48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good, we added minced fresh ginger and one tsp of garlic, as well as used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 3/4 cup of soy sauce (but added an extra 1/4 cup of water) based on the reviews here to reduce the saltiness and sweetness. It was perfect. The kids liked it, as did I! A great way to make chicken other than in the oven. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mdumes April 26, 2012

Good! I boiled everything but the drumsticks and ginger (didn't use the ginger) and then poured the sauce over the (frozen)drumsticks into my slow cooker and let them cook all day. I hac doubled the sauce but I probably didn't need to - it seemed to be plenty and then some.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarlovinmom November 17, 2009

too much brown sugar. next time I'll sub pineapple juice for 1/2 the water. throw some garlic powder or minced garlic wit hthe ginger. used grated ginger. I used thighs and it was tasty, but a little sweet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grampy1939 May 06, 2013

I found it to be too salty. I don't know if I did something wrong, since no one else had a problem. I halved the recipe because I was cooking 6 drumsticks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jneen April 18, 2011

Very easy and yummy! Now that I know how to do this, I can build from this recipe such as add things to make it more a little sweet and spicy. BTW, I used low sodium soy sauce and did not think it was too salty. If anything it was a little sweet but very favorable. I had this for Sunday dinner with jasmine rice and a frozen bag of Asian steamed veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cattylove2001 November 23, 2014

Too salty and too sweet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
czajna August 20, 2013

This is so good!! My picky 13 yr old loved it too. I made it as directed, with the exception of using "less sodium" soy sauce, and I added 3 cloves of minced garlic. I used fresh ginger that I grated into the sauce, because I keep some in my freezer. It took a while for my sauce to thicken up, I ended up cooking mine for about 50 mins. I didn't find it too salty or too sweet, I thought it was just right, very good, and very easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jigglewiggles January 15, 2013

This is a very fine recipe. I've used bone-in, skin-on, chicken thighs, and then have used the chicken & the sauce for fried rice dishes, to stretch the meat for a large meal. Excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christiedkj June 01, 2012

This recipe is awesome. My husband and I love it. It's easy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pittgirl1222 November 13, 2011

Very good.. Since there are 6 of us, I doubled the recipe and added a small amount of maple syrup which caused the sauce to glaze the chicken and added some extra flavoring. Next time will be adding some garlic to spice it up a bit. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mr.judesmommy September 20, 2011
Teriyaki Chicken Drumsticks (Teriyaki)