72 Reviews

This was very easy to make. It did not look good when I was putting it together, but after it was finished baking it was very delicious! My husband was looking at it like he didn't want it, but he was very impressed at how good it tasted. Thanks to all the reviewers who gave tips on adding the garlic, salt and pepper - I added it all to the ground beef and used the Crowns instead of the tots, as someone else had suggested and we loved it! I will be making again! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShanRN July 05, 2008

This was a tasteful surprise! Very easy to make when in a time crunch. I followed other reviewers suggestions and added a few spoonfuls of milk to the mixture but other than that followed the recipe as indicated. Came out crispy on the top and moist in the middle. Everyone had seconds. Great comfort recipe! Thank you aearley.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brew City Chef February 08, 2008

I love this stuff! Almost identical to my mother's recipe, but she adds a little milk and some frozen vegetables to the meat mixture before topping with 'tots and baking. This is really good when baked with corn. Thanks, aearley!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cannonmonkey January 25, 2008

I grew up with this too. I use 1 pkg. onion soup mix instead of the fresh onion and do not put cheese on it either. Always a favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefpam August 28, 2007

I added a can of green beans to stretch the amount of non-tatertot ingredients. Very good. 2 out of 3 kids ate their whole serving. One kid didn't say yuck but also didn't eat it all. 2 adults ate it like it was candy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peggy loves Dessert February 21, 2016

My usual tater tot casserole recipe uses fresh ground beef but I only have already cooked ground beef on hand, so I tried this recipe. Much faster than how I usually do it. Add garlic and cheese to the meat, and a can of green beans between the meat and tot layer. Tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy November 18, 2015

It was ok. Needs more flavor so will probably use cream of mushroom next time instead of cream of celery.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
one_beachlvr November 05, 2015

I make something similar, with tomato soup and frozen green beans. It has always been comfort food for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mystere2e February 10, 2010
Tater Tots Casserole