Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tex-Mex Cornbread Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tex-Mex Cornbread Salad

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2002

      This was so unusual that I just had to try it. It was wonderful! I fixed it with a BBQ pork dinner and the flavors went together so well. Thanks for posting this one, more people ought to try it - especially with summer BBQs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2002

      Fixed this with a mexican dish. Oh my goodness. Quite likely one of the best salads I have ever fixed. I didn't even eat any of the mexican entree, I just ate this. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      Every time I serve this, I get asked for the recipe. It is better the next day and I like to use the small grape tomatoes in it, as they are sweeter. Also, I have used the mixed Mexican cheese, shredded, several times and it was "fantastically" received. This is very rich and a little bit goes a very long way. Use a large ice cream scoop (for a round serving) or an empty tuna can to make a "stacked salad mold"; place it on a bed of lettuce with extra salsa and guacamole on the side. Great luncheon dish! Thanks so much for the terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      I made this for a neighborhood ladies luncheon last week. It was SO good! Everyone was asking for the recipe even before they tasted it because it looked so pretty layered in the bowl. I prepared it as shown except for using Red Bell Pepper instead of Green (just because I had one on hand). I personally think it could use more cheese, but that's just me. I gave some of the leftovers to my SIL and she called last night and said they heated them up and put more salsa on top and it tasted great! This could be very versatile. I can see why this has received 5 stars across the board. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      This was easy to make & great to eat! I doubled the cornbread, sour cream & salsa and used 8 oz. of bottled ranch dressing in place of the mayo & mix. Next time, I will make it a day in advance to allow the cornbread to absorb more liquid. Thanks for a great addition to my salad recipe collection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      I have used a similar recipe in the past, but i like this one because it has more of each ingredient. You need more, because this is the first dish to go and every party I take it to. AND, I USUALLY USE IT AS A DIP W/TORTILLA CHIPS! I have made this several times and it is a tedious dish to make. Here are some tips. I have used regular onion instead (i like better, has more flavor) and I use two packages of precooked (cook a little longer to get nice and crispy for easier crumbling). Don't be afraid to use all the corn -it seems like a lot and I am always tempted not to use it all, but it gives the dip a sweet contrast -it is essential to the dish. And yes, I also use more cheese - like double. One more thing - I usually use a 9 X 13 and this dish will fill it to the very top, it is much easier to use something larger.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I used my homemade cornbread recipe (made in 8x 8 inch pan); cubed and layered as instructed. I also used half black beans & half kidney beans. This was very good. I think people would've been more inclinded to try it if I had put it in a clear dish vs. a bowl that you couldn't see through. Everyone that had it liked it a lot, some went back for seconds and asked for the recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Add me to the list of 5 star reviews. My family loved it and I'm certain this will be in my recipe box for summer parties and get togethers. The flavors keep you coming back for more. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I brought this to my company potluck and got rave reviews! I made it exactly as written and it turned out perfectly. It made so much, we had some left over, and it did fine for a day or two after. It was delicious, thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Wonderful and different salad! I doubled the cornbread and used half again as much of the dressing, but thought it was a little too much dressing so will go back to the dressing as written next time. This salad would work, I think, with grilled chicken or even taco-seasoned ground beef for a main dish salad. It got rave reviews at a potluck. Makes a LOT.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      This was very good, I think the longer it sits the better it tastes. Made exactly as directed, wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for a great salad recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      This was a wonderful blend of flavors. We really enjoyed it; if it tastes better the next day like some reviewers have said, I can't wait.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      We loved this. As someone else said, it was even better the next day. Will be making this again for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Made for Easter & it was a big hit & recipe was ask for. I used Mexican Cornbread & left out the jalapeno's as some could not eat them. I topped with monterey jack & sharp cheddar also. But we love the hot taste & flavor so will not leave them out in the future. Made the day before & it was absolutely delious.Made it in a clear bowl & it is so colorful & makes a pretty presentation. Snooks #428599

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      Very nice accompaniment to Grilled Tequila Salmon #57297. Complimented the salmon nicely. Easy to make and pretty presentation. Good after 4 hours but even better the next day. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      This was delicious. My toddlers and bean-hating husband devoured their servings. Thank you for a wonderful recipe I am sure to make again and again this summer!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      Impressed! I downsized to 4 servings so I could do practice run before serving company. I used pinto beans, the tomato mixture is perfect ( heat level fine, used colored pepper instead of green) and when making the dressing consider that dry ranch dressing has 3 tablespoons worth in 16 oz packet, and dressing is also excellent. The hardest part is deciding what clear container to showcase in. Lol! Colorful too. Might need more cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      This salad was a hit at my Church potluck tonight!!! It got rave reviews. I cheated and added pico de gallo (combo of tomatoes, onion, jalapeno and cilantro) vs. chopping the veggies. Otherwise, made as directed with the exception that I left out the green bell pepper (my preference). Served this salad in my punch/trifle bowl and it made a beautiful presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      FREAKING AMAZING! Delicious as is, but I am sure some some pretty awesome things could be added to this salad if someone felt creative...cilantro, olives, diced cooked chicken...

      Also, the dressing is a great dip for corn chips. I love this salad so much I wish I was eating it right now. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      I have made this twice already and it has been fantastic both times! I use a mexican cornbread mix, pinto beans, fresh jalapeno and pickled jalapeno, packaged pre cooked bacon, light sour cream, light mayo and reduced fat cheese. It looks beautiful and tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tex-Mex Cornbread Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (310 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 586.4
     
    Calories from Fat 253
    43%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 45.1 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1067.9 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.4 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 12.5 g
    50%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 20.2 g
    40%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dry ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites