Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tater Tots Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tater Tots Casserole

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2002

      Easy to fix. I browned the meat with Onion then mixed the meat with the soup and 1 can of mushrooms. Put in pan and added the rest and baked for 50 mins. covered then added the cheese and uncovered till cheese was melted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2002

      This was very good for a quick supper on a busy day. I browned the ground beef with some onion instead of using it raw and stirred the soup into the meat. I baked it for 45 minutes uncovered, topped with shredded sharp cheddar cheese, and baked a few minutes longer until the cheese melted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2002

      Made this for lunch today.I always used green beans in it,never thought of using peas.But the kids seemed to like it much better this way.No little piles of green things on the side of the plates.lol I used grated co-jack cheese(8 oz bag) instead of the slices.And added some garlic and onion to the beef.Fast,easy and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

      I love this, I did add a few things though. Into the raw meat I added about 3/4 cups each of diced onion, thin sliced carrot, thin sliced celery, 1 fresh jalapeno diced, 8 oz chopped fresh mushrooms, garlic powder and some rosemary. Pressed the raw (very lean) meat into the pan. I also added 1 cup of shredded cheddar on top of the peas then placed on the taters. I baked like it states and added more sliced cheese toward the end. This is a definate keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2014

      My meat was burned and dry. The cook time is too long! Try 40-50 minutes, as other reviews have said. Also, I think a smaller pan size would help it from drying out and make for a meatier base under the tater tots. It would also help to make a tighter row of tots over the top, if there were not so much real estate that needed covered.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2013

      This is super easy to make if a little stretched out in time. I intend to re-make this recipe for myself to make it with less grease and also see what else can be done with it.<br/><br/>Last night I made 1 large and 2 small casseroles of this recipe and one of the small ones was definitely different. I use raw ground pork and cream of chicken soup. It was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

    • on January 28, 2011

      I've been making this recipe using corn niblets or french style green beans - both were outstanding. The most important thing I found, was that placing the tater tots one at a time, right up against each other, covering the entire top of the casserole made it look gorgeous and kept it perfectly moist, but with a crispy, crunchy top. This is on the "Please make.... " list at my house !!!! My fam likes it with ketchup on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      Very good! Takes a bit longer to cook than the brown the meat version. But goodness it took only about 5 mins. to get in the oven. This was perfect tonight because when my little ones needed a lot of attention. Keeping this recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Easy, tasty -- will make this again. Made with a veggie ground beef substitute and shredded cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      i would say this is a 4.5 star recipe. very easy to make and really yummy! only thing i did differently is i used fresh green beans instead of the peas and used shredded cheddar on top. will really be making this again, thanks for sharing! Ok this is 5 stars for sure. I make it all the time now and have used fresh cauliflower in place of the peas also, YUM! For anyone with kids who dont like veggies, it just hides and you really dont know its there. Also I made this with turkey and it tasted just as good as the beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Made this meal with my kids and we loved it! plenty of room to add whatever you want to it. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      Yum,yum,yum. The only thing that I did differently was that I used grated tasty cheese on top. It was fantastic. I will be making this often as its just so easy and the whole family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      One of my old time favorites!!! I use green beans instead of peas and shredded cheese under the tots and then a few slices of cheese on top!! An oldie but goodie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      A great one-dish meal to usher in fall. I did a double take to make sure to put the beef in un-cooked, made it so easy! And it was like a mini meatloaf in the bottom of the pan. I used cheddar since that's what we usually have and put it under the tots to melt into the soup. My husband loves tots so was very happy! I did not grow up eating them so would never have made this if it hadn't been for him. I'm glad I did, because it's a great tasting bit of Americana!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      This recipe was really a hit at our house. It had great flavor, but I would have liked it better if it was a little more moist. Next time I may mix some sour cream with the soup. Thank for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      Really enjoyed this simple yet tasty comfort food! I cooked my ground beef with celery, onions and bell pepper and added some frozen veggies and kept everything else the same. It was soooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      100 stars! This was the prettiest tot casserole I've ever made. I usually use green beans but my husband LOVED the peas in this. I made it exactly as written. This will be my permanant TTC recipe! Thanks a million!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      My mother gave me this recipe years ago, but we use round steak instead of hamburger. After I cook the steak in a little butter in a skillet (season to taste), I put the steak in a baking dish, mix in a can of cream of mushroom and one half can of milk. Then I add the tots (already cooked) and add shredded cheddar cheese instead. My family & friends love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      I really liked how you pressed the hamburger into the bottom of the baking dish. By doing so when the casserole was done it came out of the pan easier like cutting out a piece of cake. I made this for my daughters Cross Country potluck it was a big hit. Even thou I forget the cheese at home. When I got home I put the cheese on what was left over...the cheese is a must in my book. Yes I'm a cheese head from Iowa, lol. Thanks MJ for a recipe I'll be making for a long time to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tater Tots Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.1
     
    Calories from Fat 232
    50%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 62.1 mg
    20%
    Sodium 860.6 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 23.7 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes