67 Reviews

I have been making this for a while. I changed it up a bit, and I love it.
For the salsa, I use 1/2 cup Medium Pace Picante Sauce. I omit the carrots, use 1/2 cup of frozen corn, about 1/3 cup black beans (its gives the rice GREAT color! otherwise I think it looks quite boring) I add about a tablespoon or so of lime juice. I also add about 1 - 2 teaspoons of minced garlic.
About it not being done after 20 min... I bring it up to a boil once I add the broth, salsa, corn and beans. Then I turn it down to a simmer. It is usually done after 15 min, sometimes 20 (depending on the stove I'm using)

I either use it as a side dish for Garlic Lime Fajitas, or Pace 2 Step Chicken, its great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sicklidae July 19, 2010

Just had to add some comments as we've been making this for awhile now - I leave the garlic in (adds mor flavor), using a GOOD salsa is key (we prefer homemade) AND this is the most important part- USE BROWN RICE - it makes it sooooooo good! My hubby is not a brown rice sort of guy (neither is his family) they all raved about this rice - Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker September 19, 2005

I live in Houston, Texas so I know exactly what Tex-Mex rice should taste like and this fits the bill pretty closely! I followed the recipe exactly and added in frozen corn. It is somewhat bland, but most of the tex-mex rice I have eaten at restaurants is the same way and that is how I enjoy it. I made this along with "Enchilada Casserole" and it really made a good dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephanieNS October 04, 2011

I used brown rice and precooked 1 cup before frying. I also added 1/2 cup salsa. It was excellent but a little salty. You might want to try sodium reduced broth.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skvanleeuwen January 30, 2007

Very good! A new go-to side dish! I minced the garlic and kept it in the pot. Also browned the rice before adding liquids. I was going to add my thawed home-frozen corn at the very end, but I decided to serve it separately. Hubby really likes this! Oh, I did cut the recipe in half to serve 2.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn August 31, 2013

Quick and easy -- pairs great with a Mexican casserole dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkNMomma August 06, 2013

I made this exactly to recipe and it was fantastic. I'll be making this one often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choco chip April 06, 2013

Made this for dinner tonight as a quick side. I had all the ingredients on hand and it worked in a jiffy when our dinner plans to grill out were ruined by the heavy rains. It was easy enough to make, but a little bland. Next time I won't discard the garlic and may add some chopped peppers or rotel tomatoes. Everyone ate it, however DD only gave it 3 stars and said she would rather have me make my Spanish rice next time. DH gave it four stars and is taking the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom September 17, 2012

I love this recipe!! It really tastes like authentic Tex-Mex!!! You can add other veggies besides corn!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dblouin February 01, 2012

Very good. I sauteed garlic and onion in the oil and did not discard. I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanaJoy! November 19, 2011
Tex-mex Rice