Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tasty Pizza Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tasty Pizza Sauce

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2003

      This was a nice sauce. Thanks for sharing! It was the perfect amount for our two pizzas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2003

      I used burgundy wine. Wonderful! It tastes better the longer it sits in the fridge.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2003

      Very good pizza sauce. I added a 15oz can of tomato sauce and substituted 2 Tbs of minced garlic instead of crushed garlic cloves.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      Wonderful flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      Delicious! I added a little black pepper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      This is tasty, and wonderfully easy. I halved the recipe and got enough sauce for four 9-inch pizzas (two round and two square.) I read the reviews before making the sauce and did cut back some on the sugar, but I don't think I would have minded it if I had used the full amount. I was pleased to find that half this recipe uses a 170-g can of tomato paste, which is just what I had. I would not have thought to use cumin or coriander in pizza sauce, but they combined well with the other flavors. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Hmm. I used the balsamic vinegar. Sauce seemed too thick and too dark. Didn't get the taste of a "normal" pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Excellente! I cut the brown sugar in half. Put the garlic cloves through a press. Carmelized the tomato paste in a hot pan and put a little bit of cinnamon in the sauce for a mysterious little kick. LOVE IT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      We liked it. Didn't add the oil, so as to prevent extra fat & calories. Did have to add pizza sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      Good flavor overall, but I will most definitely omit the brown sugar, even my kids (7&9) commented on the sweetness of the sauce. The recipe makes plenty for 4 pizzas spread thin, so after the first I added some garlic salt and fresh basil torn up to downplay the sweetness a bit....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This had a great flavor, but don't spread it too thickly, as it can overwhelm the flavor of the pizza. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      I used this recipe to make pizza sauce. I started with tomato Juice I canned from my garden. I thought it tasted really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      We really enjoyed this in our house! I used 1 Tblsp Red Wine, & 1 Tblsp Balsamic Vinegar for a bite. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      This was very easy to make, and i followed the advice of previous reveiwers and used shiraz in place of the vinegar. It might just be a personal taste preference but this was WAY WAY too sweet. If i ever make this again i will definately be omitting the brown sugar. If you follow this recipe exactly, expect a very over-poweringly sweet pizza sauce. I think it would have been great otherwise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      i made this sauce, and even without a couple of the ingredients (cumin, coriander) it came out great (replaced it with a bit of onion powder because that is what i had). The consistency was a bit dry, but it spread well on the pre-baked dough. I would really mince the garlic next time, it was a bit chunky for my taste. I used the vinegar and it tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      This was very easy to make and very tasty to eat.I used wine. I think the wine makes it so special. Must be the best home made pizza sauce I have ever done. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      I used 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, pureed ( got em on sale!) and let it5 simmer for 2 hours, in place of the paste. I used a Shiraz my husband opened last night in place of the viniger. This is the most wonderful sauce I have ever tasted!! My family went crazy over the pizza. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Great and unusual combination of flavors. The coriander and cumin add softer notes rounding out the harshness of the raw garlic and tomato paste. I used wine, not vinegar, again for the softer flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Tasty and simple to make. This will stay in my cookbook, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      This sauce was soooo flavorful! We really enjoyed it. I made it exactly as described but without cumin and it was wonderful! I highly recommend it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tasty Pizza Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 240.4
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    28%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1648.5 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 27.6 g
    110%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites