Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tater Tot Breakfast Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tater Tot Breakfast Casserole

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2010

      I made this using half the recipe amounts & cooked it in a 12 count muffin pan. I love the versatility of adding your own extras to make it even better! I serve it with some country gravy & my family eats it up! My kids like the muffin size portions & can add what they want individually.. this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      We made this with browned breakfast sausage instead of the bacon and it was a big hit for Christmas breakfast (9 total guests). That is for everyone but the kid who won't eat cheese (go figure!). We will definitely use this again in two days when we will have 16 people to feed, probably make two!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Very tasty. I cut in 1/2 but used 8 eggs-- all the same quantity of other ingredients. Cooked in a square 9 X 9 pan. My husband wanted to know if it should have syrup on it. I suggested queso, which is what we'll do next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2014

      I made this last night. I put sausage instead of bacon. It was wonderful and very easy to make. I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

      Tasty, simple and versatile! I used maple-flavored sausage patties instead of bacon and I've also used ham. Delicious! Also love the idea by Mari-jane to use muffin cups to customize add-ins according to taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      I made this for Christmas morning, and it was really delicious. I wanted something lighter, without the cream soup, and this fit the bill. It was easy to make. My husband made a mistake and bought shredded hash browns, but I just defrosted them, dried out some of the moisture and used them anyway. The casserole was a huge hit, and I will definitely make it again. You can add sour cream and salsa on top, as my daughter did, for a bit of a tang. Next time, I am going to add dill to the eggs and see how that comes out. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2012

      Utterly scrumptious and delicious! My family LOVES Mexican food, so I tailored it to our taste by adding some mild diced green chilis and serving it with salsa. YUMMMMMM! Thanks for posting, WaCookinFool!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      I made this for Christmas morning, It was amazing! I did half the recipe in a 8*8 pan and baked for 40 minutes. I also added onion. Next time we are thinking jalapeno too. Will def be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      I made this for my family for Sunday brunch. I cut the bacon into one inch pieces before baking. I also added 2 Tbl of sour cream, dash of tabasco and 1 Tbl chives to the egg and topped with equal amounts cheddar, gouda and swiss cheeses. This turned out yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      This is so easy to make and easy to transport. I made this for the first time to take to my mothers of preschoolers group (MOPS) and I was nervous since I had not tested it on my family first. It was a huge hit. My gluten free friends could even eat it. I will be making it again for sure.I made it the night before and then baked it in the morning. It turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      I've tried other tater tot casserole recipes, but this one was really outstanding! I am rating 5 stars because I love dishes that take less prep work and come out tasting great, without being too unhealthy either.

      I made this recipe for Father's Day dinner last night to take to my in-laws' home with the following minor changes: I omitted the bacon, used skim milk because that's all that was on hand, and used sliced cheddar cheese rather than shredded because that is also what I had on hand. The only addition I made was a bag of fire-roasted peppers (in the frozen section at Trader Joe's).

      I baked exactly as directed but pulled out a few mins early because the tots were leaning towards extra crispy - maybe because I used skim milk? Not sure. Either way, everyone liked the dish a lot and the in-laws' wouldn't let me take any home because they really enjoyed it and wanted the leftovers to take to work today. I normally don't eat much of things I've prepared but I had 2 servings of this.

      I will make again and maybe use some spiced sausages or ground meat -- love the versatility! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      used country sausage and it was sooo good...everyone...even the finicky 6 yr old enjoyed it...dh and i discussed how versatile this recipe is by adding or swapping out ingredients...we will be trying many i'm sure...tfs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      I halved the recipe, but used the equivalent of 9 eggs in Egg Beaters and added a little more milk. I used 1/2 tsp of salt and a pinch of pepper. I baked it for 50 minutes, added extra cheese, and baked it the 10 remaining minutes. It turned out very good! I think that 45-50 minutes total would have made the casserole juicier and even better. I fixed it the night before and let it set overnight, making the morning preparation so fast and easy! This is the best and easiest breakfast casserole I have ever fixed! Next time, however, I will add more bacon for extra pizazz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      After a long weekend, we wanted an easy dinner, so we decided to try your meal for some "breakfast for dinner" fare. I halved the recipe and put it in a 9x9 pan. I used turkey bacon, reduced fat cheddar, and skim milk and cooked it for about 45 minutes. It came out great, and I know we'll be using it again for family brunches. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      We enjoyed this for breakfast last weekend. It was easy to put together ~ I didn't change a thing. It would be great for a holiday breakfast. Thanks for posting! Made for PAC Spring 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Nice, basic breakfast dish. My store only had seasoned onion flavored Tater Tots, but the flavored ones worked fine. My family thought the dish was a little bland, though I added a dash of ground red pepper and a pinch of dried thyme (obviously not too bland since everyone took seconds!). I made half a recipe and weighed the Tater Tots to exactly 16 ounces and used 6 large eggs. We felt the recipe was too heavily weighted to the potato side because we couldn't taste much of the eggs. Next time I plan to increase the ratio of eggs to potato, and mix in some of the cheese along with a dollip of sour cream. We have left overs, so I think tomorrow I'll use it as the base for a skillet breakfast (or breakfast bowl) and add two eggs over-easy on top. There are so many ways to dress up this dish, and the Tater Tots are going to make my breakfast creations so much quicker than starting from scratch with regular potatoes! Had you not posted this recipe, I'd never have thought to use Tater Tots so creatively! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      This really hit the spot this morning. I pre-cooked the bacon while preparing supper last night, so morning prep went lickety-split! Also, I halved the recipe and there is still one small piece left for DH to take in his lunch. One suggestion I would make concerns the flavor---it needs something to zing things up a bit, maybe some dry or prepared mustard or some basil? On the other hand, this is very good as written, and surprisingly--my normally-can't-eat-breakfast-egg-casseroles-without-12gallons-of-ketchup kids didn't even ASK for the ketchup!!! Anyway, the Peanut Gallery was very gungho; their only complaint was that they had to eat it too fast because someone (not me!) didn't get out of bed when the alarm clocks went off. Hmmm... So, the Peanut Gallery gives this three thumbs-up and I give it one, too, as an extra-easy & delicious morning entree. *Made for PAC Spring 08*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tater Tot Breakfast Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (288 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 785.3
     
    Calories from Fat 535
    68%
    Total Fat 59.5 g
    91%
    Saturated Fat 22.3 g
    111%
    Cholesterol 349.3 mg
    116%
    Sodium 1336.4 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 26.7 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites