11 Reviews

This recipe has so many variations but the one and only 'original' recipe is the best. First, never use bacon bits. You must fry up bacon and crumble it. And only use Hellmanns dressing (no substitutes) with the sugar and milk. This salad is amazing when you make it like the original. And the original never had onions or peas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheryl S. December 31, 2013

This was a very nice and easy to put together salad. I didn't much care for the dressing as I thought it was way to sweet for us. I did add a little onion but other than that made as directed. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ October 09, 2009

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! I ate at Tequilaberry's many years ago and have NEVER forgotten the salad. This tastes just like it. I am so glad I came across this. I will make it often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gdmajoni April 08, 2009

Made a huge batch of this for a large dinner party. Everyone loved the salad. I did cut the amount of salad dressing I made down otherwise I would have had quite a bit of leftover dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef ladyinblue3 February 25, 2008

Great easy, refreshing salad. Just loved it. I did quarter the recipe for the 2 of us. Thanks....adding to my favs!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef KLC May 24, 2007

This is such a wounderful and easy recipe that, sadly, was made famous from a resaurant that is now closed. I do make a few changes, I omit the miracle whip and just use 1 cup of mayo and cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup because I only used half of the salad ingredients and I just prefer it made with mayo only. It's best if eaten the day it's made as it doesn't store really well. Soooo glad to see the recipe here on Zaar. Thank You for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTpockets November 12, 2006

We used to live in Brooklyn Park, Minnesota and would drive across the bridge to Tequilaberry's in Coon Rapids often. LOVED the salad and never thought to look online for the recipe. Imagine my happy surprise when I stumbled across this one! It is delicious and just like I remembered! Like finding an old friend! YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP November 02, 2006

I have made this salad several times and am just now reviewing it. Why? I thought I'd already reviewed it. This is really tasty and easy. I served it with BBQ ribs and a baked potato. This went with the ribs very well. Kinda sweet like a coleslaw but savory with the bacon & cheese. My husband now requests this salad and that is quite a compliment!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CASunshine September 16, 2005

I made this yesterday, I hve ate at tequillaberry's in the past and have missed it since it has closed, I love this recipe it tastes just like the salad there, I will be making this for xmas and most likely many time more, thank you very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IMAONEINAMILLION November 29, 2004

excellent salad for all ages!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kim kopen April 25, 2004
Tequillaberry Salad