26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The dish was nice, we enjoyed it. As usual with cream sauces ,I would like to add sauteed mushrooms and maybe capers would probaly enhance the dish. If you like sundried tomatoes I'm sure that would be nice as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethHallKelley January 24, 2007

Delicious chicken in creamy Dijon sauce. I used creme fraiche and added 1 teaspoon of tarragon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare July 16, 2011

Whoah buddy... Lots of flavor here. I sauteed some thinly sliced portobello mushrooms with garlic, shallots and white wine to give it a little more flare (not that it was needed). Absolutely decadent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpknight22 July 15, 2011

I have been looking for recipies that would allow me to reduce sodium and calories of late, since I have discovered that my love for food is really not so healthy! So, I took this basic recipe, used half the wine, and added water instead. I used Fleishmans Margarine, with Zero sodium, carbs or colesterol. Used No-salt instead of real salt, and still went pretty light. I used two tablespoons of light sour cream, which gives you some of the richness of heavy cream. I also took the white pepper and black pepper added it to the flour, shook it up in a sealed container, and did the same with the chicken, and shook off as much as I could afterwards.

Fresh Garlic, and Shallots as advertised, but added two shakes of wondra during the deglazing process to thicken up the sauce just a bit. I also only used 1 tablespoon of mustard, to reduce sodium furhter.

I plan to copy and post this recipe seperately with the reductions and substitutions should anyone be interested. Just look up my profile.

It came out excellent and my wife was quite impressed with it despite the many cuts and substitutions!

But that is because it came from a totally solid recipe to start! In many respects, this is like Steak Diane, but with wine instead of Brandy, and flour! (Thats an Emeril recipe from his Delmonico restaurant cook book.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
W.C. Medows August 03, 2010

This was an incredibly easy and delicious recipe. My aunt, DH and myself really enjoyed it and we would definitely have it again. The sauce was very tasty and went well over the roasted asparagus that I made as a side. We did not make clarified butter--just used regular butter. DH suggested that he might like to try it next time with a little less cream. Thanks for a wonderful dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny September 26, 2009

This was a nice recipe and fun to cook without a bunch of fuss. The white wine did smell great while simmering. I used regular butter because I didn't have unsalted and when I went to grab my heavy cream it was bad so I used Carnation milk and it was fine. It was a nice way to break out of the same ole, same ole everyday chicken dish. I will keep this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shannon N. January 18, 2009

This is a great recipe. Everyone in my house wandered into the kitchen to inquire what smelled so good, including the cat! It was also delicious - definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julie.n September 29, 2008

I don't know if I did something wrong, but I thought this tasted horrible, especially the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoxyLoxy November 06, 2007

Oh man! This chicken is insane! I wish I could give it more than 5 stars. My grainy mustard was not dijon style so I used 1 1/2 tbs. grainy mustard and 1 1/2 tbs. dijon mustard. I couldn't believe it was so incredibly easy to prepare. Thank you so much for posting this awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle October 16, 2007
Tavern on the Green's Chicken Francais