9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Extremely good! I made this for a church potluck (served cold) and it was a hit. I used red bell pepper and broiled it for the last 5 minutes to blacken it a little. Thanks for posting this wonderful and unique meatloaf recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Literary Mom June 22, 2003

This was my first time making a mexican-type meatloaf and it turned out so well! I took another reviewer's recommendation to cut back on the salt and decided to substitute a bit of taco seasoning instead of the salt, cumin, and chili powder which was a perfect flavor! I also didn't have quick oats, so I ground up some old-fashioned oats and cut back to 3 eggs and it wasn't too heavy. I also added a cup of shredded mexi-blend cheese. The ketchup got mixed in with the rest of it since I didn't read thoroughly, but the little loaves were really were great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace-AK November 10, 2009

Who ever said meatloaf is supposed to sliced nicely? Ya shape it into a loaf to cook, so it's a meatloaf :) This one was good but I wasn't crazy about the consistency with the quick oats. It made it kind of heavy. I might lighten it up next time using bread instead, but on the whole it was good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Miss Cheffie September 20, 2008

Great meatloaf...doesn't taste like just a hamburger. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Popme123 May 16, 2005

Very tasty meatloaf with a nice little bite. We enjoyed it very much, but it did not slice well, tends to fall apart; the taste is worth it though. I would make it again and maybe add another egg to help bind it. Thanks for sharing a good one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf April 06, 2005

I was looking for a meatloaf recipe that was a bit different so decided to try this one. I was not disappointed. It was very moist, and in the words of my Fiance, "Umm, Tasty!". I followed the recipe exactly but left out the salt as I thought a Tablespoon would be way too much. It did need a little salt so will add about a teaspoon next time I try it. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love2Experiment March 10, 2005

I'm always looking around for different ways to make meatloaf and this one was great. We ate it for dinner and still have plenty for sandwiches. Really Good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosemary Chapman March 02, 2005

I tried this recipe when looking for a meat loaf that didn't taste like meat. DH and I loved it! I made the salsa myself with roma tomatoes, green peppers and green onions, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. It was great hot, but the left overs were a bit salty. I will cut back the salt next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DiabeticMom March 02, 2005

Wonderful !!! I divided it between 2 loaf pans and then after cooking, froze one. What was left over made great meatloaf sandwiches the next day !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki G. September 17, 2003
Tex Mex Meatloaf