14 Reviews

This is a great recipe, Rita! It is avocado season on Guam so I'm always looking for new ways to use avocado instead of the standard guacamole. I cut thin slices of a corn tortilla, fried them until crisp then sprinkled them with sea salt and ancho chili powder then added this layer before the dressing. I used the Jalapeno Tequila Green Hot Sauce from Blair's Heat Collection. I served this with grilled chicken breasts and my DH ended up dicing his chicken and adding it to the salad. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss_treated1 June 05, 2012

Unfortunately I don't own a trifle bowl or similar but I did use all the ingredients
and layered them in rows on a platter. Very pretty presentation!
Made fresh salsa and this is not only very satisfying and pretty salad but healthy, too!
I replaced some of the black beans with kidney beans and garbanzos. Fresh cotija from
a local source. Reviewed for Veg Tag/February.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 23, 2012

This was a great salad for a potluck. It looked fantastic and the addition of the avocado and salsa verde gave it a different(and tasty) spin from the usual layered salads. Will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinamongirl January 01, 2012

Love this salad for a meal on hot evening. Where I live don't have green salsa, or black beans so I sub kidney beans and normal salsa... taste is still great! Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AussieFaith March 23, 2011

This salad looks beautiful and is bursting with flavour. I can't think of a thing I would change. I used jarred roasted peppers, red kidney beans and grated cheddar cheese> 4 of us ate most of it and I enjoyed the little there was leftover for my lunch at work today. I think the flavours were even better after a night in the fridge.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS October 04, 2009

I don't know what was the best part of this recipe, the ease of making, how pretty it looked or the great taste. This is one I'll be making again and again Loved it all

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 July 05, 2015

Oh my goodness this is so pretty looking and it is also so good for you. Everyone commented on this when we had some on Friday. Hmmmm hmmm Hmmm.

From Emilia Misiura

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emilia Misiura January 31, 2013

Loved this, Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio November 26, 2009

Delicioso! I was pressed for time, so just threw this together, in a single serving size and it came out great. I didn't bother to mix anything, just layered and sprinkled. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threeovens August 08, 2009

Perhaps I shouldn't rate this using stars as, for health reasons only, I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Substitutions were: I used jarred roasted red peppers, dried cilantro, lite sour cream (try plain yogurt, instead?), Miracle Whip salad dressing, & left off the olives. Very nice, indeed! Now, I just need a pretty trifle dish to show this off!!! Made & shared with grateful friends on 5/8/09. Thanks Rita, I will make this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marusha May 17, 2009
Tex Mex 7 Layer Salad