Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tasty-Healthy Whole Spelt Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tasty-Healthy Whole Spelt Bread

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2014

      Submitted corrections on the recipe. However, I messed this up sooo bad the first time I made it. I used half the yeast. Did not proof it with sugar and baked them as rounds. They came out super dense. It didn't rise much if at all, BUT it was still delicious. It was good toasted and even super dense and moist untoasted. I agree with other reviewers you can't really screw this up, because you'll still end up with something that tastes good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2013

      My dough was very thin like quick bread batter. I could have never formed the loaf. The bread tasted a little bland and needed a little honey or other sweetener to balance the favors. Maybe this the way German bread should taste but I guess I will stick to my tried and true spelt oatmeal bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      WOW - I've made a lot of bread and this was some of the best bread I've ever made! Totally reminescent of what you would be served at the best B&B's in Europe with cheese and salami for breakfast. I made two free form loaves and baked 35 minutes as another review suggested. I'm not baking with spelt flour and this is by far the best spelt bread Ive made ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      This bread is wonderful. I did change it up. It makes two good sized loaves, I bake them as rounds. Bake 375 for 35 minutes. Perfect. The best way to enjoy this bread, for me, is dipping it in olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I am adding this to my menu of bread for my customers. Thank you for a wonderful hearty bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      This is great bread! Even my 5 and 7 year old boys loved it! I didn't have any sesame seeds, so I used hemp hearts instead, and I also didn't have whole flax seeds so i used 1/4 cup ground flax meal instead. It was great! thanks for the awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Heaven, sheer heaven. I've never made an easier bread (and that includes quick breads). This is substantial with a wonderful moist crumb and a divinely crunchy crust. In case anyone making it needs the metric measurements, I used 780 grams of spelt (farro) flour and dissolved a 25 gram fresh cake of yeast in 1/2 c of warm water with 1/2 tsp. of sugar. The dough rose beautifully. Listening to other reviewers I used 2 smaller pans and cut the baking time quite a bit. But I don't think you could ruin this wonderful bread. I bet it's even good burned! One thing I'm unsure of...the recipe calls for 2 1/2 c water but doesn't say "divided". Even so, I went ahead and dissolved the yeast in 1/2 c water and added the remaining 2 c to the flour mixture. Also, 1 ingredient line is for "1 tablespoon salt" and the next ingredient line is for "1/2 teaspoon salt". As sugar helps boost yeast, I suspect it should read 1/2 teaspoon sugar. But no matter; a thousand thank yous to Thorsten for this winner. UPDATE: I'm making this once weekly, so practically don't have to look at the recipe. Well, yes I do, as I accidentally added all the 2 & 1/2 c water into the mix along with the 1/2 c water that the yeast had dissolved in. And yet, we like it better this way. It's still way chewy, but not quite as dry. I think this is how I was supposed to do it in the first place!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Really fantastic! Smells wonderful! I made it just like you said. I did not have an 11.5 x 5 in pan though. Due to the caution of other reviews, and the fact that I only had one 9.5 x 5 in pan, I put half the dough in, and baked it, then I did the other half. Easy to make, and I had everything in my pantry! I'd like to aquire a larger loaf pan though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Can't believe I didn't rate this yet. DH really loves it because it is similar to the bread he grew up with in Denmark. It is the best spelt bread I have ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      I have zero experience baking... and my family loved this healthy bread! Easy and soulful... Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Very nice and easy bread. I’ve made only one loaf just by reducing the amount of ingredients by half. Also 55min in the oven was enough to cook this size loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I love this bread! After a real search for a good spelt bread (for allergy reasons) we have finally found a winner. My husband loves it, I love it, our son loves it. I also only had smaller bread pans so I just did 1 1/2 the recipe and put it in two pans, bake the first 15 minutes as called for, then about 10 degrees less for 45, than either take out or leave to warm in oven. Because we can't have sesame seeds, we've replaced with extra flax, cooked quinoa or hemp seed. All delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I seriously thought I was missing something when making this because it's about the easiest bread I've ever made. And the tastiest! I really loved it, and so did my kids. I was a little confused by the salt measure, so I didn't add the extra tsp. I also nearly chickened out on the vinegar but another reviewer mentioned it so I followed the recipe and the end result has no obvious vinegar taste if you're at all worried about that. I had to use about 1/2 cup rice flour because I was a little short on spelt - still worked fine. I wonder if it's necessary to bake at the different levels, it would be nice to put it in and forget about it for an hour....will try that next time. Anyway, thanks, I'm off to buy more spelt flour to make more bread!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

    • on October 25, 2008

      Loved this bread! I chickened out slightly on the vinegar (added most but not all) just in case it made the bread too sour for my taste, but next time will follow the quantities exactly. I also loved the texture - dense but not heavy inside with a lovely firm crust. I will make this often. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      I was so busy eating this and making it that I forgot to review this wonderful bread! I made this the first time with spelt flour, but because it is so expensive here I am making it from now on with whole wheat flour and the taste is amazing! It is soft and crispy on the outside, and the seeds give it a wonderful flavor! Overall an amazing bread! I try to avoid store bought as much as possible! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      This is a beautiful bread. I made it exactly as you stated. Being from a German family we have always made something very similar with whole wheat flour but we don't let the dough rise. I think letting it rise for that hour makes it much nicer. I had never used spelt flour before, this was great I will be making this again often thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      Fantastic bread recipe Thorsten. My husband and I love this recipe, its now become a household favourite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

      My husband and I are using spelt flour for most of our wholemeal bread now for the sake of health. This bread is easy, quick, looks good and tastes wonderful. Highly recommended especially for a wholesome loaf in a hurry ! I cook two smaller loaves from this recipe which is just right for the two of us and that way I can do three times the recipe to produce 6 of these smaller loaves for keeping and giving. I have even made a healthy focaccia meal for my grandchildren yesterday. Great !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      I made this bread this morning;really really good!!!I used the bread machine to do the work but removed the dough before it reached the cover.I baked it in 2 loaf pans 9-5 in.Very anxious to try it toasted.My son who spent time in Germany was very impressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      This bread is nutritious and delicious. This is my first time using spelt flour and really enjoyed working with it. This bread is dense and has a very nutty flavor. I think it is delicious with cheese. I did not have a 5x11.5 loaf pan so tried a free standing round loaf. This worked quite well but spread out more then it did up, leaving me with a bit of a flat loaf (all my fault). Next time I may try to 3/4 the recipe to fit in my 9x5 loaf pan or a full recipe in 2 loaf pans. I really liked the crisp crust on this bread as well. I definitely, definitey will make this bread again and again. Thanks Thorsten!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tasty-Healthy Whole Spelt Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 73.8
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    74%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 410.2 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    spelt flour

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites