15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love the simplicity of this recipe- I seem to make it when I don't feel like going to the store because I already have everything on hand. I have not been adding the salt, the coriander and other spices add enough flavor that it isn't necessary. Tasty and filling!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JDeMarois June 28, 2011

A versatile and outstandingly yummy recipe! I used very little oil, just enough to 'pop' the mustard seeds, and since there was no fresh tomato I used about 2/3 cup of salsa. Who could have guessed THAT would taste good?! I also had to omit the sesame seeds for lack of them, and reduced the salt but was generous with curry powder. At the end I let some baby spinach wilt in the pan, squeezed on a bit of lemon juice, and ate it with sweet potato. I'll be sure to make this one again, so thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child December 15, 2009

Sooo freakin' good! I've been meaning to review this recipe for a while, especially since I now keep a ready stock of chickpeas so I can make this whenever I get a craving. I made a few substitutions/additions based on earlier reviews that I love and now use every time. I add half a (juicy) lemon's juice toward the end of cooking(lime works well too), let it evaporate a little bit and then add some chopped up fresh cilantro. I also add at least another chopped tomato at the end and stir it in just long enough to get warm. So yummy and perfect for the summer!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indebted June 21, 2009

Very good. I made a few changes since I didn't have mustard seed. I picked out what I could but ended up using garam masala in its place. I added more than a tsp of curry powder and will next time add way less salt. I added a pinch of mustard powder, about a half cup of thawed kale and about 1/3 cup of chopped fresh cilantro. That added the umph I needed. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmX January 16, 2009

Really quick and easy to make, great when you don't have much time or ingredients! I didn't use sesame seeds and had to use tinned tomato instead but it didn't cause any problems. I think next time I'll add more curry powder as the 1 teaspoon didn't seem quite enough, but that's just me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Radical Edward October 07, 2007

This was great! Easy to prepare and fast. We drained the peas and saved the liquid to add as needed (I think about 2 tbls.) Thanks again for sharing this one. I've already passed it on. MR Jackson. I made this again for my in-laws and company. Big hit. Thanks again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr Jackson August 20, 2007

This is a great dish! I also cut the oil to 2 teaspoons, and it was fine. I served it with wholwheat pasta and spinach. A really good recipe, as it's so easy and yet delicious too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~SunnyGirl~*~ August 01, 2006

This was wonderful! I sauteed some spinach and sweet yellow onions in the same pan after the chickpeas were done, and served it all in a whole wheat tortilla. Excellent! On another note, this is even better the next day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jconway520 June 24, 2006

I usually tweek recipes but I followed this one as written. I was just excellent served over rice with some of it wrapped up in a tortilla. I put extra hot sauce on the tortilla version. Thank you yogi

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo August 16, 2005

This was a simple and tasty dish. Great if you only have a few minutes to get dinner on the table. I cut the oil to 2 teaspoons which I don't think affected the dish. While I fully enjoyed it, it felt like something was missing - maybe a little more corriander or curry. I served mine on top of bulghar with sauteed spinach on the side. Thanks yogi.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni June 26, 2005
Tasty Chickpeas