Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tavern on the Green's Chicken Francais Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tavern on the Green's Chicken Francais

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2002

      Very, very good. So aromatic while cooking. I've always wanted to eat at Tavern on the Green in NYC but never have. This was the next best thing to being there. French bread would go wonderful with this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2002

      I just loved this! I substituted dijon for the whole grain and used fat free half and half in place of the heavy cream. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      This was absolutely delicious!The chicken came out golden brown,and covered in the wine-cream sauce with whole mustard,made a lovely presentation.I thought that the mustard would be over-powering, but I was wrong. It lent just the right amount of flavour to the sauce. Thankyou Miller for a wonderful,fast and easy recipe that I'll make over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2003

      This was simply Fabulous, Dah-ling, Fabulous! I prepared exactly as Miller directed only substituting chicken broth for the white wine (personal preference). This recipe was so much fun to prepare and the results were wonderful! I will definitely be making this one again! Thank you so much, Miller!! This recipe will go into my "Company Worthy" collection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2003

      THere's little that I can add to the other comments, except......I was unable to buy shallots at my local market so I substituted with red onion. Even so, it was delicious - thanx for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2003

      Heavens this is delicious! I had this dish in 1985 (sadly, the last time I ate at Tavern on the Green). Memories! I used Maille whole-grain mustard & stuck with real heavy cream. The chicken was delicately flavored from the dredging & sauteing in clarified butter. I found the recipe confusing starting at number 6. Maybe it's because I'm not a gourmet chef in a restaurant. How does one deglaze a pan when the chicken breasts are in it? Perhaps the recipe should direct one to remove the chicken breasts to a warm platter & proceed with steps 6 through 9. Then one could add the chicken back to the sauce in the pan & heat through, being careful not to overcook the chicken. I served this with white rice & my family was bowled over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      This was a fun recipe to make and the outcome was super. The chicken was very tender and I really liked the suttle flavor the shallots added. Next time I'd like to add mushrooms for a minor variation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      This was a great recipe-- very quick and delicious. My husband loved it! I substituted the heavy cream for half-and-half as above review did and it still tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2002

      My wife makes this for me and I LOVE it!! Great change from that boring chicken!! Try It, you will be surprised!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2002

    • on January 24, 2007

      The dish was nice, we enjoyed it. As usual with cream sauces ,I would like to add sauteed mushrooms and maybe capers would probaly enhance the dish. If you like sundried tomatoes I'm sure that would be nice as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      Delicious chicken in creamy Dijon sauce. I used creme fraiche and added 1 teaspoon of tarragon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2011

      Whoah buddy... Lots of flavor here. I sauteed some thinly sliced portobello mushrooms with garlic, shallots and white wine to give it a little more flare (not that it was needed). Absolutely decadent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      I have been looking for recipies that would allow me to reduce sodium and calories of late, since I have discovered that my love for food is really not so healthy! So, I took this basic recipe, used half the wine, and added water instead. I used Fleishmans Margarine, with Zero sodium, carbs or colesterol. Used No-salt instead of real salt, and still went pretty light. I used two tablespoons of light sour cream, which gives you some of the richness of heavy cream. I also took the white pepper and black pepper added it to the flour, shook it up in a sealed container, and did the same with the chicken, and shook off as much as I could afterwards.

      Fresh Garlic, and Shallots as advertised, but added two shakes of wondra during the deglazing process to thicken up the sauce just a bit. I also only used 1 tablespoon of mustard, to reduce sodium furhter.

      I plan to copy and post this recipe seperately with the reductions and substitutions should anyone be interested. Just look up my profile.

      It came out excellent and my wife was quite impressed with it despite the many cuts and substitutions!

      But that is because it came from a totally solid recipe to start! In many respects, this is like Steak Diane, but with wine instead of Brandy, and flour! (Thats an Emeril recipe from his Delmonico restaurant cook book.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

    • on September 26, 2009

      This was an incredibly easy and delicious recipe. My aunt, DH and myself really enjoyed it and we would definitely have it again. The sauce was very tasty and went well over the roasted asparagus that I made as a side. We did not make clarified butter--just used regular butter. DH suggested that he might like to try it next time with a little less cream. Thanks for a wonderful dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      This was a nice recipe and fun to cook without a bunch of fuss. The white wine did smell great while simmering. I used regular butter because I didn't have unsalted and when I went to grab my heavy cream it was bad so I used Carnation milk and it was fine. It was a nice way to break out of the same ole, same ole everyday chicken dish. I will keep this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      This is a great recipe. Everyone in my house wandered into the kitchen to inquire what smelled so good, including the cat! It was also delicious - definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      I don't know if I did something wrong, but I thought this tasted horrible, especially the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Oh man! This chicken is insane! I wish I could give it more than 5 stars. My grainy mustard was not dijon style so I used 1 1/2 tbs. grainy mustard and 1 1/2 tbs. dijon mustard. I couldn't believe it was so incredibly easy to prepare. Thank you so much for posting this awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tavern on the Green's Chicken Francais

    Serving Size: 1 (420 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 483.5
     
    Calories from Fat 150
    31%
    Total Fat 16.7 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 151.8 mg
    50%
    Sodium 347.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 37.6 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites