Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tasty Chickpeas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tasty Chickpeas

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2011

      I love the simplicity of this recipe- I seem to make it when I don't feel like going to the store because I already have everything on hand. I have not been adding the salt, the coriander and other spices add enough flavor that it isn't necessary. Tasty and filling!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      A versatile and outstandingly yummy recipe! I used very little oil, just enough to 'pop' the mustard seeds, and since there was no fresh tomato I used about 2/3 cup of salsa. Who could have guessed THAT would taste good?! I also had to omit the sesame seeds for lack of them, and reduced the salt but was generous with curry powder. At the end I let some baby spinach wilt in the pan, squeezed on a bit of lemon juice, and ate it with sweet potato. I'll be sure to make this one again, so thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Sooo freakin' good! I've been meaning to review this recipe for a while, especially since I now keep a ready stock of chickpeas so I can make this whenever I get a craving. I made a few substitutions/additions based on earlier reviews that I love and now use every time. I add half a (juicy) lemon's juice toward the end of cooking(lime works well too), let it evaporate a little bit and then add some chopped up fresh cilantro. I also add at least another chopped tomato at the end and stir it in just long enough to get warm. So yummy and perfect for the summer!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Very good. I made a few changes since I didn't have mustard seed. I picked out what I could but ended up using garam masala in its place. I added more than a tsp of curry powder and will next time add way less salt. I added a pinch of mustard powder, about a half cup of thawed kale and about 1/3 cup of chopped fresh cilantro. That added the umph I needed. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      Really quick and easy to make, great when you don't have much time or ingredients! I didn't use sesame seeds and had to use tinned tomato instead but it didn't cause any problems. I think next time I'll add more curry powder as the 1 teaspoon didn't seem quite enough, but that's just me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      This was great! Easy to prepare and fast. We drained the peas and saved the liquid to add as needed (I think about 2 tbls.) Thanks again for sharing this one. I've already passed it on. MR Jackson. I made this again for my in-laws and company. Big hit. Thanks again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      This is a great dish! I also cut the oil to 2 teaspoons, and it was fine. I served it with wholwheat pasta and spinach. A really good recipe, as it's so easy and yet delicious too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      This was wonderful! I sauteed some spinach and sweet yellow onions in the same pan after the chickpeas were done, and served it all in a whole wheat tortilla. Excellent! On another note, this is even better the next day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

      I usually tweek recipes but I followed this one as written. I was just excellent served over rice with some of it wrapped up in a tortilla. I put extra hot sauce on the tortilla version. Thank you yogi

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      This was a simple and tasty dish. Great if you only have a few minutes to get dinner on the table. I cut the oil to 2 teaspoons which I don't think affected the dish. While I fully enjoyed it, it felt like something was missing - maybe a little more corriander or curry. I served mine on top of bulghar with sauteed spinach on the side. Thanks yogi.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      Delicious! And really quick to put together. I made one change to the recipe: I felt 2 tablespoons of olive oil was quite a lot, so (as I'm dieting at the moment!) I cut the amount of oil to 1 teaspoon, and had no problems! The amount of salt called for also looked like a lot, but it's in fact perfect - it enhances all the other spices and makes for a wonderful, savoury dish! A lovely recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      What a fabulous recipe -- so quick, and so absolutely delicious. Thank you very much. Like Edsgirlangie said -- it's fast, and so easy, and the best part is that it is so good. A perfect hat trick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      Outstanding this is one of the best chickpea recipes I have had so far. I used canned tomatoes and it was still great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      Wonderful!! I followed this recipe to the letter, and it was fabulous! I was thinking about adding some garlic to the dish when I tasted it and found that the seasonings were perfect as is - nothing else is needed. I used a nice coarse sea salt that dissolved beautifully into the tomato mixture. The sesame seeds add a delicious nutty crunch, and the dish is visually appealing as well. The whole kitchen smells awesome while it's cooking plus it's fast and soooo easy! Thanks yogi, I'm making this again and again (after I try your chickpea and peanut stew, that is ... ;o) )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2003

      Am always on the lookout for new recipes for chickpeas. This was so incredibly easy and yet so delicious. I could eat this as a meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tasty Chickpeas

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.6
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    42%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1804.3 mg
    75%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 11.7 g
    46%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites