Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tasty Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tasty Buns

    Average Rating:

    140 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 140

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2003

      These were great and tasty buns. They are such soft and fluffy rolls! I moulded mine to 16 little mini rolls, and they turned out a great size, great as a afternoon snack. These buns rise really well, and it DOESN'T have a yeasty taste at all. Just like Mirjam, I also punched down the dough and let it rise a second time before shaping and letting it raise on parchment paper before putting it in the oven. I cut down the water to 1/4 cup, and added 1/2 a cup of fresh orange juice instead. The I grated the rind of the oranges into the mixture. I brushed the top of the rolls with a little beaten egg mixture, just to give it a nice colour and gloss. Turned out just like it would if you bought it in a store. Try this recipe, it is fail proof...I am an utter novice in bread making. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2003

      If you could ever call food beautiful-tasting, this is it! I've been making challah forever, and I'm always looking for a new recipe to vary the tastes. Yogi, this is my new recipe, and I'm not going to give it up too soon! These make such soft and tasty rolls! I made up a batch last night. I took them out of the oven at 9 PM! PM! Way after dinner time! All twelve rolls were gone by 10:30 PM! All of a sudden, people in my house got the munchies, and we had a sandwich party. I have quickly made up another batch this morning to have challah for the weekend. And quick is the operative word here, since the dough rises very quickly, but it doesn't have an over-yeasty taste. I made the dough substituting soy milk for the milk and the water. Milk gives bread such a soft and delicious crumb. I also punched down the dough and let it rise a second time before shaping and that last rise. Last night I made them into the twelve rolls called for in the recipe, but this morning I braided them into two challahs, and I'm going to have to hire armed guards to keep watch over them so we can have some bread with dinner tonight and lunch tomorrow. Yogi, this bread rocks, and so do you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2003

      Oh my gosh...these buns are A*W*E*S*O*M*E...there is no way 5 stars are enough!!! I was flying to get a meal on the table...spur of the moment dinner invitation...and I needed something for bread or rolls. I thought of this recipe hanging in my recipe clip and that it was only supposed to take 1 hour and 15 minutes start to finish...I don't think it even took that long. It only took about 5 minutes to throw together. Then let them rest the ten minutes...they were already raising like crazy! I couldn't believe my eyes...you could almost see them raise... I grabbed the parchment paper, spread it on the cookie sheet, divided the dough in half, and in half again, and each section into thirds forming buns and placing them as I went. By the time I finished with the last one, the first ones were already obviously rising again. I set my oven to preheat. When the beeper went off telling me the oven was up to temp, I looked and the rolls were obviously already doubled in size, so I popped them in. Oh my land...if ever a bread was decadent...this is sure it!!! Like Mirj said yogi, you ROCK!!! and my DB told me tonight that I ROCK, so thanks for helping me ROCK!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2003

      These rolls are WONDERFUL - just like my Grandma's, yet made in only a fraction of the time! I was really skeptical that they would work, but I made the recipe exactly as written. The result was perfect, lighter than air rolls in just over an hour. Wow! Thanks, Yogi! I'll be making these again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2003

      I have made this recipe twice. The first time I followed your instructions for one rising. The second time, I let it rise till doubled in bulk then punched it down and let it rise till double, again. Both times, I baked the dough in a 9-inch loaf pan at 375 for about 20 minutes. It makes a very nice, large loaf. I feel the second rising gave this bread a much better texture, but overall this is a very good, easily made bread recipe which works for rolls or a loaf. Thanks, Yogi, for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2003

      I did not care for the texture of these rolls. They were very easy to put together, though. I really feel that they perhaps need a double rising. If I were to make them again, I would definitely do that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2003

      SIX STAR RECIPE ALERT! The rolls were ready from go to whoa in 45 minutes. 50 seconds in the microwave to heat the ingredients and then it all went extremely easily. My toddler had a ball making shapes with the bread [definitely better than playdough!] and I had time to make braids as well. Bread is not supposed to be this easy! I'm definitely making this recipe again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2003

