Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tex-Mex Egg Rolls With Creamy Cilantro Dipping Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tex-Mex Egg Rolls With Creamy Cilantro Dipping Sauce

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2004

      The flavor in these is great, and I found that they freeze really well. I thawed them for a few minutes in the microwave, then popped them in the toaster oven till they were crispy again. I didn't care for the dipping sauce, but I think there might be an ingredient or two missing. Edited: I made more filling than I had wrappers for, and had the leftover in the fridge. It was a cold, damp evening, so I heated some frozen turkey broth left over from the smoked T'giving turkey. I added this filling, diced chicken and a splash of white wine. Made an awesome soup!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      Disclaimer: I made these, but from the original Southern Living recipe, not this one. I made them with hot sausage. I made the rice and put together the meat mixture (minus the rice and cheese) the night before cooking them. I also made the dipping sauce the night before. Then, I assembled the filling and started making the egg rolls. I had never fried anything in my entire cooking experience, but this went ok. I was able to make 33 eggrolls from the recipe, and they were not skinny. I thought that the dipping sauce was too runny, I would omit the sour cream next time and add some salt - it just needed something. My grocery store doesn't carry the diced Mexican tomatoes, so I used diced with chilies that I could find. Bottom line - everyone LOVED these egg rolls, totally raved about them, and I'm going to make them again for a pot luck I'm attending this weekend.<br/>Update 9/24 - I've made these 4 more times, and even though they do take some time, they are totally worth it. I have nailed the dipping sauce - I only use 1 can of Rotel tomatoes, and no sour cream, and I add about 1 tsp of sea salt. It's perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      I made these using chorizo sausage and they really hit the spot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Loved this recipe Sharon!! I veganized this and it turned out wonderful!! I was going to use vegan cheese shreds but after reading the reviews & some said it was good without I just added some nutritional yeast instead. We did try some with corn and then some in corn tortillas as well. All were great! DH said he was expecting them to be a bit spicier so next time I'll use the hot Rotel (I used the original). I think this would also be great with the Mexican Cilantro & Lime Rotel. Thanks for another keeper Sharon!! Napped for Veg*n Swap 25!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      I only made the sauce, but man, was it good. I used reduced fat sour cream and no scallions. I was looking for a nice substitute for quacamole to go with my fajitas as my grocery store has been out of avocados for way too long! This hit the spot - very fresh tasting and yummy. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      These are amazing! I did forget to add the cheese and only put about a tablespoon into each wrapper after I noticed, but it didn't matter. I honestly don't think they would have needed the cheese at all! I wish I could give it more stars, this will in regular rotation here for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      After making this again we decided to give it 4 stars. As mom, it was easier to make them tonight. Not sure if it was because we had the filling ready and chilling in the fridge or if it was because when using the spring roll wrappers we double wrapped them so they were a little more sturdy. Thanks again for a great recipe. We couldn't agree on how many stars to give this one. It ranged from 3 to 5. We used spring roll wrappers, and low fat versions of the cheese and sour cream because that is what we had on hand. I cut the amount of green onions because the ones we had were pretty large. We all enjoyed the rolls, some liked the sauce, some felt the sauce was ok but too strong and the kids didn't like the sauce at all and used ranch dressing instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      These were pretty good. They didn't freeze very well though :( They turned into total mush. The sauce is really very good though!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      These are REALLY GOOD, especially the first night. Make sure you pile on the dipping sauce! I tried to freeze them then thaw them in the microwave and they were a bit soggy. Another reviewer had another method but I couldn't remember how they did it. I ate them soggy, they were that good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      This was the first recipe I made from this site. I picked a winner. I used the chorizo sausage and it was excellent. We also loved the dipping sauce. Even my picky 5-year old ate them for supper and lunch the next day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      3/17/07 - We made these again adding refried beans and corn. They were SO good, the refried beans really added some smoothness to it that was wonderful. Super yummy! 8/6/06 -We were looking for something similar to the SouthWest eggrolls you can get at Chili's and these are REALLY close. They are fabulous made just how they are. We used real sausage. Next time we might stir in some refried beans to make the filling a little smoother, maybe a can of corn... I LOVED the dip, but we might try Salsa Ranch dip one time too... this looks like it could be a very versatile recipe - it was also our first attempt at using eggroll wraps!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      I used hamburger in these instead of the soy chorizo, but everything else I followed exactly. Very yummy! Just the right amount of spice made it very kid friendly too. The creamy cilantro dipping sauce was great...I'm wondering what other things I could dip in it? Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2006

      This was great!! My husband LOVED it!!! We used real chorizo and wrapped them in corn tortillas instead of egg roll wrappers. Very flavorful!! It has already been requested a second time!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2005

      Excellent recipe! I followed the recipe exactly except for subbing smoked chicken breast for the sausage. These are so good! A word of caution on the dipping sauce though...it is extremely garlicky. I loved it, but some might find it too strong. Thanks for sharing a recipe I will use often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      Rita L (see my other recipe reviews) posted Feb 11, 2004 Very Very GOOD!I used pepper jack cheese. I used real chorizos. I replaced the can tomatoes with salsa. I served it with salsa verde. Made with lots of cilantro. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tex-Mex Egg Rolls With Creamy Cilantro Dipping Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (2359 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.8
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    26%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 20.9 mg
    6%
    Sodium 392.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    yellow rice

    soy chorizo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites