26 Reviews

Submitted corrections on the recipe. However, I messed this up sooo bad the first time I made it. I used half the yeast. Did not proof it with sugar and baked them as rounds. They came out super dense. It didn't rise much if at all, BUT it was still delicious. It was good toasted and even super dense and moist untoasted. I agree with other reviewers you can't really screw this up, because you'll still end up with something that tastes good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard P. June 04, 2014

My dough was very thin like quick bread batter. I could have never formed the loaf. The bread tasted a little bland and needed a little honey or other sweetener to balance the favors. Maybe this the way German bread should taste but I guess I will stick to my tried and true spelt oatmeal bread recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mslilypad May 10, 2013

WOW - I've made a lot of bread and this was some of the best bread I've ever made! Totally reminescent of what you would be served at the best B&B's in Europe with cheese and salami for breakfast. I made two free form loaves and baked 35 minutes as another review suggested. I'm not baking with spelt flour and this is by far the best spelt bread Ive made ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Born2cook November 24, 2012

This bread is wonderful. I did change it up. It makes two good sized loaves, I bake them as rounds. Bake 375 for 35 minutes. Perfect. The best way to enjoy this bread, for me, is dipping it in olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I am adding this to my menu of bread for my customers. Thank you for a wonderful hearty bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BreadMaster October 09, 2011

This is great bread! Even my 5 and 7 year old boys loved it! I didn't have any sesame seeds, so I used hemp hearts instead, and I also didn't have whole flax seeds so i used 1/4 cup ground flax meal instead. It was great! thanks for the awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngAustinBrody February 07, 2011

Heaven, sheer heaven. I've never made an easier bread (and that includes quick breads). This is substantial with a wonderful moist crumb and a divinely crunchy crust. In case anyone making it needs the metric measurements, I used 780 grams of spelt (farro) flour and dissolved a 25 gram fresh cake of yeast in 1/2 c of warm water with 1/2 tsp. of sugar. The dough rose beautifully. Listening to other reviewers I used 2 smaller pans and cut the baking time quite a bit. But I don't think you could ruin this wonderful bread. I bet it's even good burned! One thing I'm unsure of...the recipe calls for 2 1/2 c water but doesn't say "divided". Even so, I went ahead and dissolved the yeast in 1/2 c water and added the remaining 2 c to the flour mixture. Also, 1 ingredient line is for "1 tablespoon salt" and the next ingredient line is for "1/2 teaspoon salt". As sugar helps boost yeast, I suspect it should read 1/2 teaspoon sugar. But no matter; a thousand thank yous to Thorsten for this winner. UPDATE: I'm making this once weekly, so practically don't have to look at the recipe. Well, yes I do, as I accidentally added all the 2 & 1/2 c water into the mix along with the 1/2 c water that the yeast had dissolved in. And yet, we like it better this way. It's still way chewy, but not quite as dry. I think this is how I was supposed to do it in the first place!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisabetta47 June 01, 2010

Really fantastic! Smells wonderful! I made it just like you said. I did not have an 11.5 x 5 in pan though. Due to the caution of other reviews, and the fact that I only had one 9.5 x 5 in pan, I put half the dough in, and baked it, then I did the other half. Easy to make, and I had everything in my pantry! I'd like to aquire a larger loaf pan though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil_Mommy December 14, 2009

Can't believe I didn't rate this yet. DH really loves it because it is similar to the bread he grew up with in Denmark. It is the best spelt bread I have ever tasted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ven-Jor Mom October 20, 2009

I have zero experience baking... and my family loved this healthy bread! Easy and soulful... Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cricket Cricket September 22, 2009

Very nice and easy bread. I’ve made only one loaf just by reducing the amount of ingredients by half. Also 55min in the oven was enough to cook this size loaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Szadura.D June 15, 2009
Tasty-Healthy Whole Spelt Bread