32 Reviews

Nice easy breakfast casserole! I made 1/4 of the recipe to serve 2 of us and it worked perfectly, using one egg and 1/8 cup of egg beaters and then followed the rest as written. Next time I might saute some onion and green pepper or maybe even mushrooms to add another flavor level and to get in some veggies. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for "The Best of 2012" tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 March 18, 2013

Excellent! Sooo very good, eggs had the texture of a fine soufflé. The tater tots blended in a nice texture on top and a slight crunch. I highly recommended this, I added some green onions and mushrooms to the eggs and baked in a round dish which added ten minutes to the cook time, it was a hit! Much better than I anticipated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anastasia A. November 28, 2014

This recipe wasn't bad. My husband absolutely loved it; it was the holy grail of breakfast bakes in his opinion. I used a pound of sausage instead of the bacon and made everything else as listed. It definitely needs to be cooked longer in order to get the eggs in the middle of the casserole to set. I didn't think it had a ton of flavor to it but won't change it due to my husband's loving it just the way it is. Not bad for a quick dinner on a busy night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BbyBluThghHghs January 05, 2013

This was very good! Made for our weekly 'breakfast for dinner night' and after the first bite DH asked if I will be making this again. Made 1/2 the casserole as DSs wanted pancakes and it was perfect amount for two with leftover breakfast. I think the amounts of each ingredient was perfect and would not change a thing. Made for Down on the Farm Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH May 10, 2012

Very good with sausage. Contrary to another reviewer, as I was eating I was thinking we need less tater tots. I also made one without the tots and it was very good. The tots overpowered the taste of the eggs and cheese. Also less salt next time. I may must put 1/4 tsp in next time and just add while eating if it needs it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbw2106 August 15, 2010

Divine!!! I used ham because I needed to use it up and also added a diced green pepper. Thanks for a great breakfast :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DeVelopment August 15, 2010

This was delicious! I used 1 1/2 lbs of sausage and decreased the salt. I felt though as I was eating I wanted more egg less sausage. My Mexican husband shoved his in corn tortillas and loved it. I agree it would be good rolled up in flour or corn tortillas with salsa for a breakfast burrito. Will for sure make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWendyMG June 20, 2010

I baked this in six individual ramekins for about 25 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lille May 26, 2010

I used sausage instead of bacon and I used shredded hashbrowns instead of tater tots. I'll definitely use the tater tots next time. The hashbrowns didn't brown up enough. I made one with the tater tots for friend and it looked a lot better than the one I made for us. That being said, it was still a very nice meal for our breakfast for dinner night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunnybrook April 12, 2010

Excellent breakfast. I made half of a recipe, used sausage but it turned out great! I'm still full after 4 hours. Easy to make and great flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound February 21, 2010
Tater Tot Breakfast Bake