Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tavern Beer Battered Fish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tavern Beer Battered Fish

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2013

      Perfection, made the texture of my fish creamy. Will use often, tonight on onion rings....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      Delicous! A nice thick batter that was very easy to handle and well suited to decent sized fillets and gave a perfect amount of cooking time for the fish without ending up burnt. I deep fried in a wok (don't have a deep fryer) and served along with a salad and a few lemon wedges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      This was a great batter. I used 1 lb of tilapia and still had extra batter to use. It came out nice and thick and coated the fish very well. I did have a small problem as another reviewer, that when putting the fish in the fryer right away it would sink and stick to the basket. After I noticed it was doing that, I just slowly added them in to let it cook a little first so it wouldnt sink down to the fryer basket immediately. I also did use double the amount of beer to get the right consistency so that it wasnt too thick. Great recipe, I will use again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      This was a very good and thick batter. You sure don't have to worry about this one coming off in the fryer. It stays on, and has a bread like texture when it is cooked. The thicker you lay it on your fillets the thicker the breading when it is done. I couldn't get cod but I used talapia fillets, and I can see how cod would be best with this recipe. I will use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      This was delicious! We battered some cod pieces and cooked them in a propane fryer out on the patio. It was a nice lovely day and I am sure all my neighbor's mouths watered from the delicious aroma! The breading was nice and crisp, and with the perfect hint of beer in the flavor. Thanks for sharing- ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      The batter was AMAZING! Wow! The fish came out hard, and not flaky.. I used Cod.. but it was terrible. I am not going to blame the recipe though, the fish seemed rather hard before I ever even cooked it. It was pre-frozen and I defrosted it full.. but something wasn't right with it.. it smelled OK.. I just don't know. I WILL try this again we loved the batter! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      Very tasty batter. We had some difficulty with the fish sticking to the bottom of the deep fryer, and would caution others to suspend the fish briefly to seal the batter before dropping it in the fryer. After we figured that out it came out perfect! Served it with the perfect tartar sauce Tartar Sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      THIS WAS THE BOMB!!!! I had a good feeling about this recipe, but.... WOW!!! :) :) Knocked our socks off!!! :):)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      What an excellent batter! It compliments the fish so well without overpowering it! I chose halibut and used almost a 1/2 cup of beer for desired consistency. I did omit the garlic powder as a personal choice. Thanks so much for a recipe I'll definitely use again and again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tavern Beer Battered Fish

    Serving Size: 1 (489 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2330.8
     
    Calories from Fat 2011
    86%
    Total Fat 223.4 g
    343%
    Saturated Fat 30.3 g
    151%
    Cholesterol 148.2 mg
    49%
    Sodium 336.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 31.4 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites