Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tex Mex 7 Layer Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tex Mex 7 Layer Salad

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2012

      This is a great recipe, Rita! It is avocado season on Guam so I'm always looking for new ways to use avocado instead of the standard guacamole. I cut thin slices of a corn tortilla, fried them until crisp then sprinkled them with sea salt and ancho chili powder then added this layer before the dressing. I used the Jalapeno Tequila Green Hot Sauce from Blair's Heat Collection. I served this with grilled chicken breasts and my DH ended up dicing his chicken and adding it to the salad. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      Unfortunately I don't own a trifle bowl or similar but I did use all the ingredients
      and layered them in rows on a platter. Very pretty presentation!
      Made fresh salsa and this is not only very satisfying and pretty salad but healthy, too!
      I replaced some of the black beans with kidney beans and garbanzos. Fresh cotija from
      a local source. Reviewed for Veg Tag/February.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      This was a great salad for a potluck. It looked fantastic and the addition of the avocado and salsa verde gave it a different(and tasty) spin from the usual layered salads. Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Love this salad for a meal on hot evening. Where I live don't have green salsa, or black beans so I sub kidney beans and normal salsa... taste is still great! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      This salad looks beautiful and is bursting with flavour. I can't think of a thing I would change. I used jarred roasted peppers, red kidney beans and grated cheddar cheese> 4 of us ate most of it and I enjoyed the little there was leftover for my lunch at work today. I think the flavours were even better after a night in the fridge.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      Oh my goodness this is so pretty looking and it is also so good for you. Everyone commented on this when we had some on Friday. Hmmmm hmmm Hmmm.

      From Emilia Misiura

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Loved this, Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Delicioso! I was pressed for time, so just threw this together, in a single serving size and it came out great. I didn't bother to mix anything, just layered and sprinkled. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Perhaps I shouldn't rate this using stars as, for health reasons only, I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Substitutions were: I used jarred roasted red peppers, dried cilantro, lite sour cream (try plain yogurt, instead?), Miracle Whip salad dressing, & left off the olives. Very nice, indeed! Now, I just need a pretty trifle dish to show this off!!! Made & shared with grateful friends on 5/8/09. Thanks Rita, I will make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This is one fantastic salad. I made it for lunch one day to serve 4 people. There was only enough left over for 1 person the next day. I used a green salsa for the green chili salsa and added a splash of hot sauce and dried cilantro as that is what I had on hand. I will be making this again in the near future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      I think I just found me a new favorite salad recipe! So yummy and flavorful. Love all the different textures as you dig down through the salad. This is a real winner here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      DELISH! Is it possible??? A salad better than your regular 7-layer salad??!!?? This was so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      This is one of my new favorite salads. I thought I liked the regular 7 layer until I tried this. This is a meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tex Mex 7 Layer Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.3
     
    Calories from Fat 183
    55%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 443.0 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    35%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    roasted red peppers

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites