9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh my!!!! This is delicious!!! We doubled the recipe, and it came out terrific! I didn't double the chili paste though because of the two picky eaters in the house! I will make this before ordering sesame chicken from our local chinese place!! Thanks for posting a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Husker Fan July 30, 2010

BEST EVER !!! BETTER THAN RESUARANTS MAKE. Made for a Navy Boot Camp going away party for my daughter. EVERYONE LOVED IT! I had to give out the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana B. October 03, 2009

LOVED IT! my family enjoyed it very much! the falover was good and not too sweet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allyop135 August 13, 2009

This definitely has potential, but it was way to sweet for our taste. It was different from the sesame chicken at our favorite Chinese restaurant. It tasted like a cross between their sesame chicken and sweet and sour chicken. Instead of the hot sauce and the garlic, I used a couple of squirts of sriracha chili-garlic sauce. It was as hot as my 3-year old will eat food--he ate with a fork in one hand and a glass of milk in the other! I definitely like it, and will try reducing the sugar to see if that helps. Thanks for posting, CookinMamaof2!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve December 23, 2007

I thought this recipe was good, but my sister and her husband thought it was great, so thus the 5 star rating. I was a little nervous about the sesame oil. While I only added the required amount, the smell was quite pungent. My sister even commented that the kitchen smelled of the oil. When I browned the chicken, I was expecting much more of a coating on the pieces. The chicken did fry up, but perhaps I would try using Panko next time for a crunchier crust. Ultimately, the strong sesame oil flavor did not overpower the chicken. The sauce cooked up nice and thick and coated the cooked chicken well. I didn't use the chili paste or hot sauce, because I am a whimp. Next time though, I will try using the panko.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leilani July 02, 2007

AwwwHA! so that's how those chinese resturants make this! Yummy! Loved it, really easy to make and it dissappeared just as fast. This is definitely a *keeper* Thank you, thank you for sharing this recipe, now I can make it at home. It is company worthy too! Mmmmm ~V

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vseward (Chef~V) May 29, 2007

This was just like my local chinese kitchen's sesame chicken. I can't wait to make it again. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
looneytunesfan April 29, 2007

100 star recipe!!! This tastes better than the local chinese take out! I added a little chile oil just because we like things spicy. I'm sure this will be a repeat in my house again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog February 28, 2007
Tasty Sesame Chicken