Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tea Leaf Eggs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tea Leaf Eggs

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2002

      Having tasted tea leaf eggs at an international fair many years ago, I had always wanted to try making them at home. This produced gorgeous looking eggs - they have a rich brown shell that makes them look almost like chocolate eggs. When peeled, the whites of the eggs have a lovely veining effect from the tea/spice mixture. While these were very good, I was expecting to taste a bit more of the spices - despite the long steeping, I could hardly detect any cinnamon or star anise flavor. Regardless of this, the eggs were still tasty and were really quite striking to look at on the plate. I will make these again, perhaps using a heavily spiced tea such as Chai, to perk up the flavor a bit more, and maybe throw in a few extra star anise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2003

      I am of Asian descent, and my grandma always used to make tea eggs that tasted exactly like these!! Note to anyone who can't find black tea: you can also use 4 bags of Tetley or Red Rose.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2014

      I made these very cool eggs for Easter. I really liked the marbling effect and the very subtle flavor from the tea and spices. I ended up simmering these for like five hours, and steeping them overnight in the fridge. This recipe might just become a yearly tradition, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      These were OK. Made for Chinese New Year Dimsum for my Red Hat group. The shells and skin underneath were very hard and the tea/soy solution didn't get to marblelize as it should have. May try again next year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      I usually don't like eggs but these were great! I'm going to have to try somemore of your redipes. Yahoo answers crazy cluckin chicken knew she saw the your name and page before. lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      It's kinda hard to know how hard to smack theeggs and sometimes they explode and the yolk comes out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      Love these so much! This recipe is great. However, we used more soy sauce and sugar to enhance the flavour a bit. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      I'm very impressed to find Tea Eggs here! Recipezaar rocks! So does Sue L!! My friend who worked at a Tea house before said they would boil the eggs for over 2 days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      I liked this recipe a lot although I am used to tea eggs simply steeped in a strong tea, without any spices. I made this with a handful of jasmine tea leaves, a dash of soy sauce, and a chai tea bag (which contained cinnamon).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tea Leaf Eggs

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 81.9
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    56%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 211.5 mg
    70%
    Sodium 605.3 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tea leaves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes