Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tempura Batter for Fish and Vegetables Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tempura Batter for Fish and Vegetables

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2013

      I hate to do this as a first review on this site, but it is not anything like a Tempura Batter. We had a Dinner party party last night, with 10 guests. Like always, sometimes stupid me, decided to try a new recipe. Lucky for us for the Tempura, decided to make a test batch first, before I did the 4 lbs of Large shrimp, and the Veggies in it. I should have looked at the pics first, not tempura. Cooked a couple of shrimp and a few veggies, started over with a real tempura batter.<br/><br/>The batter was more like a batter you would use if your making something like sweet and sour pork or chicken. Actually it might work very well for that. I followed the recipe to a tee, didn't understand the egg or the cornstarch, but did it anyway.<br/><br/>I do have a really good tempura batter, that I use a couple of times a month, and never fails.<br/><br/>Anyway the dinner came out great, Tempura, Steak, Rice, Fruit, and a few bottles of beer. I did save the batter until later and chopped a bunch of the veggies, some smaller shrimp I had added some spices and bean sprouts and made little pancakes out of them. They came out good. But all and all its a batter that is more suited to a chinese type meal than a japanese.<br/><br/>One other point, when you make tempura, make sure the oil is almost at the smoking point, and the batter is Ice cold, when you place a few pieces at a time in the oil. Also if you use really good fresh seafood and veggies, don't season the batter, let the natural flavors come through. The dipping sauces are for flavoriny if you need additional.<br/><br/>Sorry Karen,<br/><br/>Just didn't like it.<br/><br/>Peace Out,<br/><br/>Frank and Spanky

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Fantastic!! I made this for the kids for a birthday dinner. Everyone, including my husband who does not usually prefer his shrimp breaded, liked this as well as the steamed shrimp I made. Stayed on the shrimp great. I just rinsed them to thaw them and then patted them dry a little, not each individual shrimp and it stayed on every shrimp in the deep fryer. I already put it in my cookbook so I could find it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I used rice flour, only one egg white and only one TBSP of corn starch because the rice flour is pretty starchy as is. I'm making tempura for the third night in a row because this recipe is so good. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      It got soggy too quick, it was bland, not crispy enough, too. It is a good base recipe. I used a cold Heineken but followed everything else perfectly. I think for future use I'll add some seasoning to help it out (1 tsp. garlic, 0.5 tsp paprika OR replace salt with 1 tbsp. of Adobo complete seasoning or Lawry's seasoned salt).

      Regardless, I loved watching the egg yolk froth up when mixed with the beer, and having a similar effect when stirred into the flour. It's just a fun item to prepare. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      It was easy and I liked the flavor, unfortunately it turned soggy on me. By the time it was cool enough for you to eat it it was already soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      It was a little bit more prep work than I though but oh so darn worth it. The batter stayed on my smelt when I took it out of the batter and even after I dropped it into the deep fryer. Biting into it was like biting into a cloud, so light and airy. It tasted good hot and cold although it could have used a lot more salt in the batter. I chose to use the beer in mine. I made a half batch for 1lb. of smelt and had plenty left over. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      Fantastic recipe! Rivaled or exceeded the tempura we've had at many a local sushi joint. We're not big beer drinkers around here, so instead going out and buying beer or having bland batter, I used cold (not icy) water, a rounded 1/2 tsp brewers yeast, and 1/2 tsp chicken bullion. I also only used 1 egg white. The flavor was unreal. We enjoyed it on mushrooms, squash, carrots, and sliced jalapeƱos. The jalapeƱos were hands-down the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      This was very similar to what my husband makes for shrimp. I used the beer option which I really liked the flavor of. I think next time I would like to add a little bite to the batter which was a little on the bland side for the asparagus I used for this recipes. I think a little ground red pepper would be delicious for this. I'll use this one again and experiment with the spices to suit our taste. Thanks Karen for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      This batter was heavy, bland, and just not good. We wasted a huge batch of fresh green beans from the garden. :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      this batter turned out excellently. i do recommend using peanut oil for a nice golden color. i used vegetable oil and the finished product looked a bit too pale. tasted wonderful though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      excellent. I will be using this all the time now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Soggy. Soggy almost before I pulled the shrimp out of the oil. Don't know why there's eggs in this. Was disappointed so I used a recipe with no eggs and it wasn't soggy-which leads me to conclude that eggs make it soggy. Gross.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      This was great I used tapico flour instead of Cornstarch and added a pinch of baking soda since I did not use the beer. I about gave up on trying this after not understanding that the batter should be thick. I watched a cooking show about it and decided to give it another try. This also keep my house from smoking up when I bread and fry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      I did like this. I used ice water but next time I think I will try beer. I dipped the chicken in all purpose flour to make the batter stick and it worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      We used Jodid's suggestions to make a gluten-free batter and it was so delicious! For our wetter veggies, we dipped them lightly in dry rice flour before battering so the batter would stick better. We did oyster mushrooms, zucchini, eggplant, red pepper and jalapenos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      What a terrific batter!!!! We just had broccoli, cauliflower, zucchini, mushrooms and onion rings and everthing turned out perfectly. I held back on the salt per ColCadsMom's suggestion only using about half of what the recipe called for and used beer...EXCELLENT!!!! I love the consistency and by the way, I doubled the recipe and had no problems with it at all. Thanks, Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Great recipe, I battered and fried tofu (firm-style) and some broccoli. I forgot to add salt to the oil and it tasted just fine, but I did opt for the beer over water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      This batter was the best I've ever worked with! It was a little heavier than I was looking for, but that's probably my own fault, as I don't think I added quite enoudh water. But this batter stayed on my fresh vegetables wonderfully!! All in all, it was a big hit at my place. Next time I make it, I'll be more precise in my measurements when adding the water :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      After having Tempura Wahoo in the restaurant I wanted to try at home and found this recipe very close, next time I will use more seasoning for the fish, I also used beer. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      I needed a tempura batter tonight, preferably with beer, in a hurry! I have an old, beloved, and much-used recipe of my own, written in a cookery scrapbook, and could not find it. So I turned to Zaar. This was the one which suited me best. It's great, Karen!!! I used a popular light SA beer, and all I changed was that I used more cornstarch -- not a whole lot, but more than in the recipe, and as a result a little more beer. I used tiny zucchinis with the blossoms still on, thin slices of eggplant (brinjal, we call it!), and thick pieces of stem from Pak Choi. Worked a treat. I agree - do not overmix, not even when mixing in the beaten egg whites. Mine still had little egg white bits in the final mixture, and the batter popped up beautifully in the hot oil. I used my wok with maybe 2" of oil, as I dislike deep frying. I used wads of kitchen paper to drain the batches on. Lovely recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tempura Batter for Fish and Vegetables

    Serving Size: 1 (462 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 399.7
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    10%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 110.6 mg
    36%
    Sodium 860.4 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.0 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 15.0 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites