Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tender Crock Pot Roast Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tender Crock Pot Roast Beef

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2009

      The USDA says that cooking beef from frozen is OK, but NEVER in a crock pot. The temp is so low that the cold of the meat prevents it from getting to a safe temperature fast enough to prevent food poisoning.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      This was delicious, it was very easy and came out moist and tender. I only had a 3lb. roast so just used 1 can of soup, I also added about 3 cloves of garlic rustically chopped and about 1/4c. of cream sherry. The gravy was delicous and I rubbed the soup mix on the roast and it gave it a great flavor. Thank you for this delicious and easy recipe, it is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      I did something very similar to this but with Coca-cola, which I kept reading on other recipe sites. And my roast was not frozen. I did sliced fresh mushrooms first on the bottom and sides, then some sliced onions. Then the roast. Then poured Coke, then onion soup mix, then a large can of cream of mushroom soup. I did it 2 hours on high then 4 more on low. Could have cooked even longer but still very good. Even better the next day! I think sliced green pepper would be great added too. Experiment...it's fun!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      10 Stars for this delicious recipe. My husband made it since I had to work on Saturday. The flavor was so good and the meat soooo tender. We couldn't quit ohhhhing and ahhhhing over this. My husband did add 3 cloves of garlic,we love garlic. Will be making this often. Thanks for a such a terrific and easy recipie, trishypie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      We thought this recipe was just wonderful tasting. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      Here's the link from the USDA detailing the risk of cooking frozen meat in the crock pot; basically you don't want to take hours to reach a bacteria-killing temperature: http://www.fsis.usda.gov/Fact_Sheets/Focus_On_Slow_Cooker_Safety/index.asp

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      The four things I did different from the original recipe was>
      1) I used a roast already thawed.
      2) I used one can of cream of mushroom soup instead of two ( it really depends on just how much gravy you want).
      3) Also about halfway into the cooking process I put one bay leaf in.
      4) I used fresh mushrooms instead of out of a can.

      This is a very simple recipe to make ....and delicious!
      Along with the roast.... I cooked a bake potato cut it open and added a little butter, then I took the juice or gravy from the crock pot (after cooking the roast of course) and drizzle it on the potato ( wow it was good )!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      How totally easy and very good! I used chuck roast and had never cooked a roast in the frozen state in a crock. I let mine cook a bit longer than stated but would follow your guidelines next time because it will fall apart if you over cook the meat and then you will need a spoon to eat it! The gravy was very tasty and the meat was like a pot roast. I skipped the mushrooms because I didn't have any and it was still good. Served with rice and salad. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Really good, although i did not cook from frozen. I used a smaller roast so only used 1 can of soup and i added a little water (about half the soup can). I cooked for 2 hours on low then about 5/6 on high, comes out perfect! Big enough for 4 people. Cook roast potatoes on the side for a wonderful cold day meal! Enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      I've made this twice now and both times it could not have been better. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      I made this for Pick a Chef Fall 2005. I am always on the lookout for easy crockpot meals and this one seemed like a winner. I am not usually a roast beef fan but this roast was truly delicious. It was moist and tender and the gravy was so good. The only change that I made was to use fresh mushrooms instead of canned. Thanks for posting and it was fun to try 3 of your recipes! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tender Crock Pot Roast Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (3291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 6391.1
     
    Calories from Fat 4305
    67%
    Total Fat 478.3 g
    735%
    Saturated Fat 187.6 g
    938%
    Cholesterol 1564.9 mg
    521%
    Sodium 5016.8 mg
    209%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.6 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 19.3 g
    77%
    Protein 436.3 g
    872%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes