Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tasty Salisbury Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tasty Salisbury Steak

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on December 17, 2011

      I made this on 12/16/11 for the " Let's P-A-R-T-Y 2011 " Event,and most importantly mine and my SO's dinner. Except for leaving out the mushrooms, the recipe was made exactly as it was written.I've never made Salisbury Steak before without using canned soups or onion soup mix,and this just might be my go to recipe from now on. " This is what " Comfort Food " is all about.Thank you for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      WOW!!!!!! This was soooo good and no mushroom soup needed YEA!!! My husband called this a grandma dinner, since it reminds him of his grandma:) I did add 1tsp. worcestershire sauce and fresh garlic. To the sauce I added 1 cup of milk and lots of black pepper. Doubled the cold water & cornstarch. Love that it's so easy. Served with mash potatoes, peas & rolls ( to sop up all that good gravy:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      Very good salisbury steak. It was so moist and juicy. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      This was okay, but not great. It was a bit too dry for my taste. I also think Salisbury steak taste better with the onions chopped and placed inside the patties. Made for P.A.R.T.Y 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      I put this together a little differently than called for. I sauteed the onions and mushrooms until they were nice and crusty. I then removed them from the pan and browned the meat patties. I put them in a 9 x 13 pan, added some water (about and inch), covered with foil and baked for 1 hour at 350 degrees. Once they were removed from the oven, I removed the patties from the baking dish, poured the juice back into the original skillet and made the gravy, using the full amount of broth, plus what was left-over from the baking pan. I did have to use more cornstarch since I had more liquid to start with. This was excellent and we enjoyed it very much! It is also a very economical recipe! Anita, thank you for your post. This will be my go to recipe for salisbury steak from now on out!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Very good dish that is both easy to prep/ quick to cook. I did not add mushrooms, as I didn't have any in the 'fridge. Too bad, cos I love onions and mushrooms cooked together! (For the ground beef, I used ground round (85%), but think I would prefer the taste of ground chuck (80%) better.) Next time, I'd like to experiment by trying a few suggestions made by others (like adding worcestershire sauce, garlic). Overall, nice dish and a good candidate for what's for dinner esp. during those hectic week nights. Served with Frizzled Cabbage & rice pilaf. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Pray tell...ya think we'd starve without Recipezaar? Made for Best of 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Very good, easy and quick recipe (perfect for a week night). I left out the mushrooms (personal preference). I will be making this often. Thanks for sharing, Anita. Update: This recipe is in my Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      I made this on a whim, having only ever had the somewhat nasty salisbury steak in the school cafeteria as a kid. Wow, was this fantastic! My whole family (4 1/2, 3 and 1 year old children included) devoured it. My oldest son said "Mama, this is scrumptious!" I'm definitely making this one again; it's a great use of ground beef that's not chili, meatloaf or meatballs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      This was easy and tasted great! My kids could've done without the onions but my husband & I loaded our plates with them. Yeah more for us! Thanks for posting Anita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Really very good for no time at all! Thanks for the time saver and filling meal! Gluten-free to boot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      Easy and delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      I am all about making 30 minute meals after work and this hit the mark. Delicious! Loved the gravy! I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      Ever since I tried this my wife keeps requesting it. Even my 4 kids love it and that is rare. Just a great recipe. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      I made this for supper. My son wanted Salisbury steak but most of the recipes called for mushroom soup which I didn't have. The title for this recipe is appropriate it was very tasty. I made rice with it and we had the gravy over the steaks and rice. I will definitely be amking this again; thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      This was so easy to make & very tasty, much better than store bought. I've used ground buffalo & ground turkey, both tasted delicious. I also grilled the burgers, rather than frying, and used 1 (4 oz) can of mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This rates right up there in the comfort food catagory. I use ground venison and add garlic and finely chopped onion to the meat mixture. YUM. Double the gravy part that is the best. Add Mashed potatos and you have a meal fit for a KING.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      VERY NICE dish and quite moist. I used 85% lean meat, oatmeal in place of breadcrumbs, and added broth, with garlic, AFTER sauteing the onions and mushrooms. worcestershire sauce was also, added to the broth. This can be made, quite easily and confidently, for company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      This was pretty good, though not quite as flavorful as we'd have liked, and we had to add more "thickener" because it wasn't behaving. I think maybe frying the mushrooms in some garlic before adding the other ingredients would be a nice addition and maybe even caramelizing the onions. But then we've been eating fairly strong-flavored foods lately so maybe our tongues were just expecting another assault. ;) For us this is a great recipe upon which to build and I think it's very user-friendly in that sense. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      Great basic Salisbury Steak recipe! I carmalized the onions to make them sweeter and more like French onion soup base type, and I cut back on the mushrooms to 4 oz per lb ground beef. I usually make 3 lbs at a time, and that gives our family of 5 two meals. Thanks Anita, perhaps I can return the favor with my recipe for salmon patties (#211862Salmon Patties (Cakes) - Healthy and Tasty) posted here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tasty Salisbury Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (347 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 337.7
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    51%
    Total Fat 19.1 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 123.6 mg
    41%
    Sodium 858.3 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 27.2 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites