50 Reviews

Very good, we added minced fresh ginger and one tsp of garlic, as well as used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 3/4 cup of soy sauce (but added an extra 1/4 cup of water) based on the reviews here to reduce the saltiness and sweetness. It was perfect. The kids liked it, as did I! A great way to make chicken other than in the oven. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mdumes April 26, 2012

Good! I boiled everything but the drumsticks and ginger (didn't use the ginger) and then poured the sauce over the (frozen)drumsticks into my slow cooker and let them cook all day. I hac doubled the sauce but I probably didn't need to - it seemed to be plenty and then some.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarlovinmom November 17, 2009

This was so delicious I could slap someone. The sauce never thickened for me though, so my advice is to add cornstarch if it doesn't thicken. This made a lot of teriyaki sauce so you can probably use more drumsticks. The second time I made this I seasoned the drumsticks and baked them in the oven, then basted them with the sauce. This was even better because the skin was nice and crispy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shaena T. April 18, 2015

too much brown sugar. next time I'll sub pineapple juice for 1/2 the water. throw some garlic powder or minced garlic wit hthe ginger. used grated ginger. I used thighs and it was tasty, but a little sweet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grampy1939 May 06, 2013

I found it to be too salty. I don't know if I did something wrong, since no one else had a problem. I halved the recipe because I was cooking 6 drumsticks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jneen April 18, 2011

I marinated the drumsticks in a regular thin teriyaki sauce before cooking. That seemed to be a good choice... They turned out nice, juicy, and flavorful on the stove top! I just hate dealing with the oil splatter that inevitably occurs when you fry anything. My only real complaint was I thought the homemade recipe for the teriyaki sauce was too sweet for our liking. Maybe I just packed my brown sugar too much before adding it?? I don't know.. but I would suggest everyone taste the sauce as you go along so you make sure it's not too sweet (or too salty)... everyone is different.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi T. December 20, 2010

Just thought I would drop you a line to let you know this recipe is exceptionaly good. The only thing I changed in it was 1/2 cup of soy instead of 1 cup of soy. I have made teriyaki sauce for years, but never one quite so easy nor quite as tasty. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Country Cook December 14, 2010

Yum! Wanted quick teriyaki chicken and didn't have the sauce. Whipped this up in no time flat - having all the ingredients on hand helped. I boiled and it thickened beautifully. I will never buy bottled again when it's this ridiculously easy to make - plus the easy ratios make it so that I can make just the amount I want. Perfect!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PBF January 18, 2010

I love this recipe! My husband, who is my biggest critic when it comes to cooking loved it too. I skinned the drumsticks to help cut the fat and used low sodium soy sauce. Next time I will try chicken breast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie_Que June 08, 2009

These were so good. Sticky flavorful sauce. I added some garlic to this recipe - will make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ana May 21, 2016
Teriyaki Chicken Drumsticks (Teriyaki)