather have me make my Spanish rice next time. DH gave it four stars and is taking the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      I love this recipe!! It really tastes like authentic Tex-Mex!!! You can add other veggies besides corn!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      Very good. I sauteed garlic and onion in the oil and did not discard. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      I live in Houston, Texas so I know exactly what Tex-Mex rice should taste like and this fits the bill pretty closely! I followed the recipe exactly and added in frozen corn. It is somewhat bland, but most of the tex-mex rice I have eaten at restaurants is the same way and that is how I enjoy it. I made this along with "Enchilada Casserole" and it really made a good dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      I used granulated garlic powder, chicken bouillon for the broth, canned vegetables & canned Mexican seasoned tomatoes making this "pantry friendly." Still tasted great & easy to make. This is the best tasting Mexican rice that I've cooked at home. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      Excellent rice dish - diced a green bell pepper and added with the garlic to brown, used a spicy sweet corn salsa, 1/4 c. peas and carrots and a 1/4 c. corn - all frozen - came out great!!!!! Definitely on my top 3 rice dish list!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Made this for Let's P-A-R-T-Y tag game and my Mexican menu...Wonderful! I did use 2 minced cloves of garlic, about 1/2 cup mild salsa, juice from half a squeezed lime and about 1/2 cup of frozen corn and let them all come to a boil then simmer for 20-25 minutes. (As a previous reviewer did) Thank you for a dish that will be going in to my Favorites 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

    • on March 14, 2010

      I made it to go with enchilada casserole. It went great with it. It had great color, great flavor. And it was super easy. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      This was very good, and easy. My family really enjoyed it. I used frozen peas and corn in it. Yummy, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      The family enjoyed this rice. Much better than the boxed stuff. I thought that it could use more seasoning, so I may try to jazz it up next time. I omitted the corn, but kept everything else as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Very easy to make, and very flavorful. My family loved this rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      This is great (cheap and easy)! Will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This was good.Next time I will increase the salsa to 1/2 or 3/4 cup for more flavor,as I thought it was a little bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tex-mex Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (133 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 177.0
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    26%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 295.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites