Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tempeh with 40 cloves of garlic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tempeh with 40 cloves of garlic

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2003

      Yummy! I really didn't miss the chicken at all. This sort of reminded me of my Thanksgiving stuffing in it's flavor, but more sophisticated. I used tofu cubes, frozen, defrosted and squoze (is that a word?) the excess liquid out. Also skipped the bouquet garni and just dumped some thyme, parsley and celery leaves in... sorry! But just because I was too lazy to do that didn't cause any harm. I absolutely love this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

    • on December 19, 2010

      Really yummy, hearty, filling, and flavourful! This was my first recipe using tempeh, and I loved it. I don't know why some people say tempeh isn't good, cause this was just like a regular stew but vegan/vegetarian. Even my picky fiancee loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      This was a very good dish. Very flavorful and filling. I followed the recipe exactly and there is really nothing that I would do differently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      I wish I could add another 3/4 star but that is because I could only get baby bella's for mushrooms, so didn't have a good mix for the mushrooms. We also thought it had just a bit too much leek, perhaps just the white parts next time. But otherwise, this was wonderful. We're even freezing two containers for my DH to take for lunch. I also simmered the Tempeh for 10 minutes before browning it, which I did in two batches so it would have plenty of room in the pan. I served it with a small side of lentil pilaf which I'd made last week and had in the freezer. Can't wait to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

    • on November 25, 2007

      Delish! Made this for Thanksgiving as a veggie alternative to the turkey. I was the only veggie at the table, but everyone had some and it got rave reviews. I had never had the chicken dish, so I was not sure what to expect. It was more of a stew than I thought it was going to be, which was wonderful on top of mashed potatoes. Thanks for posting, I would make this again. It was the perfect dish to introduce tempeh to 8 die hard turkey eaters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      i liked this a lot but next time i will not cook the leeks until later. i found them too soft and the lovely green color was gone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2005

      This was absolutely delicious. I don't usually make dishes with loads of garlic on a weeknight, but I couldn't resist the sound of this one. It was worth it though. I'm going to have to make it for my workmates as a peace offering though, I think. I used tempeh, and it broke up a bit in the stew, so I'll chop it into larger chunks next time. I, too, didn't make the bouquet garni as I didn't have any twine and didn't want to duplicate the Bridget Jones Blue Soup fiasco. I served it over mashed potato and was in gastronomic heaven. If I hadn't filled myself up "taste testing", I would have had a second helping!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tempeh with 40 cloves of garlic

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 401.7
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    52%
    Total Fat 23.3 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 535.9 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 22.9 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites