18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made it with ground turkey and it was great. Next time I will add french fried onions!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzmollman February 22, 2013

I made this almost as a joke, and thought it would be horrendous, as we are not used to eating processed food (we call it 'factory food'...) BUT this was actually good. I modified it slighty, by using cream of chicken soup instead of the cream of mushroom, and also by using ham instead of ground beef. I used frozen green beans, which actually retained their pretty green color. The top was golden brown and looked amazing.
With the salt from the ham, tots and cheese, I did not add any salt. Didn't miss it, either.
My hubbie hates processed food and will never set foot in a McDonalds, but he really enjoyed this.. I will definitely make this again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pieknakobieta February 02, 2013

This is a great comfort food. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deeneumann August 16, 2011

my husband, who LOVES casseroles, adores this dish. he requests it every few weeks....it's pretty good! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nursejillian January 17, 2010

Alterations I made were: 1 cream of celery and 1 cream of asparagus, and added the fried onions on top towards the end of baking. It was too salty to our taste. I would use salt reduced cans of soup if I could find them and use frozen beans instead. Knowing that there would be more than enough sodium I was sparing with seasoning the mince. I would also put the tater tots on top next time. One reviewer said they expected them to be soggy and was surprised that they weren't well this wasn't the case for us, they were soggier than we would have liked. Otherwise it is edible, easy and cost about $15 (Australian dollars) for a big batch, we only ate 1/3 of it. So if makes 3 meals that's cheap for 2 adults and a 3 yr old!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YnkyGrlDwndr November 18, 2009

This was good and very easy to make. This got mixed reviews at my house though. My youngest didn't like it at all but my oldest and I did. I do think it needs more meat though. I also thought the cream of mushroom soup was a bit much. I think I would cut it back a bit. I followed the recipe as written other then I used potato crowns instead of tator tots as that is what I had.I also used french cut green beans as that is what I opened (by accident). My oldest did think it needed a lot more seasoning. He added a good bit of salt and pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol November 16, 2008

YUM YUM YUM! What a surprise indeed! I did NOT have high hopes for this; I was just looking for something different and quick/easy. The combinations of foods didn't seem like they'd go together but they really really did! We did add a small can of french fried onions at the last 5 minutes of baking (which I feel really gave it good flavor). The only thing I will do differently is add a second 2 c. layer of cheese between the tots and meat (BTW, I used ground turkey). Thanks for a great, new recipe. It will be a staple. NOTE: it does make a huge batch...next time I may half the recipe to feed our family of 3. UPDATE: even better with beef, added some pepperjack, halved the recipe easily, YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
firealarmqueen November 03, 2008

This is wonderful for children!!! I used frozen mixed veggies and it was much better than I thought (not at all like soggy tots! like I imagined!) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merrilife August 14, 2008

now, I've made a hundred tater tot casseroles...as have most moms. This was truly the best. HANDS down. I didn't have Cream of Mushroom soup, so I used Cream of Chicken and it was still fabulous. way, way yummy. Is the secret the Lawry's Season Salt? Not sure...but it was good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nsremom July 29, 2008

Great recipe! I added onions to the meat and to the green beans for extra flavor. And French's fried onions to the top. DH really enjoyed! So easy and tasty! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lawyer C April 23, 2008
Tater Tot Green Bean Surprise