10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very good. The pastry really takes it to the next level. There was so much filling that I decided to use a 13x9 pan and put a top crust only on this pot pie. It filled up the whole pan! We ate half the first night and last night we had leftovers and while the pie was a bit drier the second night it was just as good. This is going in my favorites file!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus January 20, 2009

This crust is incredible, the second time I made it I used rosemary too and WOW! This is my go to crust for all my pot pies changing herbs to what ever I am feeling at the moment even adding some garlic or onion powder now and then. Thank you, Wildflour, for making me look like a rock star.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skarimom from Idaho April 01, 2012

Simply delicious!! We really enjoyed this and the leftovers were great too!! Thank you for another great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beansy March 20, 2010

I'm rating this 5 stars for the crust. I used it for the chicken pot pie Delicious Chicken Pot Pie (omitted the thyme and pepper) and have made it with left over pot roast in the past. I don't have a food processor so I had done it the old fashion way in the past. This time when I made the chicken pot pie used the kitchenaid. I cubed the butter and had the mixer going with the wire wisk at the lowest speed. As soon as the butter started to break up I increased the speed, increasing as the butter got smaller until I got a fine crumb. Then I switch to a dough hook when I added the water slowly until a ball formed. First time I used the kitchenaid to make the crust and it turned out perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rienna January 26, 2009

I left out the corn and string beans and added peas in with the carrots and I used 8 oz. of fresh sliced mushrooms. Delicious flaky crust which tasted great! This is to be made again and again here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookTillUDrop December 23, 2008

The pastry was to die for! I used a little fresh thyme, fresh chives, & rosemary. I also added fresh rosemary & fresh thyme to the filling. I used blanched fresh green beans, and substituted frozen peas for the corn. It was quite easy to make and tasted amazing. I made individual pies in ramekins and froze what we didn't eat. Thanks for a great posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
conniecooks June 01, 2007

I was very surprised with how easy this dish came together! The pastry came out a little dry, but I think that's due to the low humidity in my climate. I also used a homemade beef gravy that I had previously frozen, but I think I needed to thicken it up more because the inside of the pie was a little runny. Otherwise this was a hit with the whole family. Thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama_Jennie May 29, 2007

Reviewing this recipe for the World Tour III - and this is going straight into my favorite recipe cookbook! This was a fantastic meal, everyone loved it, everyone had seconds! I thought it was just perfect, my husband likes spicy and he would like me to kick it up a notch by adding a pepper, but that is still no complaint! I can see a fight for the leftovers in the near future. Highest recommendations!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thymestudio May 25, 2007

Amazing!! tastes as good as it looks! I love the flavors, the worcestershire sauce is a nice addition. Pastry is equally good. You explain each step very well. Only change I made was I didnt have corn, I put a cup of peas. This is a recipe I plan on making again and soon, Thanks for posting a great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee September 27, 2006
Tender Beef Pot Pie W/Thyme and Pepper Pastry