32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Barbara, this is the best teriyaki marinade I have found also! I marinated our rib eye steaks for about 4-5 hours and grilled them outside. I saved the marinade and boiled it to use as a dipping sauce and it was excellent! I can't wait to try this same marinade on chicken! Simply delicious! Thank you, Barbara, for an excellent supper!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev September 23, 2002

The only change I made was to use olive oil instead of canola oil, otherwise I made it exactly as given. It was GREAT! This gets a permanent place near the front of my cookbook. I will never need to buy teriyaki marinade again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rev. Roy April 13, 2004

This IS a wonderful marinade. The tomato juice and brown sugar add interesting flavours to this marinade. DH made this recipe this afternoon. He had to substitute olive oil for the canola, because that's what we had on hand. The only other variation was that he mixed it all in a food processor. Why? I don't know, but it did work out well, as the garlic was well blended with the rest of the marinade. It tasted so good, he said he ate about 5 big spoonfuls before actually marinating some turkey tenderloins. As you suggested, we boiled down the remainder of the marinade, using some for a basting sauce and the rest as a dipping sauce. It was excellent. Thank you so much for this recipe. I can see this working well on beef, pork, chicken and turkey. We will be enjoying this recipe all summer.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha June 11, 2003

the best ever .. marinade steak for 24 hours ,then cook it on coal .. wow everything blend so well together... thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobybaloony August 15, 2009

I saw this in another chef's Top 20 cookbook. We tried this on venison steaks. I marinaded it for 8 hours. The flavor is wonderful. But next time, I would reduce the oil, as it seemed too oily - it kept separating. When using it to pour over the steaks, the oil sat on top. Will use again though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead January 07, 2009

What a great recipe. I love the flavor and it's so easy to make. I have tried it on all types of meat, chicken, beef, pork etc. and I always have enough left over for dipping. My only suggestion is to cut down on the sugar as it's has very sweet flavor. Other than that I love this marinade! Nice! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Nonie39 May 27, 2008

This is a fabulous marinade. Last night I was searching for one as I wanted to serve something different than the same ol chicken on the B-B-Q. After reading the 4 other reveiws I decided on this one. I pounded chicken breast until thin and cut into long strips. I also peeled and deveined some large shrimp. Marinaded them for about an hour and put them on skewers and cooked on the grill, not too long. They were OUT OF THIS WORLD! Thank you very much for this recipe. MDFurever

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MDFurever March 13, 2004

This made a VERY good marinade. I just had to try it when I saw that it had tomato juice in it of all things. WONDERFUL tasting sauce! I made a double batch and marinated boneless chicken breasts for 4 hours in half of the marinade and used the other half to baste and to serve with the cooked chicken. Delicious! One of my new found favorites! Thank you for the exceptional recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaydensMommy22 September 23, 2003

This is such a great marinade for beef. The first time I used it, I did as you suggested and used it on London broil. Gave that piece of meat a delicious flavor. The next time, we tried it on burgers. Again, a wonderful teriyaki flavor that is so much better than the bottled stuff. I am sure if would be good on other meats--look forward to trying on chicken/pork. Thanks Barbara.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michaela June 27, 2003

This was wonderful! Very easy, simple ingredients. I used moose meat, marinaded it for 6 hours, cooked the meat in the sauce, then thickened with a bit of flour and served it over brown rice with roasted asparagus on the side. The kids and husband loved it! It would work great for venison, it would mask the wild flavour of it I'm sure! I'll be making it again. Only extra ingredient I added was some fresh grated ginger and next time I think I'll add some red chili flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reneemarr May 20, 2014
Teriyaki Marinade