Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tempura Batter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tempura Batter

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2010

      YUM! It was exactly what I was looking for. I used it on skinless boneless thighs (cubed). Then, I coated the fried chicken pieces with General Tso's sauce. It was better than take out. My kids ate them plain dipped in ketchup and said it was better that fast food chicken nuggets. I only added a couple of tbsp of water to the batter. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      I always make the mistake of not writing this down. Whenever anything battered comes up, I come to this recipe and modify it accordingly (which is to say, I don't change much aside from flavor and spice).<br/><br/>It's the perfect base recipe. Now that I've got it linked here, I won't have to search for it again if I lose my recipe cards (which I always do -_- )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      This was really good and crispy! I did shrimp and onions! Everyone LOVED it! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      While this batter stuck well to our variety - Shrimp, Mushrooms, Zucchini, Red and Yellow Peppers, Sugar Snap Peas - this was just OK for us. DH enjoyed it more than I did but I found it to be a bit bland and quite heavy. We also had to add more water to get a good consistency. Think I'll keep looking for something a little lighter but thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      xxxxcelent!=my sowe love thisn said just like resturants,did 1" pieces fish,and did onion rings(if you use the large leeks,as alton brown says,doesnt weep and get soggy later like onions)-a great recipe!!!!!!!!!we loved this best breading yet!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Good taste, good texture. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used 1/2 cup water, but then it was too runny. So I added more cornstarch and it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      Excellent. Yes I agree with other reviews a 1/2 cup of water did the trick. Also addded 1/2 teaspoon of Old Bay Seasoning to dry ingredients to fry Sole filets and sprinkled with Lemon Pepper after. Turned out FANTASTIC! Thanks, Pressurecooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Pressurecooker, this is fantastic!! My husband is frying up all kinds of stuff..shrimp, clams, mushrooms, asparagus and onions.....IT IS SO GOOD!!! I should add, that what I've been able to taste is so good.......he's a hog, and isn't leaving much for me!! And yes, increase the water to 1/2 cup, and the recipe is gold!! Other than that, don't change a thing!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Very nice result but agree with others a little more water is required, I found that a tablespoon extra was enough to make dipping prawns possible but left it thick enough that it didn't fall off during cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      This is just what I was lookint for in a batter. I needed to add mor e water, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      I have to agree with many writing a review. The batter is TOO thick with the recommended amount of water. I doubled it and it was better. This batter does stick to the vegetables, particularly to peppers, which I've always had problems with. BUT overall, I'm still searching for a lighter batter. This seems heavier than what I've had in restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      We liked your easy and quick recipe. We did have to add another 1/4 Cup of water, though. And I also doubled the salt and pepper, but that's just to taste. The batter was heavier than we wanted but it was good. Thanks, pressurecooker, for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      Great batter, good texture and flavour. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      I liked this a lot. Has a cracker-y flavor to it. Had to add an additional 1/4 cup water and it needed a little more salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      This is the best Tempura mix I have ever used. Its even better than store bought Tempura mix. I use it for veggies and fish. Thank you!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2006

      very easy recipe. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      I've Made and used this professionally. It is really excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      This is basic corn starch recipe for tempura. Thanks this is what I was looking for to use up a box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tempura Batter

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.8
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    62%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 52.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 401.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites