12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The USDA says that cooking beef from frozen is OK, but NEVER in a crock pot. The temp is so low that the cold of the meat prevents it from getting to a safe temperature fast enough to prevent food poisoning.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nanjo54 November 02, 2009

This was delicious, it was very easy and came out moist and tender. I only had a 3lb. roast so just used 1 can of soup, I also added about 3 cloves of garlic rustically chopped and about 1/4c. of cream sherry. The gravy was delicous and I rubbed the soup mix on the roast and it gave it a great flavor. Thank you for this delicious and easy recipe, it is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria March 28, 2007

I did something very similar to this but with Coca-cola, which I kept reading on other recipe sites. And my roast was not frozen. I did sliced fresh mushrooms first on the bottom and sides, then some sliced onions. Then the roast. Then poured Coke, then onion soup mix, then a large can of cream of mushroom soup. I did it 2 hours on high then 4 more on low. Could have cooked even longer but still very good. Even better the next day! I think sliced green pepper would be great added too. Experiment...it's fun!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alohamu February 26, 2007

10 Stars for this delicious recipe. My husband made it since I had to work on Saturday. The flavor was so good and the meat soooo tender. We couldn't quit ohhhhing and ahhhhing over this. My husband did add 3 cloves of garlic,we love garlic. Will be making this often. Thanks for a such a terrific and easy recipie, trishypie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slickchick December 17, 2006

We thought this recipe was just wonderful tasting. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn May 01, 2006

As long as you make sure the entire pot is heated above 140 for 15 min (beef cook temp is really only 135 but potatoes are 140) you should be ok. (It's when cooling food you have to be careful... Especially if it's cooked first, but "ready to eat" cold. Like guspacho soup or Chicken (for chicken salad). Heat kills bacteria, medium temp range grows it, freezing hinders growth and spread but; sometimes preserves bacteria and sometimes kills it. chili in some restaurants is actually made from week old hotdog and hamburger extras. Recooking the food will kill the bacteria and reset the shelf life of the old meats.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 16, 2015

Here's the link from the USDA detailing the risk of cooking frozen meat in the crock pot; basically you don't want to take hours to reach a bacteria-killing temperature: http://www.fsis.usda.gov/Fact_Sheets/Focus_On_Slow_Cooker_Safety/index.asp

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
treehuggingmom December 28, 2012

The four things I did different from the original recipe was>
1) I used a roast already thawed.
2) I used one can of cream of mushroom soup instead of two ( it really depends on just how much gravy you want).
3) Also about halfway into the cooking process I put one bay leaf in.
4) I used fresh mushrooms instead of out of a can.

This is a very simple recipe to make ....and delicious!
Along with the roast.... I cooked a bake potato cut it open and added a little butter, then I took the juice or gravy from the crock pot (after cooking the roast of course) and drizzle it on the potato ( wow it was good )!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackDnls76 December 12, 2010

How totally easy and very good! I used chuck roast and had never cooked a roast in the frozen state in a crock. I let mine cook a bit longer than stated but would follow your guidelines next time because it will fall apart if you over cook the meat and then you will need a spoon to eat it! The gravy was very tasty and the meat was like a pot roast. I skipped the mushrooms because I didn't have any and it was still good. Served with rice and salad. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala January 22, 2009

Really good, although i did not cook from frozen. I used a smaller roast so only used 1 can of soup and i added a little water (about half the soup can). I cooked for 2 hours on low then about 5/6 on high, comes out perfect! Big enough for 4 people. Cook roast potatoes on the side for a wonderful cold day meal! Enjoy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Kerry* January 22, 2009
Tender Crock Pot Roast Beef