Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Territorial Chile Posole Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Territorial Chile Posole Stew

    Average Rating:

    6 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-6 of 6

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2009

      Wonderful posole I cannot stand hominy, But I love the dried 'posole' kernels followed exactly only change I used pork shoulder great stuff

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      Original review-1/13/2010
      Deliciously spicy, and very warming on a cold, dreary January night. I could not find dried posole, so used canned. Along with the fresh New Mexico chili, I added a chopped, dried New Mexico chili (red) for color (and the seeds for heat). Will try to find the dried hominy for next time. Served with low fat lime tortilla chips. Made for Soup is On in the diabetic forum.

      Update-1/8/2011
      I have made this a few times now, and thanks to Paula for sending me the dried hominy to try. I realized I had never come back here to report that she is right, it IS much better than the canned. Thanks, Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Very , very good. Made just as written. I will add tomatoes next time. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Soooo good! I used a 28 ounce can and an additonal 14 ounce can of white hominy & added a 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes along with the additional broth..& 2 t freshly ground cumin seed. As the crockpot was in use I put the stew in my dutch oven & baked for 1 1/2 hrs at 350 degrees F. 1/2 way through cooking I added an additional cup of julienned long red Aztec peppers (from Canada via Costco LOL). Man. oh man, this is great! DH hung around as I divied the leftovers up - some for me to take on contract trip & some for him. Thank you PaulaG, we will be making this one many times through the winter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      We haven't even had dinner yet but I've been sampling this all afternoon and it's WONDERFUL. I cut the recipe back to serve two ...more like four. Only thing I added to the recipe was one large carrot, and that was more for color and a little cumin! I used frozen hominy and did not have any problem with it cooking. Thanks for a great recipe Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      This recipe has a lot of potential, excellent flavor, but I don't think it worked quite as intended. I had simmered the posole for 20 min. or so the night before, to remove the pedicels. Even after 8 hrs. in the crockpot, the kernels were still too hard. But after it stood overnight, it started to "flower". I cooked it another 4 or 5 hours, and it started to get to where it needed to be. I also doubled the amount of meat, and added a bit more broth. Next time, I think I will soak the corn overnight, to see if the stew can be done in the indicated time. The flavors are wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Territorial Chile Posole Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (533 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 262.9
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    40%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 56.0 mg
    18%
    Sodium 1566.3 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 25.8 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried corn kernels

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites