50 Reviews

I have made this several times and it is a big crowd pleaser.<br/>One thing I did different was add 3 cans of pinto beans (drained) to the crockpot and then I served the beans as a side. I just used a slotted spoon to scoop the beans out and they have a wonderful flavor to them as well.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shoop December 27, 2013

I just made this and I can still smell the wonderful aroma in the air! I made as instructed, but pan seared the ribs in olive oil first, omitted celery & bell pepper and added a teeny bit of liquid smoke, chili sauce and steak sauce. I cooked in my pressure cooker for almost 45 minutes and the ribs were falling apart tender! I also skimmed off the fat and thickened the sauce with a little cornstarch and it turned out awesome! Thanks so much for such a great recipe! Will be making again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WendyAllyn December 13, 2010

What a lovely recipe. I updated it so there would be enough sauce to go along with the 7.5 lbs of ribs I had & it juuuust fit in my slow cooker. I did have a few that came out tough but that may have been because I had to finish thawing in the microwave which cooked a few ends. I cooked on high for 5 hours & on low for another 2. We had the ribs straight the first night (extra sauce was great over mashed potatoes) & then a few nights later shredded for barbecue sandwiches. I thought the cayenne would be too much at first but the heat was minimal. Also, if you like your sauce smoother you can take out the ribs & put the sauce through your blender and add a bit of cornstarch to thicken it up.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coraniaid February 06, 2014

Made this for my husband (self-appointed ribs expert) & he loved it! Great, easy recipe & very tasty. I cut out all the veggies & cayenne, so you end up with more traditional tasting ribs and less of a stew & it was perfect, thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rudybob December 19, 2013

I was looking for a crock pot recipe for my country style pork ribs. This was excellent! I heeded 2 pieces of advice from reviewers: it's HOT so if you don't like it hot, put in less cayenne and boy am I glad I did...I think it would have been inedible for our family otherwise. I used 1/4 tsp. Others commented that it was watery, so I decided to drain the liquid from my canned diced tomatoes and measure it to see how much it was (almost a 1/2 a cup), Therefore I didn't add the water as called for in the recipe and i think the thickness was perfect. Other than that I went by the recipe exactly. You definitely need something to put the extra sauce on, like baked potatoes or rice but I wanted something a little lower in carbs so I steamed a whole bunch of fresh green beans and poured it over those...mmm. I think the recipe says that 5 lbs of pork ribs feeds 4 but this definitely fed 4 men and 2 women. This recipe is easy, fairly quick, economical and tasty, that's why it gets 5 stars. It's a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina Farina March 02, 2013

I wouldn't feel right about reviewing a recipe if I ended up changing it significantly. So Happy George, I did keep your wonderful recipe exactly as you posted..... ummmm.....except....I threw in 4 honkin' big cloves of garlic. After all, it's influenza flu season now and I felt the garlic would keep both the flu and the werewolves at bay!
The barbecue sauce I used was just the good old regular Kraft.
There was no ceremony involved in my preparation. I literally threw everything in the crockpot in the early morning, and let it percolate away on low for the entire day. The kitchen with filled with delightful aromas when I arrived home.
Honestly, I would very highly recommend cooking it today and serving it tomorrow or later. Not only was I able to degrease it successfully when it was cold, but the flavour improved exponentially every day it sat in the fridge. In fact, the 'final act' (of left over leftovers) was scarfed down 5 days later. By then the flavour was downright spectacular! We enjoyed it all week shovelled over rice, over buttered noodles, on hamburger buns, over a rice cake for lunch, and then finally hot out of the microwave (on paper plates!) with heavily buttered bread.
Thank you for sharing your truly delicious recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csgeddes January 13, 2013

I served this over spaghetti squash and it was delicious. I had a friend over for dinner and she went home with some leftovers. I used Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory & Brown Sugar BBQ sauce.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yzrdyzr April 01, 2010

The ribs were so tender they were falling apart as I took them out of the crockpot. A very good recipe that everyone loved and I probably will make it again. However- I was looking for a more heavy BBQ flavor. Next I will use less water & I might try to cook them a little less (so they stay together when I take them out of the crockpot) and then bake them with a coating of BBQ sauce for a few minutes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faeanne January 07, 2009

The sauce is very tasty, but VERY HOT (spicy!). I would recommend reducing or eliminating the cayenne pepper if you're not into HOT and SPICY.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judidiff August 28, 2008

While this recipe was easy and did produce tender ribs I wouldn't call it BBQ by any stretch. There was a mild BBQ taste but frankly not enough to call it BBQ. I could rework the whole recipe to make the BBQ taste stronger but there are better recipes out there, sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoreeL March 15, 2016
Tasty Crock Pot BBQ Country Style Pork Ribs