      I made these yesterday to use as hamburger buns for supper tonight. I have to make more because I only have one left. I make bread often and this was extremely easy. It didn't take a lot of time. I think this would be a great recipe for beginners to try because it is so easy to make. Husband repeatedly said how great they were.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2003

      These buns are amazing. My kids gave them five stars. We ate them for dinner at Mirj's house last week and I decided to try them myself. Since it is snowing here, my kids made them for lunch and we ate them hot out of the oven. I found that only 12 buns would have been too large for each bun, so we made 24 medium size ones. I also was worried that there was no egg in this recipe because the only bread I ever make is challah and it has lots of eggs. Didn't matter thse were perfect and so fast and easy. I will definately be whipping these up a lot more often. Thanks Yogi for such a great recipe to add to my cookbook! I just wanted to update my review and let you know that this recipe has also replaced my challah recipe on my Sabbath table. This week I put the buns in a bundt pan to rise as well as around the outside of a round cake pan and it made a beautiful pull-a-part challah. It was just as tasty as pretty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      oh my goodness!! thank you so much for giving us this recipe. i now feel that i can do something that turns out. my husband is portuguese and loves breads..so i made this after i made some portuguese soup(caldo verde) and he was so happy with them, as was i. the only thing he mentioned was he wanted it more sweet..hes used to sweet breads/rolls. i couldnt believe how quick it all was. i did have to turn my oven down to 375 but thats no big deal. for some strange reason..just my nature i guess, i was only able to get 11 buns..lol. thanks again!! they were so good!! highly recommend!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      OMG, these buns are yummie! Very easy to mix up and bake...and, quick to the table. Followed your directions, and they came out great...got 12 perfectly shaped buns...so good. Thanks for sharing, Yogi LC

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2003

      I was surprised by how sticky the dough was, but I have learned to trust five star recipes! Instead of buns, I shaped the dough into a huge round loaf. I just didn't have the patience for the buns. It turned out great. I had a hot slice with butter and a glass of buttermilk. Yum! Thanks Yogi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2003

      I've become so spoiled by the bread machine, I didn't think I could make bread or rolls without it. Wow, was I wrong. This is soo easy! I did follow some of the review recommendations and let the rolls rise twice. I cooked them on the pizza stone and they were beautiful and delicious. I'll be making these often. Thanks, Yogi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      Excelent in taste and texture. They are so light and soft, so fast and easy to make. All my friends love them. The second time I made this, they helped to shape their breads. I wanted mine plain, one of the guys stuffed his bread with pepperoni before baking. We will have fun making this again soon. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      I have to pass along my comments once again. I have made these buns on several occasions -- big buns and smaller ones. I have made only half the recipe and they have always turned out just fabulous. I do punch them down a second time like many have mentioned. Yesterday I added glaced mixed fruit and they turned out just wonderful. This truly is a great recipe for those of us who are not as talented in the bread/bun making category. A great big thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2003

      Awesome buns, Yogi!! They rise up so perfectly, and are just the right texture. I made a batch as hamburger buns, and also one as clover-leaf rolls. All were quickly devoured. Thanks for a quick and delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2003

      I tasted these buns when my friend Caryn Gale made them for me. My whole family loved them (there are 9 of us!) so I knew I had to try them myself. It was really easy and they taste good too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      Sing along with me: Yum, yum, yum! Yum, yum, yum! Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum! Okay, no you don't actually have to sing along...but these little buns are SO GOOD and SO ridiculously EASY that I was singing that song as I ate them! This will become a fast favorite, since it's so easy that you can't believe how good the result is. I used to always use biscuit dough to make fast cinnamon buns, but I do believe this will now be my cinnamon bun dough too! Thanks yogi, for a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      All I can say is WOW!!!!! I have been baking my own bread and rolls for 20 years and after trying this recipe I went to my recipe box and threw out all my other roll recipies. My family is now addicted to these and request them several times a month. They also taste great substituting buttermilk for the milk. Thanks for a GREAT recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      I like the texture-they are very light and fluffy. But I don't like that they taste and smell very yeasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tasty Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 302.9
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    30%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 2.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 205.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites