14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

one of the best recipes from the zaar. I could not find real crabmeat in my store so i used the faux crabmeat by louis rich company. i also did not have a full cup of plain breadcrumbs on hand so i used 1/2 plain and 1/2 herb garlic crumbs. after placing the flounder in a glass baking dish as directed, i poured more melted butter over the top of the filets and sprinkled with a little paprika. didnt notice the bake at 375 so i baked at 350. uncovered after 35 minutes and then baked an additional 10 mins or so until the rest of the dinner was done. WOW! this was some great tasting fish. ITS A KEEPER FOR SURE.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxO'Wine January 27, 2003

Great recipe, easy to make. I used red snapper instead of flounder, tasted wonderful. Will make again!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathryn March 08, 2003

This was terrific! I made it with tilapia (which was on sale at my fish market). The filets were too big to cook double, and not quite thick enough to make a pocket, so I just piled the stuffing on top and baked as directed. It was beautiful looking, and delicious.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne Siegel February 24, 2003

Tgirl, this is wonderful! I used some leftover shrimp and a can of crabmeat. This recipe is very easy to put together and the stuffing is SO tasty. I served this with broccoli and boiled, new red potatoes. I will make this one again! Thanks for a great recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz January 30, 2003

This was FANTASTIC!! I used a whole large flounder and pocketed the stuffing, cooked just about 15 minutes longer, and I looked like a CHEF!!! It was wonderful! I used canned tiny shrimp & canned crab meat due to time..no one knew or cared!! Thanks!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janis Brooks_411092911 January 02, 2004

Bravo!! This recipe is Absolutely Fabulous! A quality worthy of serving to company! I prepared as directed making no subsitutions. I will definitely be making this recipe again! Thank you so much for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 16, 2003

I loved this stuffing. I think I should have seasoned the fillets more, but this was a nice change from the usual baked fish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea September 29, 2012

We loved this, but I was surprised to find it just a little bit dry--some reviewers complained that it was soggy! Maybe a lot depends on the fish you use. I see that BoxO'Wine poured butter over it...next time I might pour over a combination of butter, lemon juice, and white wine--I'd guess no more than 1/2 cup of liquid. I'll let you know how it turns out, or if you try it first let me know!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim C. January 27, 2009

This was just OK for us. I found it was pretty soggy on the bottom when I went to serve it. Must have been the liquid from the fish??? We weren't crazy about the garlic in this recipe either. It was missing something, but not quite sure what. Thanks for sharing with us though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Its Me Busy Bee May 07, 2008

For some reason there was a large amount of liquid in the pan after baking the first time. I used fresh fish and instead of shrimp I used lobster meat I bought at Sam's club. I thought overall it had a bitter after taste, but was like by DH. I spinkled parmesan cheese over the stuffing before I put remaining fish on top. I think Maybe I don't like flounder- maybe will try with another type of fish next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawn C March 22, 2007
Teresa's Stuffed Flounder