Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tej (Ethiopian Honey Wine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tej (Ethiopian Honey Wine)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2013

      While this looks like a tasty wine drink, and even a quick approximation of mead, it is missing a vital component of Tej: Gesho. Tej is closer to an ale than most meads. Ales are made with sweet grain sugars and bitter hops to balance the sweetness. Tej is a honey wine made with gesho, the leaves and stems of and Ethiopian thorn bush. It's a bitter herb that counters some of the sweetness from the honey to create a more balanced and complex drink. Tej traditionally uses the wild yeast naturally found in the air of the person brewing it. It is also bottled while it is still fermenting, so the flavors continue to develop after bottling. This means that no two household's Tej, or even two indibidual bottles, will taste the same. Tej does happen to be an incredibly simple mead to brew. Most Tej is made in small batches on kitchen counters in Ethiopia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      I LOVE this recipe--always a big hit when I have the girls over.

      Check out my post on other white wine mixers @ http://trumi.net/conscientious-hedonism/white-wine-heaven-sweet-and-easy-make-mixers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      We made this with Rhine. It actually did taste alot like mead. We had it on a very hot day and it was wonderfully refreshing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      This was an experience in wine LOL! I thought it was pretty sweet, but of course it would be with the added honey. It was a fun addition to my African meal. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      Very good! I too like dry wines, but (rather surprisingly!) I really liked this! I did use dry white wine since that was what I had, made 1 serving (1 dl wine, 1 dl water, 2 teaspoons honey), and ended up with a lovely summer drink - the wine was not just "watered down" but made into a new smooth drink with the added flavour of honey. Thanks much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      I also decreased the water as another reviewer mentioned. DH drank his down (not much of a wine drinker) it was different, not bad just really different :))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      I too thought this was interesting...not normally something I would try as I like dry, not sweet, wines. I also cut back on the water :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      This was good . . probably been better if I'd had used a sweeter wine, but overall not bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      Interesting! I used white zin for this. I liked it much better when i decreased the water and increased the wine! I am SUCH a wino! Thanks for an interesting and tasty recipe Jessica!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      I picked this to make for ZWT because riesling is a personal favourite w/me & was mentioned as 1 of the wines to use. The outcome did not disappoint me, altho I confess I halved the water & honey to preserve more of the riesling flavour I like so much. This was a quick fix that I really enjoyed, but prob won’t do often as I like riesling so well as it is. Thx for posting this unique taste experience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      Mmm, this was really nice, and surprisingly refreshing with the honey in it. I served it REALLY cold

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tej (Ethiopian Honey Wine)

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 162.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 18.5 g
    74%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites