Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tater Tot Cups With Cheese and Eggs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tater Tot Cups With Cheese and Eggs

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2007

      I made this for breakfast this morning, cutting the recipe in half. I thought it was very good, although I'll probably tweak it a little. I can see that there is the potential for many variations (add sausage, sprinkle with herbs, sauces, etc). My husband really loved it--he took a bite and pronounced it "the perfect food." I won't say how many he ate--just that I had to make another bunch! UPDATE: Almost 1 1/2 years after I first made this, it remains a favorite with my DH. I cook his for 15 minutes for a more custardy yolk, and mine and DS's for 20 minutes for well-cooked yolks. Here's a tip: I find that a gravy ladle works better than a spoon for mashing the tater tots into the muffin tins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      Such a simple idea but great presentation! For some reason, I could not find tater tots, so I used potato patties & they worked very well. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2014

      I made this this morning and I was in a hurry. I had already baked my tater tots last night. Short on time, I decided to raise the temp to 425 degrees. I used only a few of the egg yokes and all the whites. I whipped them up and poured them in and sprinkled the cheese on top. Because of the higher temp I added water to the empty muffin cups but filled only 1/4 of the cup. At the higher temp they baked in about 15 mins. At that higher temp the cheese became a nice golden crisp consistency. I didn't use much cheese. Just enough to top them off. I will make them again and add sautéed onion or red peppers and add a fresh spinach leaf or two in there. A few fresh clippings of chives would be a wonderful touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      I followed the recipe as written other then I made eight. I also scrambled my eggs and added some pepper before putting them in. These were good but very greasy. I think they also could have used more seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      My grandson liked these, but I thought they were a bit greasy, maybe they could be made with hash browns that are not as greasy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      I just made these this morning. I really adore the idea of them. The taste was kind of bland, though. I'm thinking that if I can add a few bacon crumbles or sausage or something to it, that will solve our problem. They are definitely a perfect on-the-go meal, though. I could only fit 4 tots in each cup, and that was still too full. Next time, I'll cut it down to 3. I wonder if you could replace the tater tots with shredded hashbrowns?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This was really tasty and I made one for my son to eat tonight. I tasted it though and liked it alot! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      I made these for Breakfast for Dinner Night. Only after they were all eaten, and we were discussing the meal, did I learn that no one is keen on over-easy eggs. Go figure...none left! These were easy to make which is always great for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      These were pretty tasty. I defrosted my tator tots in the microwave to speed things up. I made exactly as directed, cooked for eggs for 15 minutes and they were perfect. The yolks were a little runny but not too runny. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I may have overcooked it, but after 20 minutes, the eggs were a little hard on the outside (sort of rubbery) but otherwise done perfectly. I wasn't sure I'd make it again, but my husband thought they were very good! I'll give it another shot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Tasty little bundles. They're somewhat similiar to my Chorizo Egg Cups but with less steps and ingredients. I will definitely make these again, but will use pepper jack cheese and some sauteed onions and mushrooms. This time I added chopped jalapeno to mine, but everyone else enjoyed the original version. These would be great for company since they're simple and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      These were pretty good. I needed to use a LOT more oil since mine stuck to the pan and they need to look like they aren't done on top. I kept checking on them and they didn't look done and when I thought they were ready, I ended up with hard boiled eggs!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      All of us loved this. I did change it up a little by adding some cooked cubed ham to the cups. This was a fun way to serve a meal and the little ones were delighted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Very yummy, but a little dry for our liking. We ended up dousing them with ketchup in a dish, so it kind of defeated the muffin shape. Overall though, they were very tasty and I'll probably make them again, just in a 13X9 pan or something other then the muffin tin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      Quite tasty, but I think this dish would be better suited to a family with kids. Unfortunately, we don't have any, and while we thought it tasted quite good (made it twice and added hot sauce to the cheese layer the second time aroud), we thought it was a bit too much work to make for just the two of us. That being said, it would be a great recipe to make ahead for an easy, kid-friendly breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      This was very good. I added a little pork sausage. A very small rubbermaid container that I use for storing sauces in worked perfectly for pressing the tater tots into the muffin pan. It would have been great to have had a deeper muffin pan so that I could have put extra cheese or more ham. Mine stuck to the muffin pan but it could be because I sprayed mine with Pam instead of using the oil (or maybe I just did not use enough Pam). I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      This is a really great idea! I omitted the egg, and browned some breakfast sausage, placed it in the tater top cups, and then topped with cheese. These work great for OAMC. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      This was great! I made 6 of these and then at step 8 I put 6 of the Baked Eggs in Bacon Wraps ones in the other half of the pan. I made the bacon for Baked Eggs in Bacon Wraps the night before. I'll be making these for DD and friends for breakfast after Prom this spring. Made for *PAC Fall 2007* game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      wow fast and easy .dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      With such tasty ingredients, how can you go wrong! I made this for breakfast this morning. My daughter loved it. I enjoyed the ease of preparation and taste combination. I used a deep muffin pan and five tater tots in each cup. I used a small juice glass to tamp down the potatoes. Because I had some sausage to use up, I finely diced the sausage and placed it under the eggs. When the eggs were done to my preference, I took them out of the oven, they seemed to break apart a bit at the potatoe "crust". The last ones out held together better. So, next time I will let the pan cool off for 5 minutes before taking them out of the pan. Thanks for posting this tasty combo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tater Tot Cups With Cheese and Eggs

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 240.0
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    70%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 386.8 mg
    128%
    Sodium 229.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 16.0 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tater tots

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites