67 Reviews

Made this the other night and it was delicious! I used a 2 and a half pound roast and about 3 cups of water Very simple to make. Thanks!

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth1457 April 20, 2002

Absolutely delicious. 3 1/2 lb. roast, 5 cups of water, and it cooked in about 3 - 3.5 hours.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shanna021 February 01, 2003

I used this recipe today and put it in the oven early this morning and when we got home from church it was perfect. All of our guests just couldn't get enough of it. My pork loin was over six pounds and 5 cups of water was plenty. I could hardly keep it from falling apart to serve it on a plate. This was so easy and absolutely scrumptious!! Bon appetite.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Pauley January 19, 2003

At first I thought this was nothing really special, then when cold and sliced days later I found to be moist, flaverful change my mind!!! Good and easy one to keep on file!!!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rem86 August 16, 2002

Who knew. This recipe turned a bargain loin roast into a really special treat. I seasoned as written adding just a light sprinkling of garlic powder. Was a little over 2.5lbs, I used about 2-1/2 cups water. And it was done in just at 2 hours. I did cook it in a small 3Qt. dutch oven. It turned out soooo good. Reduced the water/juices and thickened with corn starch. Served with baked sweet potatoes and salad. TY so much for posting this recipe. Can't belive it took me so long to find it!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peg629 December 26, 2009

This is such a good idea. It produces the most tender, juicy pork roast. There's no way I would have come up with this idea without this recipe, and I think it's a very versatile jumping off point. I loved the rosemary with the pork. I took other reviewers' advice and popped in half a sliced onion, a couple crushed cloves of garlic, and chicken broth in place of half the water. I often find pork roast comes out very tough, or nearly flavorless, even from the slow cooker. This was so delicious, tender, and juicy. I have no idea if leftovers would have been as good as the first shot, though I suspect they would be. My family devoured this entire roast in one sitting. It seriously took all my willpower to actually get it onto the serving plate. I could have eaten it whole, standing over the skillet. Thanks for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yellow_apple30 January 11, 2012

This was outstanding!! I used fresh rosemary and added a little onion and 2 large cloves of garlic. My roast was a little smaller so I used 3 cups of water. I used a dutch oven and cooked it for 3 hours. It was perfectly done, tender and juicy. I strained the pan juices and made gravy. I served it with roasted potatoes, carrots, and onions that I cooked on a cookie sheet along with the meat for about 1 1/2 hours. Thanks MizzNezz for sharing your great recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY July 30, 2010

What a fantastic and simple recipe! I felt like I made a traditional meal my grandmother would have made! I had a pork loin roast that I had no idea what to do with...This was the perfect answer. I had a 2.5lb roast and used 3 Cups of water. The house smelled wonderful the entire afternoon. Served with mashed potatoes and made gravy from the juice. Delicious! My 1 1/2 year old couldn't get enough! Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheKatsiki February 14, 2010

My favorite part of a pork roast is its gravy; the end result using the water from this recipe is top-notch. Please heed other reviewers' advice about cooking times. I had a 2 1/2 lb. roast, and it was done after about 2 hours. Sitting in a warm oven for about an hour didn't hurt it one bit either. I also followed someone else's idea about letting the roast marinate beforehand in olive oil, garlic and oregano. Thanks for a wonderfully aromatic and great tasting recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers August 29, 2009

Darn, I can't click those stars more than once. !! I took this out of the oven just about 15 minutes ago and have already "tasted" everything. It is so good.
I left a little juice in the roasting pan,but poured the rest into my skillet. I sliced the roast and returned it to the leftover juices and sealed up again to stay warm. The slices were perfect....but so tender that I think I will put the knives back into the drawer when I serve.
I cooked some sliced carrots, yellow zucchini, green pepper, and 4 stalks of asparagus in the juice...(all needed to be used up). When they were cooked, I removed them and made gravy with the juices. I am serving with some small red potatoes.
Everything turned out perfectly and I'm so happy you posted this. Thank you MizzNezz.
Donna

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 May 01, 2011
Tender Roast Loin Of Pork