Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tater Tot Hotdish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tater Tot Hotdish

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 25, 2012

      Im from Minnesota as well. This is a very basic recipe. I added salt and pepper, 1/4 of an onion, 2 cloves of garlic and shredded cheddar cheese. It was delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      I'm from Minnesota too and I've always wanted to make it but never found a good recipe. I saw this and I thought of home. I added garlic & onion powder to the hamburger plus added some bacon. I used 1 can cream of mushroom & 1 can of cream of chicken. 1/2 lb of corn and 1/2 lb of green beans. Turned out really good. Thank you for posting your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      I also hail from MN and man do we love our hotdish! This is a great and simple recipe that we just finished eating! Perfect for these chilly fall days! Also makes for great leftovers! I use frozen mixed veggies, and my mom suggested using cream of celery instead. I also sprinkled a little seasoned salt on the tots. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      This was good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written. I used 2 cans of soup and 2 cans of corn. We liked this but thought it needed some seasoning such as salt and pepper. We also thought it would've been better with some cheddar cheese. We did enjoy it. Made for Spring PAC 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      I am from MN also and this recipe is the same recipe I use!! My family LOVES this! I use frozen and canned veggies, whatever I have in the house! I also sprinkle seasoned salt on top of the tater tots!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Filling, cheap to make, and delicious. A definite kid pleaser.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Iv'e lived i Minnesota all my life. Tried this tonight for the family. Got 4 thumbs up. The only thing I changed was i used mixed frozen veggies. Tried lots of tater tot recipes and this one was one of the beast. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      Just thought that I would kindly point out that the entire midwest is known for all kinds of hotdish. This one and many others are popular where I'm from (and still) in Wisconsin. I didn't think Minnesota deserves all the credit. This is a bit different than what we make. Instead of layers, in our region, we mix it all together. Then top with tator tots and seasonal salt. Usually no cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      I'm also from MN...and this happens to be the same recipe I use...sort of. I use frozen veggies, onion tator tots, and spread a can of cheddar cheese soup on top. So so good!

      Read more: http://share.food.com/community/jenlikes2rock/style.esi?userid=42518307#ixzz1Qho6ss3a

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2014

      We are also Minnesotans. We like to vary the recipe; such as; we use cream of asparagus and then put asparagus in; cream of broccoli with broccoli; and so forth. You can add what ever you like and it must have cheese. One of our favs!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2014

      Pretty tasty, eh? Growing up in Minnesota, I often was served a hot dish as a kid. Mock Chowmein, Tater Tot Casserole, goulash (not real goulash, a tomato based macaroni dish), and oven steak ... all favorites! Thanks for posting this and helping me introduce a bit of my Minnesotan heritage to my kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2014

      I am an Minnesota gal too and this is the recipe we used. However, we always used 2 cans of Veg-all (since it had a mix of vegies (beans, carrots, potatoes, corn, lima beans, peas). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      I was looking for a good, basic recipe for TTHD and came across yours. LOVE IT!!! My husband asked, "is it wrong I want seconds"? Needless to say we both have leftovers for lunch today. I add S/P to everything and I also included 1 can of sliced carrots & 1 can of creamed style corn. It adds to the creaminess of the soups. The only thing I would add is an additional 1/2 lb ground beef as 1 lb didn't seem enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      Very good recipe, thank you! I am also from Minnesota and make lots of casseroles. Season as you desire!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2013

      Minnesota born and raised. always felt such a good feeling knowing this was inside in the oven while we were all out side in the driveway playing hockey until dark. definitively one of my favorites as a kid. same recipe as listed and its now in my oven as we speak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      I'm from North Dakota, and hotdish is huge here too! For family dinners, church suppers, pot lucks, and even on school menus, it's very popular!! This is a yummy recipe, though I made a couple of changes to suit my family's taste, but it's very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      I'm from MN as well and decided to give this recipe a try, and loved it. I did top the tater tots with seasoned salt as other reviewers stated. I didn't even realize it was solely a Minnesotan thing, but I looked it up and even Wikipedia says "The history of the hotdish goes back to when %u201Cbudget-minded farm wives needed to feed their own families, as well as congregations in the basements of the first Minnesota churches." Interesting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tater Tot Hotdish

    Serving Size: 1 (245 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 658.8
     
    Calories from Fat 380
    57%
    Total Fat 42.2 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1624.1 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 26.5 g
    53%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetables

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites