Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Teeth Whitener Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Teeth Whitener

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2010

      I am a dental hygienist. Just a note of caution. Use seldom. The baking soda is an abrasive that is how it works to remove the stains, if used to often the baking soda wears on the gums and may cause recession, which exposes the root surfaces and causes sensitivity. This will not change the color of your natural teeth what it does: If you are a smoker, frequent coffee, tea, dark wine or dark pop user, these put a coating of stain on the teeth and the abrasive in the baking soda removes the stain but will not change the natural color of your teeth. This also goes for any OTC toothpastes that contain baking soda or claim to whiten. Not suggesting not to use just beware.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      Works great...got perfect teeth, but no life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2003

      You are right! It tastes like crap, but the first time I saw immediate results! Will be sharing this little health tip with a few folks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      After trying this, you do get used to the taste. I use it with pure Tea Tree Oil instead of Peppermint, as I am prone to mouth ulcers and this eso seems to work wonders for me. I personally stay away from real toothpaste because it contains Sodium Laurel Sulphite. This sudsing agent is in all things that "bubble", (eg: shampoo, bubble bath, soaps, toothpaste, laundry soap and even in some foods). The product, in it's pure form is toxic to the skin...it's commercial use is to de-grease airplanes!!! Check and you will find that this is usually the second ingredients in most washing products....even products from The Body Shop and Lush, who claim their products being all natural have SLS. So people who are sensitive to SLS may not know why their skin is so dry or itchy. If you are going make this paste daily, put the ingredients in easy mixing containers so that it is a snap to put together. Since I started making my own paste, my mouth ulcers are down...I have less colds and my general health is better. Your mouth and teeth are going to thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      Have been brushing with this from time to time for many years, minus the flavoring. It does work very well, as does plain baking soda mixed with a drop of water. It makes your teeth and mouth feel so squeaky clean! However, a small caution - my dentist recommended I not over use it; the abrasive action of the soda can eventually damage the enamel on your teeth, creating a much worse problem than discolored teeth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Tried this this morning and it does seem to have made my teeth shinier and they feel wonderfully clean. Not sure if they're brighter yet, but try it again in two weeks. I did learn something, I had no idea baking soda had salt in it! By the way, rinsing your mouth with hydrogen peroxide is the best way to get rid of cold sores on your tongue. Thanks for posting Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      I wanted to re-review this to say that I worked in a dental office and this is a very good method of cleaning. I would only be careful not to do it too often as Baking Soda can be very abrasive and may damage the tooth enamel over a long period of time. Certainly better and cheaper then the commercial whitening products though! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      A little tidbit about dental whitening. Carbamide peroxide breaks down into hydrogen peroxide over time. The reason some people experience tooth sensitivity to different whitening products (white strips, dental office whitening products) is because they temporarily dehydrate the teeth during the process. Once the process is complete, the teeth rehydrate over a couple of days and the sensitivity subsides. The paste mixture listed above may help with surface stains/discolorations, but is not effective on internal stains/discolorations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      I added a dab of toothpaste, that gives enough of a minty flavor to make it palatable. Love this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      For a quick whitener..this does the trick! I've heard not to use baking soda a lot, but periodically I like to use this to spruce up the ole smile!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      I tried this but without the mint added so I tend to brush with toothpaste after brushing with this. I did not see a difference the first time I used it but after using it about 3 times (different days) I saw a noticeable difference in the shade of my teeth. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      I don't like to give bad reviews, so I will post a warning only because it happened to me. If you have sensitive gums be CAREFUL!! I used this and it burned my bottom gums so bad that I had to use a prescribed mouth rinse. It also left a mark on a small spot on my upper gums!! I did not realize my gums were so sensitive until I used this. The plus to it though..I think it really was working, but I won't be using it anymore do to the pain that it caused

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2004

      This was great ! I hate to say it but I drink coffee and smoke and this got the stains off my teeth. Made me feel like I just left the dentist. I will definately be using this every few weeks ! Thank you !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2004

      My 12 yr old DD tried this on the weekend and after 2 brushings we could see immediate results. Was wondering about the hydrogen peroxide but just read an article today on teeth whitening and the dental bleaches use carbamide peroxide which cause some sensitivity and other probs and not as effective as hydrogen peroxide. Crest White Strips highly recommended at $60 2 week supply and it contains hydrogen peroxide so now I can rest assured this recipe is safe for our family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      It works great. I would recommend this to anyone trying to get whiter teeth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2003

      Works great, makes your teeth feel like you had a cleaning at the dentist. Does taste bad, but worth it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      This does seem to make a difference! I added a drop each of peppermint and tea tree essential oil. Still doesn't taste great, but I love the results and will use it every day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      I agree, use caution. My Mother's recipe was Iodized salt, baking soda and Hydrogine Peroxide. Dip the tooth brush into the peroxide, dip into the salt, dip into the baking soda, then brush very gently. <br/><br/>For those of you who have veneer's? It doesn't work on them, at all. Those will have to be whited, by a professional. Those whitening agents, such as Crest, etc...they will not whiten you're veneers. Just so you know. I'm a smoker..and I have veneer's. My bottem (natural) teeth are so much yellower than the veneer's that I have on the top. And I have tried everything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      Easy, felt good, smelled good, worked nicely. Thanks Rita! Made for Zaar Stars game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      I use this weekly and it works really well. I have not experienced any tooth sensitivity since I've used this and the difference in the color of my teeth is really noticeable. I brush with toothpaste immediately following to get rid of the bitter aftertaste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Teeth Whitener

    Serving Size: 1 (14 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3757.1 mg
    156%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hydrogen peroxide

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites