11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

While this looks like a tasty wine drink, and even a quick approximation of mead, it is missing a vital component of Tej: Gesho. Tej is closer to an ale than most meads. Ales are made with sweet grain sugars and bitter hops to balance the sweetness. Tej is a honey wine made with gesho, the leaves and stems of and Ethiopian thorn bush. It's a bitter herb that counters some of the sweetness from the honey to create a more balanced and complex drink. Tej traditionally uses the wild yeast naturally found in the air of the person brewing it. It is also bottled while it is still fermenting, so the flavors continue to develop after bottling. This means that no two household's Tej, or even two indibidual bottles, will taste the same. Tej does happen to be an incredibly simple mead to brew. Most Tej is made in small batches on kitchen counters in Ethiopia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hopelesst March 20, 2013

I LOVE this recipe--always a big hit when I have the girls over.

Check out my post on other white wine mixers @ http://trumi.net/conscientious-hedonism/white-wine-heaven-sweet-and-easy-make-mixers

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
livelya July 31, 2010

We made this with Rhine. It actually did taste alot like mead. We had it on a very hot day and it was wonderfully refreshing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana A. August 20, 2008

This was an experience in wine LOL! I thought it was pretty sweet, but of course it would be with the added honey. It was a fun addition to my African meal. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ July 01, 2006

Very good! I too like dry wines, but (rather surprisingly!) I really liked this! I did use dry white wine since that was what I had, made 1 serving (1 dl wine, 1 dl water, 2 teaspoons honey), and ended up with a lovely summer drink - the wine was not just "watered down" but made into a new smooth drink with the added flavour of honey. Thanks much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee June 30, 2006

I also decreased the water as another reviewer mentioned. DH drank his down (not much of a wine drinker) it was different, not bad just really different :))

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP June 30, 2006

I too thought this was interesting...not normally something I would try as I like dry, not sweet, wines. I also cut back on the water :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff June 29, 2006

This was good . . probably been better if I'd had used a sweeter wine, but overall not bad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench June 27, 2006

Interesting! I used white zin for this. I liked it much better when i decreased the water and increased the wine! I am SUCH a wino! Thanks for an interesting and tasty recipe Jessica!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) June 25, 2006

I picked this to make for ZWT because riesling is a personal favourite w/me & was mentioned as 1 of the wines to use. The outcome did not disappoint me, altho I confess I halved the water & honey to preserve more of the riesling flavour I like so much. This was a quick fix that I really enjoyed, but prob won’t do often as I like riesling so well as it is. Thx for posting this unique taste experience.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis June 21, 2006
Tej (Ethiopian Honey Wine)