26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very, very good. So aromatic while cooking. I've always wanted to eat at Tavern on the Green in NYC but never have. This was the next best thing to being there. French bread would go wonderful with this.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon July 07, 2002

I just loved this! I substituted dijon for the whole grain and used fat free half and half in place of the heavy cream. Fantastic!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe November 20, 2002

This was absolutely delicious!The chicken came out golden brown,and covered in the wine-cream sauce with whole mustard,made a lovely presentation.I thought that the mustard would be over-powering, but I was wrong. It lent just the right amount of flavour to the sauce. Thankyou Miller for a wonderful,fast and easy recipe that I'll make over and over again.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie Ann September 15, 2002

This was simply Fabulous, Dah-ling, Fabulous! I prepared exactly as Miller directed only substituting chicken broth for the white wine (personal preference). This recipe was so much fun to prepare and the results were wonderful! I will definitely be making this one again! Thank you so much, Miller!! This recipe will go into my "Company Worthy" collection!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev April 06, 2003

THere's little that I can add to the other comments, except......I was unable to buy shallots at my local market so I substituted with red onion. Even so, it was delicious - thanx for posting!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady March 24, 2003

Heavens this is delicious! I had this dish in 1985 (sadly, the last time I ate at Tavern on the Green). Memories! I used Maille whole-grain mustard & stuck with real heavy cream. The chicken was delicately flavored from the dredging & sauteing in clarified butter. I found the recipe confusing starting at number 6. Maybe it's because I'm not a gourmet chef in a restaurant. How does one deglaze a pan when the chicken breasts are in it? Perhaps the recipe should direct one to remove the chicken breasts to a warm platter & proceed with steps 6 through 9. Then one could add the chicken back to the sauce in the pan & heat through, being careful not to overcook the chicken. I served this with white rice & my family was bowled over!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathie Hagen March 20, 2003

This was a fun recipe to make and the outcome was super. The chicken was very tender and I really liked the suttle flavor the shallots added. Next time I'd like to add mushrooms for a minor variation.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tony in VA Bch. March 18, 2003

This was a great recipe-- very quick and delicious. My husband loved it! I substituted the heavy cream for half-and-half as above review did and it still tasted great!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kosherkitchen March 09, 2003

My wife makes this for me and I LOVE it!! Great change from that boring chicken!! Try It, you will be surprised!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Rankin October 13, 2002
Tavern on the Green's Chicken Francais